We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casco Viejo Apartment”
Review of Patty's Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patty's Casitas
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Casco Viejo Apartment”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We arrived in Panama City, in February, right in the middle of 'Carnaval'. Many of the streets were closed so we had to make numerous detours before our taxi made it to the apartment. Patty was patiently waiting downstairs and helped us with our luggage. The 'loft apartment' is lovely. It is a two-bedroom apartment but since we only needed one BR they locked the BR on the main floor but gave us the use of both bathrooms. This was very handy as we had a bathroom on each level.
We stayed for 3 weeks and the maid came each Friday to clean the unit. There are two washers and dryers on the main floor for the people in the building to use. No coins needed and soap was supplied. There are two air conditioners in the unit which is great as Panama City can be hot and humid. Doesn't get much better.

The apartment is very well stocked - Patty has thought of everything. There is a 'directory' with all the information one can possibly want. There is a laptop in the bedroom, free WiFi, and a cell phone to use plus a land line. There is even a card with the address of the building to show the taxi driver.

Patty, and her husband, Rudy, are a real team. Patty looks after the bookings etc. and Rudy plays the tour guide. He is Panamanian and speaks excellent English, amongst other languages. We took a few of his tours and were not disappointed. To see the locks we suggest seeing the Gatun locks as you are up close to the ships and there are very few tourists compared to the Miraflores locks. The highlight was the trip to the Embera Village. We were joined by another American couple and we were the only visitors to this remote village that day.

Thanks to Patty and Rudy we really enjoyed our stay in Panama City. Casco Viejo is an area under major renovation and it would be interesting to come back in about 5 years to see the changes.

Room Tip: Both units in Casco Viejo are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SadhusWithiPods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
138
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The end of February we went to Panama for 2 weeks mainly to see the Canal Zone from Panama City to Colon. During our first week we stayed in old town Casco Viejo in a walk-up studio apartment owned by ‘Patty’s Casitas’. The rooms were extremely clean with upscale linens and towels, fine dishware, flatware, glassware and every cooking utensil one could possibly need. We had Wi-Fi, a landline, a cell phone and even printed directions to give the taxi driver so we could get back to our space. Patty had done a beautiful job of decorating both our studio and the one bedroom unit across the hall that was occupied by friends we met. Casco Viejo is now a UNESCO site and a perfect location to walk among the historic buildings. The oldest church in Panama was just down the street. The mayor’s house was across from the church and the building just up the street is being reconstructed. We spent two days just seeing the neighborhood, tasting the Panamanian food, looking at the arts and crafts, visiting the Canal Museum, and walking along the shorefront. It’s a safe, interesting area to stay in.
Then we spent our second week near the Amador Causeway on the 4th floor of a very modern apartment with an elevator. We had access to the 7th floor fitness room and outside terrace overlooking the Canal – where we enjoyed cheese and wine each night as the sun went down. This accommodation was completely different, but equally well decorated with a very complete kitchen and beautiful views Panama City. I enjoyed the art pieces on display.
In both places Patty had a notebook with complete instructions for everything plus wonderful recommendations for restaurants. She had thought of everything that could make a guest comfortable. She and Rudy were available by phone if we needed anything. She is an extremely efficient woman who made arrangements for us to ride the Panama Railroad and to go through the Canal on a smaller boat, as well as booking all our tours with Rudy. We felt so lucky to have discovered them. They both speak Spanish, English, Italian and German. They also have a B & B in their home.

Room Tip: Read a bunch of reviews and then choose the place that sounds the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We could have not asked for anything more in terms of the condo and its owners. From the beginning Rudy and Patty were very accommodating in terms of getting the rental and arranging both our arrival and departure. The condo has everything and more. The availability of both a computer and a cellphone for our personal use was only a couple of examples of the modern conveniences afforded by the condo and its owners. The condo is very secure and security was always available to help in letting us in and out of the complex. They even prepared the elevator for us!!! We went on the Embera tour and the City and Canal Tour with Rudy. Both tours were outstanding!!!! Rudy is a super guide. Highly recommend doing as many tours as you possibly can with him. He will answer all your questions about the City and the country. History is brought to life!!! Although we only talked to Patty a couple of times, she is very passionate about what she does and full of zest and energy. The Yacht Club is nearby and we enjoyed it two or three times. Menu is varied and good. We also took the ferry from the Yacht Club to Contador Island for a day. Really enjoyed the trip but would reccommend staying overnight rather than doing it all in one day. It is nearly a two hour trip one way. Island is beautiful, but maybe would suggest renting rather than staying in a hotel as they did not impress us. It was easy to catch a taxi from the condo and we were able to access the Causeway which was only a few steps away and walked the entire length (both to and from) on two occassions. Wear good walking shoes, slather down with sunscreen, don headgear and enjoy the beauty of the Canal and a wonderful view of the city. We stayed two weeks.












.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyle39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed in the loft at Casco Viejo. The loft has been beautifully restored, and everything has been done to a high standard with excellent taste and top quality fittings. Patty and Rudy were very helpful. It is well placed for the old city, with sights, shops and restaurants in easy reach. as others have pointed out, it is on the edge of the 'good' area, so a little bit of common sense is needed as to direction.

The only real negative was a very noisy party on Saturday night in a nearby building, but that is something you might get in many places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed in Patty's loft in Casco Viejo (PH-La Merced) which was originally built in 1680 and restored in 2006. It has amazing original exposed brick walls and has been beautifully restored. It's a top-floor loft well positioned in Casco Viejo (you can walk everywhere). Just make sure you don't make a wrong turn and walk into El Chorrillo (very bad neighborhood just a couple blocks away - learn the layout on a map).

Patty welcomed us and is one of the nicest people I've met. She is extremely organized and has pretty much every question and amenity you could think of ready for you before you get there. The place looks brand new, is unbelievable clean, and is well equipped (kitchen, entertainment system, two bathrooms, etc.)

I'm not surprised to see Patty's other reviews...she really has her stuff together and the prices were super competitive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel_uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Our recent trip to Panama was a “once in a lifetime” excursion, thanks to Patty’s Casitas and Rudy’s Tours . Patty and Rudy cover all the bases with their perfect choices of living accommodations and places to go and see. They were available to help with daily itinerary choices and any problems we had. The villa and condo were well placed geographically and allowed easy access to see lots of what Panama had to offer. The Amador condo had every appliance we could think of, and was within an easy walk of some very nice restaurants, and the Canal. A short cab ride took us to grocery stores, shopping, more restaurants and scenery. The phone they supplied us with added a sense of security and a connection to Patty and Rudy for help if needed. The Mountain Villa near Capira was spacious and well appointed, with an infinity pool and covered patio. Rudy’s tours took us in every direction, on the isthmus railroad to Colon , past Coronado to El Valle, on a dugout canoe ride to the Embera Village , thru Old ruins of the old City and Spanish Forts. What a grand and beautiful trip thru a thriving and industrious country. The people are all very friendly and we felt very safe anywhere we went at any time of day or night. We are recommending Patty’s Casitas and Rudy’s Tours for this Panama Adventure to all our friends and relatives. And we are already planning our next trip to Panama . Nancy and jack. . . Reno, Nevada

Room Tip: Amador rooms overlooked the approach to the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I had stayed in Panama City for a brief visit before, and will admit that I didn't think much of it. But I was delighted to find a whole different visiting experience when I returned to Panama City and stayed at one of Patty's Casitas' Casco Viejo lofts.

The loft itself was better than expected, but the real upside was the location and the helpful advice and assistance of Patty and Rudy. The loft came equipped with a binder of local information that I found incredibly helpful (follow the restaurant recommendations!!), and Rudy and Patty were incredibly helpful in assisting us throughout our trip.

I will definitely stay there again when I come back through Panama City.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTravelingNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PattysCasitas2006, Owner at Patty's Casitas, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you...we try to make our guests feel at home and help them as much as we can to contribute in making their experience great by staring with a nice accommodation:-)
Hope to welcome you soon back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#11 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#10 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#7 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#8 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patty's Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patty's Casitas

Property: Patty's Casitas
Address: Calle 49 | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer top notch accommodations in the most sought out neighborhoods in the city...Bella Vista, Casco Viejo (the Colonial neighborhood - a UNESCO World Heritage Site) & the Amador famous for its Causeway at the entrance of the Panama Canal.We also have a gorgeous 1 & 2 bedroom Villa in the beautiful mountains of Capira - 50 minutes from the city...the views will take your breath away...please inquire.This is your one stop shop as we also provide airport transfers, tours with Rudy (certified tour guide), and we can welcome you in English, Spanish, French, German and Italian.We, Patty & Rudy, are 100% dedicated to our guests...let us make your Panama vacation an unforgettable one;-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patty`s Casitas Bed And Breakfast
Patty`s Casitas Hotel Panama City
Patty's Casitas Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing