We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace of a place and a real bargin”
Review of Hotel Milan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Milan
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Hernando, MS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ace of a place and a real bargin”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After reading some of the reviews, I had some concerns. But they all vanished within a few minutes after our arrival. We were greeted by the bellhop who assisted us with our baggage. The check in was very pleasant and organized. The price $58 cash and the rooms were large and very clean. Could not ask for a better location. It is a safe area and we would walk around in the evenings just to get a little exercise. And the little resturant next door was a very nice place to have breakfast in the am and very affordable.

Room Tip: There was some construction next door, but we were far enough away that it did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadmandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    125
    45
    16
    24
See reviews for
31
137
53
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

More than 20 years i travel around the world and this hotel is the terrible one i ever seen. My laptop is stolen yesterday from my room, hotel manager said me that give me a proof that I have a laptop??? Thief or thieves stolen my laptop, backup hdd and magic mouse, adaptor and other contents are still in my laptop bag but manager says gimme an evidence. Every floor they have security cameras but they said this morning system stop??? First they said ok 'we will compensate your lost' but today after police gone they said we will not pay anything, go official. Tomorrow i will leave from here, so they know this and thats why they don't do anything. They don't have breakfast on sundays but they said price includes breakfast. Air condition is working like washing machine, so before you sleep, first half hour you need to be familiar to noise . No minibar. Nobody can speak english other than hotel manager but he is always out . While i was at lobby waiting for my friend, some guests are shouting because they booked from internet and paid by credit card but there is no vacant room for them and of course they can not understand what is happening because front desk people can not speak english... I never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Never stay in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Saruchan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stumbled onto Hotel Milan after a late decision to stay in Panama city for an extra day or two, and it was a great find. We got a discounted rate for cash that was substantially cheaper than where we had just stayed (La Estancia), and cheaper than nearby Hotel Las Vegas and a couple of others. We were impressed with the size and cleanliness of the room, it was far larger and nicer than we expected for the price paid. It definitely gets a high ranking for value. They do have you leave the key at the desk when you leave; it's not something U.S. Americans are accustomed to, but I've stayed at several hotels in Latin American countries that do the same. It didn't bother me at all. The desk clerk (manager?) spoke perfect English, with an accent that I couldn't quite place... She was very friendly, even calling a couple of nearby restaurants to ask some questions for us. A couple of other nice things: a bottle of water in the room and a small safe. There is a restaurant that is adjoining the lobby that is decent and fairly priced. Cafe Pomedoro is steps down the street and was one of our favorites in the area.

Great value, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat, in fact I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandsunsurf72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deadwood, sd
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This is a worry-free place to stay in Panama City. Although it is not picturesque, it is within walking distance to whatever you need (restaurants, grocery store, Casino). It is a no-nonsense-run hotel (although we did see an older guy leaving the elevator with a 'lady-of-the-night); you leave your key at the office when you go out, and they monitor the doors. They have a parking garage in the building, so it's easy to drive in and out.

The price is good for these newer, semi-spatious comfortable rooms (ask for interior ones away from the street for quiet). Don't usually see wall-mounted hoses by the toilet (making it a semi-bidet) in bathrooms in Panama!

We love the 'brewery' style bar just down the street from the hote--the Isthmo Brew Pub. It has decent food (the BBQ ribs looked awesome) and 4 choices of home-brewed beer to your liking. There are tables out front and inside, plus a billiard table. FUN PLACE!

Back to the Hotel Milan: we LOVE the breakfasts there (try the Huevos Rancheros if you dare!), which is just through the door by the office. The Hotel Manager was awesome to us by letting us print our boarding tickets in her office; she is a great asset to the hotel. Plus, the computer with internet in the lobby was MOST useful.

Even though driving in Panama City is somewhat scarey, I had no problems driving a rental car while there. Try to avoid the conjested times of the day, which is stressful. It was a lovely drive to the airport upon leaving at 5 a.m.--you weave in and out of downtown and can really enjoy the buildings and shoreline!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antiquemporium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel which is in a fantastic location - walking distance to casinos, restaurants, banks etc.
This place is very clean and the staff is just wonderful.
My only complaint is that the A/C is a bit noisy because it is a window type unit. Hopefully, the new block, under construction, will have split units which are very quiet.

Excellent room rates if you pay cash!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2011

my husband and I moved to Panama from the United States and had to stay in Panama City for business with our attorney, it took 6 days and our stay at Hotel Milan was very comfortable, only one thing happened that we could complain about (no hot water) during our stay 3 different days for about 3 hours each time. We loved our stay and planning on a another stay in late April or May because the price is right, hotel very clean and we need to visit the American Embassy. Everybody should stop at this hotel at least once.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beejay529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The worst hotel in panama, Strict boot camp rules. You have to leave your keys with the front desk clerk when leaving the hotel. One staff in particular, I believe the manager was extremely rude. Many prostitutes came in and out with their "Johns". This hotel is a place if your looking for a night out with a hoar.

Room Tip: Their are other great hotels in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#56 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#67 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#59 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Toscana Inn Hotel
Toscana Inn Hotel
#14 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#57 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#62 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan

Property: Hotel Milan
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, 31, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milan Hotel Panama City
Hotel Milan Panama/Panama City
Milan Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing