We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Management In The World”
Review of Hotel el Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Parador
Ranked #101 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Worst Management In The World”
Reviewed 16 March 2008

This is the worst hotel i have ever been to all my life. Being a frequent traveller, i m used to 2 or 3 star hotels but this hotel have nothing good about is except the room space. Security is very bad(my husband lost the wiper blade of our rented car and the management refused to reimburse the loss of the wiper blade(Dodge Durango 7 seater costs USD70) becoz they said it is impossible as the security guards was on duty although they fail to realise that the security guards only patrol that 1st floor carpark and they r not stationed there. they r stationed on the ground floor carpark.)
At night we heard fights outside our room and we felt soo scared. However, we still had to stay put in that hotel coz all the other hotels in Panama was fully booked due to a convention that was going on. Anyway, this will be the 1st and the last i will ever step into this hotel. not recommended for families.

  • Liked — the room space
  • Disliked — the terrible security
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chavez1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    43
    69
    22
    37
See reviews for
39
60
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming USA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Basically an old run down hotel, that is in need of a serious remodel job. The fixtures in the room were nice about 20 years ago, but have been used and abused over time. Rooms have cable but the TV set is junk. Bed sheets and towels that have been washed literally a million times and as thick as toilet paper with stains. Cracks all over the walls in the room and hallways. Air conditioner works, but was junk. I paid $50 per night for a single room and definitely NOT worth it. I have seen $20 rooms per night just as nice in Panama City. All areas are poorly lighted, from the elevator, hallways to your room, so bring a flash light. They do offer Free Internet on ancient windows 95 computers with 13 inch monitors that work, but are junk! If you want to make a local outside call on your room phone, you would have better luck sending your message by carrier pigeon. Get this, you must first have the front desk dial the number for you and then transfer the call to your room and then they charge you a FEE for this! Here is the really crazy thing about this place, take a shower and anybody walking down the hallway could peek in, because all showers have a huge vented window open to the main hallways. You have to open the vent otherwise you get all fogged up. The room did have a shared balcony with the next room, this could be a good or bad thing depending on your neighbor. They offer a free breakfast that was nothing more than a grilled cheese sandwich, juice and 1 cup of coffee! I would never stay there again!

  • Liked — English speaking front desk help, location was on a quieter street.
  • Disliked — You can find rooms like this in Panama City for $20 per night...NOT $50!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HairTrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2007

This was the last stop on our month long vacation to Panama. So comparatively speaking, it was just okay. Perhaps it is because we had stayed at fabulously spanking sparkling clean places (which is a requirement of mine) throughout our stay all over the country. There was a bad smell in the room, tried to keep the door open and the air off, but the smell did not go away - sort of a musty, dank smell. I am very sensitive to smells. The floor (tile) was wet when we checked in and I thought perhaps housekeeping had just mopped it, but it never dried the entire night we were there, so socks and anything on the floor got wet, including one of our carry-on duffle bags which was a drag. The place could have been cleaner, too. It needs a deep clean, for sure. Don't bother with internet in the hotel, I believe it is dial-up and the slowest I have ever experienced. Ask at the desk, they can direct you right up the street a block is the BEST interenet cafe - huge place with modern big screen computers and lots of them. 65 cents for the hour to use one. We hadn't been near a computer for several weeks, so this was a bonus for us to check our mail! The great things about the hotel are: safe, very busy neighborhood, yet on a quiet street. Yes, close to Via Espana, close to many restaurants, casinos, and some shopping. Our room had a small patio overlooking an Olympic size pool in someone's backyard. The best thing was the rooftop pool - looks over the lit up city. Pool was clean, and there were many tables and chairs to sit in and watch the city, or lights, and there were even lights that you could sit out and read there after dark, which we loved! Overall it was just okay, but I wouldn't return.

  • Liked — Pool and stitting out at night to read
  • Disliked — Wet floor, could have been cleaner.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2007

Safe,clean and quiet. Close to Via Espana, close to many restaurants, close to shopping but not the best shopping. Rooms were clean, standard, bed was hard. Our room had a patio door that opened to a shared patio, that was a little uncomfortable b/c the cleaning lady would walk by sometimes and could glimpse in. The free breakfast is really only toast and coffee.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard bed, breakfast wasn't good.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dfny27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#56 of 114 in Panama City
330 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#70 of 114 in Panama City
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#55 of 114 in Panama City
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand International Hotel
Grand International Hotel
#62 of 114 in Panama City
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Victoria Hotel and Suites Panama
7.7 mi away
Marbella Hotel
Marbella Hotel
#85 of 114 in Panama City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Property: Hotel el Parador
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 114 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Parador 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing