We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great midrange facility”
Review of La Cresta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cresta Inn
Ranked #94 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was only here for 2 nights but I was impressed with all the extras floor the room price. Room was large, clean and neat and was comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room price and transport to the airport was also included. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is central and there is easy access to most things you need.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for La Cresta Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

During our past visits to Panama we had stayed in other higher priced hotels, however, for our short 5 day stay this year the Cresta Inn fit our needs perfectly, the price was reasonable, room median size with queen bed, couch, safety box, cupboard space, Wi-Fi, TV and a very usable bathroom. The room decor was older but kept very clean by the staff. The view from the balcony overlooking the main street was interesting and entertaining at times.

The staff, overall, were polite, friendly and helpful on a daily basis, even the free airport and shopping mall shuttles were on time and courteous. It was a pleasure to try our limited Spanish to communicate with the staff and some even spoke good English.

We ate dinner in the restaurant nightly and the food was good and plentiful for the money.

The shuttle service is provided by Viajes Florencia, at the airport look for guys with orange shirt, clipboard and their name on shirt.

However, we did not use the pool, it needed a cleanup, too green and the breakfasts were inconsistent in quality and quantity.

If you are expecting service and decor as at a Hilton or Decapolis, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room,near the front of the hotel floor 4 and up. A/C works strongly in some rooms...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Well located budget hotel on the Via Espania.Friendly staff some speak English.Airport pickup and drop off at schedule times.Large ok a/c rooms with large bathrooms and shower.Reasonable restaurant. Buffet breakfast included in $60-70 price.Breakfast room quite small and chaotic, needs to improve the management of the breakfast service, otherwise ok.Small pool which is very welcoming after a long hot day.
Supermarket and other restaurants within walking distance of a couple of blocks.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tutty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We have been here a week and have enjoyed our stay immensely. The staff were terrific and very helpful. Our room was spacious and very clean. Our king size bed was very comfortable....no bad backs. The complimentary breakfast buffet offered a good variety of foods. Very delicious. If there was something else you wanted to eat, they offered to make it for you. Our tours were organized through the Hotel. Very good and reasonable. The hotel has free shuttle service to and from the airport. There is also free shuttle service to each of the three malls in Panama.....Albrook Mall.......Multi Centro Plaza.......Multi Plaza. If you enjoy walking, you can walk to Multi Centro Plaza in about an hour or to Casco Antiguo in a couple of hours. We did it and enjoyed the walks. The hotel is in a pretty good location. It is not a 5 star hotel, but you get good value and service for your money. We would definitely stay here again. They are currently working on upgrading the Hotel. Have a pleasant stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor at the back are very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie_Millie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I've been staying here for 3 days now, We book a 5 days stay,and so far our stay has been really nice and so are the staff. Although there is a language barrier, the staff tried to communicate the little English they knew.
When we arrived on our first night at the airport,we had missed the shuttle, and we waited for 1 hr 13mins for the next. Once we arrived at the hotel,check-in was quick. Again the limited English spoken was a challenge,but in the end we got our room key and we're off for a good nights rest. The room is comfortable,clean and OK in size. This is no Marriot or Hilton so folks come down from cloud 9. If you are on a budget, i would come here again.
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is very clean. The shower seems to be bigger than my house.
The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done. Hard in the right places and comfortable....
Very rich and tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs,and I found the best around. Go early for break fast, everything is at its best then.
The free shuttle to the Mall, free shuttle to the Airport, and buffet breakfast is very reasonable within budget. We were happy with the choice and reviews read on hotels.com. Thank you for guiding us make a good decision. We're sure to come again

Room Tip: Rooms on the South Side are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ackhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We were so fortunate when our taxi driver brought us here (after the Mediterranean Dreams B&B did not answer their phone for a week to reconfirm) as the employees and manager were so gracious and helpfull. Taxis from here to anywhere were 3-5$ and easy to find. There are a few small repairs needed here or there, but for the price and location we were very happy to stay there...and did so sev. times. Tino, the manager allowed us to leave a bag there while we went to Colon and to Bocas del Toro, thus saving us from needing to carry so much 'stuff.' Seems we took too much (did you ever do that?) We've found that if we return to stay at the same hotel after side trips this is a frequent assist that hotels are willing to provide. Tino also had other suggestions for sights to see and restaurants.VERY fine breakfast buffet, included, and a convenient bar restaurant off the lobby with a large menu and low prices. Suggest the shrimp spaghetti. Wifi in the rooms variable, but free in the lobby with your laptop/tablet. They have computers for you to use for a small fee. We'll stay with them next trip. Prices vary accd to room size. They have a nice pool.

Room Tip: Specify size and number of beds. Rooms toward the rear are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aladdin_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The airport shuttle was on time and it saved us from getting a taxi. The front desk staff knew some English and was very helpful. There was a nice little bar in the hotel with decent prices and cold beer. The breakfast was very good! The location was not bad for wandering and sightseeing. Good hotel for a short stay in Panama city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calvin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#99 of 115 in Panama City
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 115 in Panama City
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Saba Hotel
The Saba Hotel
#60 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#70 of 115 in Panama City
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#62 of 115 in Panama City
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Panama Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cresta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cresta Inn

Address: Via Espana, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range: £36 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cresta Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cresta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cresta Hotel Panama City
La Cresta Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing