We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but coulkd be a lot better”
Review of Hotel el Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Parador
Ranked #100 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ok but coulkd be a lot better”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

stayed here for about a week. pros: quiet and clean. good location in el cangrejo district. snazzy rooftop pool with excellent city view. cons: wifi is horrible. this is common in the city. as far as wifi it's the year 2000 for them. they don't understand how important it is and when there were problems i got the standard shoulder shrug, "whats the big deal?" reaction. i've dealt with friendlier people at the Department of Motor Vehicles. incredibly there's no wifi on the rooftop and it was rather dirty and unkempt. got the impression that maybe the hotel is for sale and nobody cares? returned to panama city today and went to the Hotel Marbella and so far they're batting a 1000.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    43
    69
    22
    37
See reviews for
39
60
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. $65 per night including breakfast was quite a deal. The rooms were nice enough. We checked a couple of rooms to make sure we had a balcony - no view- but a balcony. Basic lodging. Beautiful rooftop pool and free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask to see your room. At first we almost ended up with room with no balcony. The high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed in panama city from March 31 - April 3, 2011. I was somewhat worry about staying at this hotel because of the price($65 night) and some bad reviews. Overall experience was good, some staff does not speak english but they were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and had basic hotel stuff including high speed wireless internet and decent breakfast. The neighborhood is great and everything is near by. Parking garage in the hotel is little complicate to park but is free. Overall the room, location and hotel is worth the price. Is not fancy but is not hostel either.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stays 4 days , in that Hotel in the Center of Panama, nice room , nice front desk personnel, room wiht balcony, air condition, free Internet , and the best of all not
expensive. GREAT VALUE

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanie155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Super location and great price ($65 for a room with full size bed. Breakfast included. Near lots of great restaurants. Definitely go to Napoli Italian restaurant. The pizza was unbelievable. Also, rooms were very quiet!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggerbadderbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2011

For the price, you can't beat this place. And the location is excellent; could walk to restaurants, including Trepiche! The pool was clean and beautiful and the breakfasts were included in the moderate price. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penonome, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Showed up with no reservation at 7 in the morning. Was given a double room immediately for about 2 hours until a single was ready. Stayed eleven nights. I honestly can think of nothing to complain about. Their normal 7 am check-in and 3 pm check-out times are new to me. The included breakfast is 2 eggs, 2 slices of toast, juice, and coffee and is available from 7 to 11. The restaurant itself is open from 7 am till midnight. Food is nothing special but very good and large portions. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. There was always someone at the front desk who spoke enough English to work with. Computer room, with 3 computers, was great but, if you need to use special characters, as I have in my password, use the middle computer with the English keyboard.

Room was great with a queen bed, 2 night tables, a bureau, and a wardrobe for a total of 15 drawers and 2 enclosed shelves. Bed didn't seem like much but it was the most comfortable that I've had in Panama. Pillows were typical hotel poor but I always bring my own air pillow. Rear door of room opened to a nice balcony shared by 5 rooms. View left was down the street to the Veneto Hotel / Casino. To the right were some heavy tropical trees and flowers. Frequently saw colorful birds in the trees and the green parrots liked the nearby phone pole, sometimes a dozen at a time. Air conditioner was noisy but super cold. I had to turn it down to about half and I'm from Colorado. Unlike most hotels, the maid does not turn the air conditioner off when you are out. Towels are changed out daily, even if not used.

In the next room was an American guy who has been living in that room for over 3 years. I think that alone says a lot for the hotel. Sat out on the balcony and chatted with him a few evenings.

The same-day laundry service is great but the laundry they use is occasionally closed for a day. If needed, the are 2 laundrys within a block.

Location could not be better. A quiet street yet near everything. Easy walk to 5 casinos, many restaurants, internet cafe's, international phone service, souvenir shops, supermarket, bus lines, car rentals, and all kinds of other shopping.

I started out worried due to all the negative comments listed here but was pleasantly surprised and will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k2rbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 114 in Panama City
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 114 in Panama City
195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#60 of 114 in Panama City
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#62 of 114 in Panama City
522 reviews
7.7 mi away
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#85 of 114 in Panama City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Property: Hotel el Parador
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Parador 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing