We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow...”
Review of La Cresta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Cresta Inn
Ranked #93 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Noord, null, Aruba
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wow...”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Never in my life have I stayed in such a mess of a hotel. Driving from the Tocumen airport to La Cresta was already a sceptical trip, especially since we passed by all the nice hotels by the water and stopped straight into the ghetto. But we tried to look past that. So after having checked in, they guided us to our room. When they opened the doors, the first things we were greeted by was a cockroach. Not to mention the unbelievably strong smell of mildew coming from the carpet in the room. We immediately asked for a new room, since we could not handle the smell. Our fellow travelers also asked for a second room, due to their extremely outdated airconditioning that barely worked. We slept that night, trying to make the best of what we got.

Being in need of a good breakfast, we thought we might give the hotel a second chance, a way to redeem themselves...... We couldn't have been more naive. After having our unbelievably unsatisfying breakfast (My highlight was the 4/10 french toast), we made a trip to Colón (Also horrible) and decided that we will not be staying in La Cresta Inn any longer. Thus booking our last 4 days elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    38
    52
    21
    16
See reviews for
37
50
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We spent 7 nights and enjoyed every minute. The Owner.Mgr. was very helpful in what to do and see. The breakfasts were good. We did eat in the restaurant one evening and were pleased. It is located in the city with transport to and from airport. A guided tour bus ride to Old Town. Well worth the stay and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ezrider926_178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imperial Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Let me start this review by saying that my wife and I are NOT picky people. In other words, we don't have a ton of money, attended public schools and universities and travel on a budget. We've also spent the last decade traveling around Latin America quite a bit. Now that we have two small children, our standards are slightly higher, but rarely, if ever, do we feel the need to express our disappointment, much less on a public website for everyone to see. After all, people's jobs are possibly at stake and I don't want to be the person partly responsible for a hotel's declining revenue.
Nevertheless, this place is a crap hole.
Let me start with the airport shuttle. It worked, as in it got us to the hotel and back to the airport. On our way from the airport to the hotel we were jammed into the shuttle with other grumpy travelers and luggage falling on our heads. Our way back to the airport was even worse. Again, we were crammed into a shuttle, only this time our luggage was placed inside a trailer that must have moonlighted as a trash collector, as it smelled terrible and our luggage got stained and dirty in the hour or so it was in it. Upon arriving, it was a free-for-all with luggage being tossed about and everyone fending for themselves. On top of all that, the drive reminded me of my Guatemalan chicken bus days, with the excessive speed and music blasting (at 5 a.m.).
The rooms were not the worst I've seen. Everything seemed to work fine (t.v.,a.c., phone). The beds were fairly comfortable, although the pillows were lumpy. The rooms were definitely not very clean. We stayed in two different rooms and both had dirty floors and trash under the beds.
The hotel amenities are a joke. The pool was disgusting and basically disintegrating. My wife is a fanatic when it comes to working out, but even she wouldn't use the smelly, decrepit gym. I don't even know why they advertise these things.
Some of the staff were friendly, although I don't blame the unfriendly staff, as the they probably bear the brunt of some pretty disappointed and disgruntled guests.
I'll end on a positive note by saying I did not get bed bugs and the baggage storage was very nice since it allowed us to visit other parts of Panama without schlepping around additional luggage.
In summary, I've stayed in nicer hostels in Guatemala for $20 a night.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website are of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HuxFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I don't know what to say about this hotel other than I was in shock. Reading some of the reviews I began to believe I was staying at a different hotel. The hotel website states "The Cresta Inn is a hotel of new building construction, strategically located in an exclusive section of La Cresta on the Via España road to few minutes of the commercial and banking area of the Panama City, it offers a comfortable stay and an unparalleled service to our guests, 71 rooms finely decorated with minimalist style." OK, that must be a new term for decorated with the cast offs from somewhere else. When we arrived we weren't able to get on the internet, but that was resolved. The website states that the rooms include quality towels and robes. Neither. Cheap towels and no robes. While the room looked relatively clean, once shoes were removed our feet were covered with sand, etc. from previous people, along with plastic price tag remains, etc. Our shower required you to get into it all the way and then turn on the water to liking. Talk about a major accident waiting to happen. Someone is going to get burned. The toilet was so close to the shower that I had to sit on the seat sideways - and I am a short person. And, if this is new building construction I cannot fathom old A/C in the wall. The pillows were HORRIBLE. All of them on the bed were like lumps of cottage cheese. I had to have the hotel send up new ones because these were just horrible. No mattress pads. Could not get service at the restaurant so we decided to go to McDonald's a few blocks up. Streets were being worked on, it was raining, and we were scared by the drivers and traffic. The view from our room was of a run down apartment complex across the street with laundry hanging all over the balconies and a hotel next door with a filthy empty pool and broken up deck area. Neighborhood was seedy. The staff in the day was very helpful and friendly. Before we went to bed we asked for a wake up call. Guess what? Never came. Thank goodness my husband woke up. There is only one flight going out and in every day. We could have missed it. The shuttle to the airport was very crowded with more people being boarded than seats would allow. The driver was evidently angry about something and he ran several red lights and when he would come to another hotel pick up he would slam on the brakes and we would all lunge forward. Once we got to the airport he opened up the back of his trailer hauling all of the luggage and it was look for your stuff and get it off. The weirdest thing about the hotel was that you had to put your room key in a slot on the wall or the electricity went off. So, if you left the room to go eat, etc. your air turned off with the TV and everything else. Probably wouldn't matter if it weren't 90 degrees outside. Overnight check in desk people knew absolutely no English. I was able to remedy that with Google translate, and had to keep myself in check when I asked her why we didn't get our wake up call. I truly wanted to take a sterile shower after checking out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsynhobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I was only here for 2 nights but I was impressed with all the extras floor the room price. Room was large, clean and neat and was comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room price and transport to the airport was also included. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is central and there is easy access to most things you need.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

During our past visits to Panama we had stayed in other higher priced hotels, however, for our short 5 day stay this year the Cresta Inn fit our needs perfectly, the price was reasonable, room median size with queen bed, couch, safety box, cupboard space, Wi-Fi, TV and a very usable bathroom. The room decor was older but kept very clean by the staff. The view from the balcony overlooking the main street was interesting and entertaining at times.

The staff, overall, were polite, friendly and helpful on a daily basis, even the free airport and shopping mall shuttles were on time and courteous. It was a pleasure to try our limited Spanish to communicate with the staff and some even spoke good English.

We ate dinner in the restaurant nightly and the food was good and plentiful for the money.

The shuttle service is provided by Viajes Florencia, at the airport look for guys with orange shirt, clipboard and their name on shirt.

However, we did not use the pool, it needed a cleanup, too green and the breakfasts were inconsistent in quality and quantity.

If you are expecting service and decor as at a Hilton or Decapolis, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room,near the front of the hotel floor 4 and up. A/C works strongly in some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Lajas, Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Well located budget hotel on the Via Espania.Friendly staff some speak English.Airport pickup and drop off at schedule times.Large ok a/c rooms with large bathrooms and shower.Reasonable restaurant. Buffet breakfast included in $60-70 price.Breakfast room quite small and chaotic, needs to improve the management of the breakfast service, otherwise ok.Small pool which is very welcoming after a long hot day.
Supermarket and other restaurants within walking distance of a couple of blocks.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tutty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#102 of 117 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower House Suites
Tower House Suites
#92 of 117 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#67 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#56 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#81 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#91 of 117 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cresta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cresta Inn

Property: La Cresta Inn
Address: Via Espana, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Cresta Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Cresta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cresta Hotel Panama City
La Cresta Inn Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing