We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
584
383
86
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
383
86
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationiglesia del carmenrooftop poolstrong wifigreat hotellaundry roomsitting areafresh fruitnon smokingtop floorfinancial districtwalking distancefront desk staffsmall poolexcellent locationcoffee machinecinta costera
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

A centrally located hotel with spacious room and strong Wi-Fi. The hotel's breakfast buffet is great. Bottled water is included in the room. The staffs especially Michael are friendly and very responsive to our requests. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank luvtravelling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Hyatt place is in a good location, close to restaurants, shopping and church. Buffet breakfast is really nice, a good selection of breads, muffins, local cuisine dishes and a variety of fruits.
The staff is very pleasant, with Michael garnering the highest rating, very helpful and always trying to help.
He suggested a few restaurants and we were not disappointed.
If anyone plans to stay there, don't stay in Room 608, loud music always comes on from early evening to wee hours in the morning.
I don't know if it's the same with adjacent rooms.
Wifi is good too.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Lv2trvlrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

I went to Panama City for Thanksgiving weekend to escape the usual turkey fare at home. The Hyatt is centrally located, making it easy to use as a base for exploring. You can head straight South to the ocean front and stroll along the relatively new pathway there. Or you can head a half block North to Iglesia del Carmen with the metro stop and Cangrejo just across the street. Also some fine restaurants within walking distance.

Since the visit was short, we arranged with reception a 6 hour private driving tour. Our driver Victor was delightful, begin both informative and accommodating. We stopped first at Miraflores to see the canal museum and the canal in operation. Then across the Bridge of the Americas for a nice photo op. Then out the causeway to the Gehry-designed Biomuseo. Then a drive thru Casco VIejo to see the massive transformation happening there. And then finally all the way over to Panama Viejo to see the ruins of the very early Spanish settlement.

The rooms were modern and clean, The breakfast buffet is expensive for an extra guest but provides a variety of fresh fruit and an omelette station The reception staff was always helpful and pleasant. The only glitch was a couple of misunderstandings as to whether we were to pay drivers directly or pay thru the hotel.

Tip: Have the Hyatt arrange a car service from (and to) the airport. It is only a few dollars more expensive than a regular Taxi and the driver meets you outside customs with a sign bearing your name. No need to test your Spanish in bargaining with a driver.

Room Tip: Front rooms face disco across street which apparently can be loud on weekends. I was on side/back and barely heard it.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MtKiscoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

If you choose to stay here, a tip: Ask for a high room at the back end of the hotel to avoid the nightclub noise and early morning church bells. The rooms are spacious enough but the beds are extremely soft (unbearably so if you sleep on your stomach). I was told all of the mattresses are the same so it doesn't help to ask for a different room. The hot water from the shower smelled slightly of sewage which could have been due to an external issue or possibly a bacteria build-up in the hotel's heating system. The breakfast is ok, if you like mass-produced food that can be sitting for hours (or more?) before it ends up on your plate. To be fair, there is an "egg chef" on hand who whips up decent omelettes. The hotel is centrally located and the staff in the reception area are friendly and attentive. But I was honestly disappointed with this hotel considering the price and the Hyatt's reputation for quality. There were far too many cons when weighing up the cost benefit of staying here. I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews