We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have to”
Review of Hotel el Parador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel el Parador
Ranked #103 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
So Cal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only if you have to”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Reasonably clean but old. We stayed 1 night. Didn't use the restaurant, went out to eat. Receptionist was cranky. Cold atmosphere. I would suggest keep looking. Wi-if was sketchy. We found a good sushi bar very close by.

Room Tip: Move on to another hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adguyojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    42
    69
    22
    37
See reviews for
39
60
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We chose this hotel because it was supposed to have an airport shuttle. It doesn't, but the receptionist at the front desk was helpful by informing us what the taxis should cost. The room was much smaller than expected, the furnishings old but adequate. Our room had a small balcony that we could stand on. There were no chairs on the balcony, and it had no view. The bathroom is tiny and the toilet paper rough. The shower head was off, but we screwed it back on. Although there were 3 of us booked in the room, we were only given 2 towels. The maids later made up for it by giving us 2 more towels. The towels, however, were paper thin. The sheets were probably clean but had stains on them. I wish the room would have come with extra blankets because, with the air conditioning, it was cold at night, and the one flimsy blanket we got was not warm enough for my friend. The beds were comfy and we slept well. The location is ok, but not great. It is a across the street from 2 upscale restaurants. Machu Picchu is one of them. An array of shops, including a couple of hair salons and p,aces o buy sim cards, is about 2 blocks away. Breakfast is included (from 7 am to 11 am) and it was the best part; you have a choice of eggs (fried or scrambled), pancakes or cheese melted on bread. Plus orange juice and coffee. The coffee was very good, but you will be charged for an extra cup. We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which is open to 11 pm. The dinner menu is quite large, though scanty on vegetables. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of Chilean merlot for $18.70 with dinner. The restaurant waitstaff were understanding of our limited Spanish. There is free wifi on the gound floor. For the price, you can probably find a more upscale hotel, but we nevertheless enjoyed our experience at El Parador.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scullyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is centrally located. There are casinos, restaurants, supermarkets and banks all within walking distance of the hotel. For the price they include free WI-FI, free breakfast (must get the chip downstairs at 7:00am). Please understand the breakfast is very basic (Eggs, toast, juice or coffee), but at least it is provided. The rooms are air conditioned and have a shower (Hot and cold water), clean and plenty of places to store clothes, but not big sized luggage. The furniture is serviceable but could use some upgrades. They provide cable TV in the rooms, where you can find programs in both spanish and english. There was no fitness center, but they had a pool on the roof. For the location, price ($75 per night) and the friendliness of the staff, especially the manager, I consider this place an excellent choice worth repeating.

Room Tip: Take rooms that are away from the street if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is rather basic. Just a not-new building with clean rooms, a bed and a somewhat attractive room (I like that it has the wood look of a Panama I remember from when I lived here when I was a toddler), but it's better than some of the other 2 or 3 stars in Panama City. Also, it's a bit more expensive than the others, but it is markedly cleaner and well-located. Firstly, it's extremely difficult to find a place to lay your head where there isn't construction going on at all hours - Panama is booming. Hotel El Parador is also super close to Via Argentina; a popular dining area. The dining on Via Argentina is decent, there are quite a few popular bars, but you won't be wow'ed by any of the food.

Via España has quite a few stores very close by and it's a busy area to walk through. I liked the restaurant Fenecia and that's rather close, just off of Via España. This isn't far from a highway that will take you to more of the rural/nature locations, but it's a little far from the Cinta Costera boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artedalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stay in this hotel twice a year and have found it to be clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, and possessed of helpful courteous staff. Sadly, my Spanish is limited, so I cannot communicate as well, as I would like (yeah, yeah, I'm working on this, so as to not become 'An Ugly American'. I have never had an issue with other guests being too noisy, but then, I am there to sleep and refresh. PLUS, the breakfasts are quite good and are included in the price of the room. Immediately across the street is a very nice restaurant with an excellent choice of seafood, steaks, etc, to include an Argentinian Grill brought to your table to allow you to cook your various meat selections to your satisfaction.

Always a pleasant experience... even the lady on the desk when I check in late in the evening.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is nice so you can enjoy a cigar after dinner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGrayNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

This place is stuck on the 60's or something! You can hear through the walls, I mean it! You'll hear the guy next door taking a shower, blowing his nose etc. the service is terrible, but I gave it a 2 because of the cleaning ladies are nice! ONLY them! Front desk personal are rude and lack a huge costumer service training. ( that's good for the whole country tho! I was impressed with the lack of smiles and how dry people are around there... ). The rooms smell like mold and you have to pay daily!!!
I do not recommend this to my friends or enemies...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Panama City hotels

Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Update: Located right next to the Milan in the Cangrejo district, this hotel is old school. Rates are lower than the Milan with breakfast included...BUT...for that you do have some drawbacks (thus the update). You MUST check your room before you sign on the dotted line. Airconditioners vary as do what comes with the room. Some now have refrigerators, some flat screen TV ( some still have the old ones) ...some hair dryers....but NOT all. So check out the room first and check everything. If the AC never gets to cold after 20 min or so change your room. Don't unpack right away.
All these things said, we LOVE the roof pool the location and watching city lights appear as the sun goes down. The minimart store across the street now has alcohol. If there are things in the room that need repair do write a note & leave it at the service desk so they can keep the maintenance up. ( ie: door sticks and makes a load noise, toilet flapper needs to be changed...etc)

Room Tip: We like the 4th floor...closer to the pool and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#54 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Principe & Suites
Hotel Principe & Suites
#56 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metro Hotel Panama
Metro Hotel Panama
#59 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AZ Hotel & Suites
AZ Hotel & Suites
#68 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cresta Inn
La Cresta Inn
#91 of 117 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tower House Suites
Tower House Suites
#94 of 117 in Panama City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel el Parador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel el Parador

Property: Hotel el Parador
Address: Calle Eusebio A. Morales, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 117 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel el Parador 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel el Parador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Parador Hotel
Hotel El Parador Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing