We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish hotel”
Review of Andino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andino Hotel
Ranked #106 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed one night en route home. Dreadful room up a scruffy back alley. Room was dirty with paint chipped on the doors and elsewhere. Had one of those slatted windows from which a pane was missing so the aircon (noisy) had to fight the outside temperature of 37C. Noisy because of the main road 100 meters away. Service poor but the breakfast was OK. Way away from the vibrant centre of Panama City. Give it a miss and go to the Hotel Marbella which cost me no more since I was on a group package. Think both were $50 but miles away in quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

we stayed two nights in that hotel as it was in the list of lonely planet, rated as a place offering tidy rooms. we dont know which room they gave to the lp-testers, but none of the three rooms (we wanted to change the room and they offered us others) we saw was tidy. Blankets were not washed properly..and the worst thing was the bathroom. apart from the lacking shower that flooded the whole room there was hair from former clients all over the shower. its really old and hardly maintained. additionally the hotel does not seem to have a room cleaner at all. in the room itself the socks get dark because of the dirt on the floor. in the bathroom they never use cleaning agents, so its a calcareous athmosphere in there!
The staff has lost all motivation (I suppose there was some some day a long time ago), you will be treated as if you hinder them from just sitting around doing nothing.

So, in short: if you plan to stay there, DO NOT do this. Or if so, be sure to waste 50 dollars.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philipp W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I am a traveler that consider my self very flexible, but waht i saw and unfortunately lived in this place was simple TERRIBLE!!!!!!
If you don´t mind to be in a place were the " Cucarachas" are the real Boss, be my guest!
The food is bad and unhealty , I had 2 hairs of different colors in my soup and some busg in the salads and meat, the attention is bad and rude with the guests and the owner are well know to belongs to Israeli Mafia with dark business and crime issues,maybe this is the reason why so many drugs dealer use this hotel as their "office" and the internet is free in the lobby while they stole your safe box in your room, that happend to others visitors not only to me and my friend, I knew that you can expect much from a bad place but this is the King of the Antros, even the call girls not accept to work in this place because is dirty and dangerous, so you can imagine the quality of this place.

Room Tip: "If you want a good room, then go to other hotel....if you want to be with cucarachas and othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

From the minute I walked into this hotel I knew it was bad. I booked based on internet but I really sorry. I have not had prepaid for hotel I would have waked out the door. It is location on a side street you want to ask for arm guard to go outside.There is absolutely no way I would stay at this hotel again. The ladies during the day are nice, but the men at night are could care less about making the guests happy. There is free internet

The room was horrible. Only one bed had any covering. The bathroom was small and dirty. You had step up to get to bathroom. Much of room contents was old and broken. It looked like something out of a horror movie. Not sure if there were bed bugs. I paid $65 dollar a night. You would be better off adding a few dollars and staying somewhere decent.

Basically this place was a roach motel.

Go down to beach and get good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

There is absolutely no way I would stay at this hotel again. I stayed here because my friends had already booked this place.
If you look at the pictures I think you would come to the same conclusion.

The Good
1) The location is good
2) Some of the front desk staff is nice. The ladies during the day are nice, but the men at night are could care less about making the guests happy.
3) The lobby is nice
4) Free internet

The Bad
1) The rooms. The rooms are horrible. I was terrified that I was going to get bed bugs.
2) The sheets were dirty. There were stains on the pillows and sheets.
3) The bathroom was small and dirty. It looked like something out of a horror movie.
4) The hallways smell horrible.
5) The rooms are not secure. The doors are paper thin. Anyone could enter the room with a push.
6) We paid $60 dollar a night. You would be better off adding a few dollars and staying somewhere decent.

Basically I would call this place a roach motel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandonfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

For the price, I can't complain. The room was clean and service at front desk was friendly. Though the bathrooms are out dated, still no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We stay abt 7 days. We are satisfied. The room was large. Good free wifi services, at least i can watch youtube smoothly. Little English, especially in daytime. Night staff is very helpful and can speak English. As Ave Peru Street has serveral government buildings and police, i dun feel unsafety here before 6pm. I am a female, who can walk alone, but caution is needed. I dun recommend walk around at night because it´s too dark and easily get in danger.

Some pple menotioned the breakfast is too early. The breakfast is started from 7-9:30 am. In Panama, the working hour is mostly started at 7am. If u want to eat the breakfast, please go there about 7:30. Some food is not refilled.

In our room, no refrigerator as web site mentioned, but u can request to store ur food in their refrigerator. Cleanliness can be done much better. Hot water in bathroom need to wait few minutes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yaniza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#40 of 116 in Panama City
829 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Valencia
#34 of 78 in Panama City
10 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Panama City
6 mi away
Dreams Delight Playa Bonita Panama
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 116 in Panama City
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andino Hotel

Address: Ave Peru y Calle 35, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well located in the heart of Bella vista, Panama city, walk to balboa, banks, casinos etc, clean good size rooms, restaurant/bar, laundry facility, and 24 hours security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andino Hotel Panama City
Andino Hotel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing