We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the pool & view on the roof !”
Review of Hotel el Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Parador
Ranked #101 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Update: Located right next to the Milan in the Cangrejo district, this hotel is old school. Rates are lower than the Milan with breakfast included...BUT...for that you do have some drawbacks (thus the update). You MUST check your room before you sign on the dotted line. Airconditioners vary as do what comes with the room. Some now have refrigerators, some flat screen TV ( some still have the old ones) ...some hair dryers....but NOT all. So check out the room first and check everything. If the AC never gets to cold after 20 min or so change your room. Don't unpack right away.
All these things said, we LOVE the roof pool the location and watching city lights appear as the sun goes down. The minimart store across the street now has alcohol. If there are things in the room that need repair do write a note & leave it at the service desk so they can keep the maintenance up. ( ie: door sticks and makes a load noise, toilet flapper needs to be changed...etc)

Room Tip: We like the 4th floor...closer to the pool and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Hotel is very nicely situated in the center of the capital. If is very good hub to plan your vacation or trip in the city. It is within few miles from all major attractions.

The hotel itself is very basic. But it is clean and cheap, so you get a good value for your money.
The staff is very friendly and will strive to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Aside from suits, all other rooms are the same price. However, they differ in size and some of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredincpa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in June. Nothing new since my last review, still more than adequate and an excellent value. Great location, clean, quiet rooms, excellent service, good restaurant. However, my new favorite hotel in Panama City is the Milan, just a few hundred feet from the El Parador, about $3 per night more, and a much more upscale hotel.

Room Tip: I have been in many different rooms there and nothing wrong with any of them. All are clean and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k2rbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Most depressing hotel of the year. On the plus side, the hotel is well-located, clean, the (unappetizing) rooftop pool is open 24 hrs, and the wifi works. On the down sides, "YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED VISITORS IN YOUR ROOM" is the first sign that will meet you at reception. I hate this and dont see why an adult should be spied on and policed in this way: totally unacceptable! Second, there is one slow ramshackle elevator serving the whole hotel - be prepared to wait your turn. Third, be prepared to be ignored by the staff in the hotel - they are not there for you, in case you thought they might be. Fourth, breakfast is a triangle of burnt toast, a fried egg, and a glass of orange nectar in a dark room without windows. Fifth, the room was a prison cell. There was nothing in it except a bed, a TV, and a chair. No decoration anywhere. Very noisy air-con unit. I tried to lighten the mood by opening the curtains...the window didnt open and was barred by a metal grille like in a madhouse. Awful. Most depressing. I didnt mention there was a lightbulb hanging from the ceiling - the bedside lamps had not worked since the 1990s I guess. I escaped the next morning as soon as some light filtered through the prison window.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Located right next door from the popular Hotel Milan. This is an older hotel with smaller rooms. Prices are slightly less than the Milan with a free breakfast included. Furnishings are oldschool early Panama and to some folks not appealing. We found it absolutely delightful ! The AC was quiet as opposed to the noisey ones at the Milan. Beds and sheets clean and comfortable. hairdryer in the bathroom. The use of the pool on the roof was a real bonus ! ( be careful the tile is slippery). Loved the city view from the rooftop at night.The rooms have a little balconey too! It's right across the street from a super steakhouse (Martin Fiero) and a Peruvian (MachuPichu) and down the street from s Sushi restaurant. It's a couple blocks from the Venetto Casino and right across the street from that is the great all purpose restaurant Manolo's with the best Sancocho soup I've ever had. It's about a 15 minute walk to the nearest Rey grocery store for wine/booze/snacks. If you havn't tried the Parador and don't mind a bit of a retro old-school feel .......do it ! $5.00 cab to Albrook. From 3:30 pm to 5:30pm the traffic on the street to the Parador is dead stop jammed. This will not doubt ease up once Panama City completes it's subway project and opens all the detours.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room close to the pool......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

As previous mentioned I seldom write reports, only if a place is great and the hotel really deserves recongition and only if it needs to be avoided. Obviously this is the latter.
We selected this location to save a few dollars as Panama has turned out to be a bit more expensive than we anticipated for substandard accomidations. At 85$ we did not need anything fancy just something safe and comfortable.
The Manager impressed me upon check-in as professional and accomidating. However it was downhill mostly due to the rude or downright abrasive staff and night manager.
First be advised there is no security nor safe or secure locks. This should have been our first indication to just leave eat the loss and find other accomidations.
Parking is about very limited spaces and extremely tight for even a compact car, nothing you can do in by yourself as you need an assistant to guide you between the poles.
The room doors had old style locks and we assume thats how they got in and rummaged our luggage and took our electronics and personal items. When we reported this to the man at the night desk whom it was clear was in on the theft he just said it was our problem and not to bother him and he went back to attending his electronics, pretending we weren't there.
Fortunatly being a seasoned traveller I had ear plugs, as the air conditioners sounded like an aircraft taking off and the paper thin walls we could hear different television around us besides the locals argueing in the hallways. First inspection the beds seemed Ok but when I looked closer there were hairs in the sheets, I don't know if they changed them or not so I just wore my long clothes to bed. When I asked the night manager for another room he wanted us to pay again then refused to give us a receipt. We won't even go into the poor complimentary breakfast.
Clearly a property to avoid.

Room Tip: We moved to Milan at twice the price it was a bargain compared to this nightmare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexzander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We booked this hotel on the recommendation of the Rough Guide to Panama. We'd been in Central America for 2 months already so had a good idea of hotel quality in the region. This one was horrifyingly shabby, with broken tiles in the entranceway and piles of laundry in the lobby. The roof top pool had no shade and the light fittings up there were broken. The restaurant was, by Panama standards, ridiculously expensive and the incuded breakfast nominal (7 dollars extra for a fruit plate - double the price of the nearby posh Riande hotel!). All in all our biggest mistake on the trip. The only advantage was the location, with a number of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites like the plague - for the same price you can stay somewhere top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#99 of 115 in Panama City
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#62 of 115 in Panama City
172 reviews
1 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#77 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#67 of 115 in Panama City
117 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Bella Vista
Hotel Bella Vista
#79 of 115 in Panama City
39 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#72 of 115 in Panama City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £26 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Parador 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing