We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and location”
Review of Hotel el Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Parador
Ranked #99 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel, principally caters to Panamanian travellers, is of good value and great location in the El Cangrejo neighborhood. We enjoyed the nice rooftop swimming pool. The restaurant served up inexpensive meals that is decent. The interior is a bit dated. There is business center with computer. The rooms has a smell to it that tells you the furniture has not been updated for a while.

Room Tip: There were several car rental office on the same street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stneuron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was my third stay at the El Parador, two weeks this time. The only change is that the restaurant prices have gone up a bit but they are still cheap to reasonable and the food and service are still great. Most of the staff are the same as two years ago which I take as a good sign. The first floor maid remembered me and greeted me with a hug. Again I shared a balcony with my friend who has now been living in that same room for over five years. What could be a better recommendation than that? One of the main stations for the new subway system will be only three blocks away, an easy walk.

You generally get what you pay for and this is definitely not a luxury hotel but it is still my first choice in Panama City. The location could not be better. You can walk to almost anything you might want to do. Even if you are there for an extended period, the linen is changed every day. Although many of them do not speak English, I have always found everyone, without exception, on the staff to be helpful and friendly. A smile on your face is always a great way to start. The roof is great with a nice pool with many lounge chairs and some tables and chairs. Although it is not the tallest building around, the roof has nice city views in all directions, frequently has a nice breeze, and is above most of the city noise. It is especially pleasant at night.

Directly across the street is the Machu Picchu Peruvian restaurant which has great food at reasonable prices. One block away is the Pomodoro Italian restaurant which I also highly recommend.

Recommendation: never take a taxi from in front of any hotel. If a driver knows you are staying at a hotel, the price goes up. Also, look for a taxi with its windows closed, it will probably be air conditioned.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k2rbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

stayed here for about a week. pros: quiet and clean. good location in el cangrejo district. snazzy rooftop pool with excellent city view. cons: wifi is horrible. this is common in the city. as far as wifi it's the year 2000 for them. they don't understand how important it is and when there were problems i got the standard shoulder shrug, "whats the big deal?" reaction. i've dealt with friendlier people at the Department of Motor Vehicles. incredibly there's no wifi on the rooftop and it was rather dirty and unkempt. got the impression that maybe the hotel is for sale and nobody cares? returned to panama city today and went to the Hotel Marbella and so far they're batting a 1000.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluesSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel. $65 per night including breakfast was quite a deal. The rooms were nice enough. We checked a couple of rooms to make sure we had a balcony - no view- but a balcony. Basic lodging. Beautiful rooftop pool and free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask to see your room. At first we almost ended up with room with no balcony. The high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I stayed in panama city from March 31 - April 3, 2011. I was somewhat worry about staying at this hotel because of the price($65 night) and some bad reviews. Overall experience was good, some staff does not speak english but they were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and had basic hotel stuff including high speed wireless internet and decent breakfast. The neighborhood is great and everything is near by. Parking garage in the hotel is little complicate to park but is free. Overall the room, location and hotel is worth the price. Is not fancy but is not hostel either.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omar_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stays 4 days , in that Hotel in the Center of Panama, nice room , nice front desk personnel, room wiht balcony, air condition, free Internet , and the best of all not
expensive. GREAT VALUE

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanie155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Super location and great price ($65 for a room with full size bed. Breakfast included. Near lots of great restaurants. Definitely go to Napoli Italian restaurant. The pizza was unbelievable. Also, rooms were very quiet!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggerbadderbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#62 of 115 in Panama City
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 115 in Panama City
334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#100 of 115 in Panama City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 115 in Panama City
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#59 of 115 in Panama City
552 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#69 of 115 in Panama City
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £27 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Parador 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing