We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous and helpful”
Review of Patty's Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patty's Casitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed two nights in early June. Rudy and Patty gave us many good recommendations on things to do and places to see in the city. The breakfast provided was hearty and delicious. They were available to answer questions and were very helpful in arranging transportation. The room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dallasites0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was our first experience in staying at a B&B, but it was a great one. We were picked up by Patty and Rudy from the airport, who drove us to their beautiful home in Bella Vista and gave us a lot of tips for sightseeing, restaurants etc. Their house is located in a very nice and safe neighbourhood with a lot of restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast in their house is awesome, with every morning something different and special.

We also did a tour with Rudy to see Panama City and the canal, which was very well organised and Rudy knows a lot about the places we visited.

The room(s) and service were great, as well as the private patio. Although we were only staying there with the two of us, you could easily stay there with two kids.

We understand they do not have so many European guests. We can, however, highly recommend this B&B to all, as the service, friendliness and knowledge of Patty and Rudy are super.

We hope to visit them soon when we will be back in Panama again. Panama is a nice city, we spent three days there as a stopover to Costa Rica, which was a nice opportunity to visit the city and the canal.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We were very happy with our stay at Patty's Casitas. It was clean, cool, and spacious, with several nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Patty and her helper prepared interesting and filling breakfasts, and Patty conversed easily with us on a variety of topics. Rudy was an absolutely stellar tour guide. He specializes in small group sizes. We very much enjoyed our visit to the Embera Indians (only four of us visited the village that day) and our boat ride on Gatun Lake (just Rudy, the two of us, and our boat pilot). With Rudy spotting, we saw much more wildlife than we would have seen on our own, and we learned a lot!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYTravelers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Patty and Rudy's place in Bella Vista. It was centrally located in a picturesque neighborhood and within walking distance to a number of great restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. I recommend utilizing Rudy's guide services if you are going to Panama City for the first time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Patty and Rudy were wonderful. We could not have asked for better accommodations than what we had at the condo in Amador. We were so well taken care of down to our last cups of coffee. Rudy's tours are flawless. We will return.
Ken & Rita Stanley, California

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Like the title suggests, Patty and Rudy are simply the best!

The only reason we took a vacation to Panama City was because we got cheap airfare ($150 roundtrip including taxes) from NYC through a crazy deal. We knew nothing about Panama besides the fact that it had the famous canal. And we don't speak any spanish besides the very basics (ex. hello, goodbye, thank you, count to 100, etc). Looking back on the trip, we were so glad to have stayed at Patty's Casitas! Their advice/assistance helped with the language barrier that definitely exists there. Details below.

We stayed 4 nights at the B&B in the suite (2 rooms, 1 bath w/ shower and his/her sinks) which was basically a part of their house with a private entrance. The rooms are not fancy, but are spacious, super clean/comfortable, and the A/C worked well in the hot/humid weather. The WIFI was fast and they even have a computer for you to use (I brought my own laptop). The mini-bar was filled with very reasonably priced snacks, water, drinks, beer and we definitely took advantage of that. The B&B is located on a mostly residential street, but there are a bunch of restaurants/bars/nightclub within walking distance (10 minutes or less!). And there's also a supermarket 10 minutes away by foot.

The breakfasts every morning in their open air dining room consisted of bread w/ butter & delicious jam, beautifully cut/displayed fruit (we got mango, watermelon, papaya, and pineapple on our days there), yogurt, cereal/milk, cold cuts/cheese, some kind of hot food (ex. eggs, yuca patty), fresh fruit juice, and coffee/tea. It was always too much food and we could never finish it all. If you have any dietary restrictions, just let Patty know and she will accommodate you.

Although the room/location was great and the breakfasts were delicious, it was Patty and Rudy that made the experience that much more delightful. They are genuinely friendly and helpful people who love what they do and carry on their business with passion and integrity. They took care of us so well from the moment we landed to Panama to when we left to stay at another place in Casco Viego. They answered our countless questions about the area with thoughtful/honest answers and smiles on their faces. Rudy arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport at 11pm and welcomed us to the B&B with drinks when we arrived. When I got some mosquito bites on the 2nd day, Patty gave me some vinegar to rub on my bites for relief. They gave us great restaurant recommendations and made reservations for us. And when it was time for us to leave, Patty arranged a taxi to take us to our next location and told us to call them if we had any questions during the rest of our stay in Panama. It was just great service all the way around by them.

And the other great thing about Patty's was Rudy's Tours. I would highly recommend them, especially if you don't know the area and/or do not speak much spanish. We signed up for 2 tours for our first 2 days. The first day was the Canal & City Tour where Rudy took us to visit the Panama Canal and the various parts of Panama City (Casco Viejo, Panama Viejo, etc). The second day we took The Other Panama Tour where we walked around areas where the commonfolks live and experienced a more authentic Panama. Rudy was very knowledgable about the history/culture of Panama and we learned a lot about the country. His easy going nature made us comfortable from the start and it was just a pleasure spending time with him on these tours. He never hurried us and spent extra time to wonder with us when we wanted to go into various shops to browse. In fact, my wife and I enjoyed the tours so much that we booked a 3rd tour with him to see the Embera Indian village. And as expected, we had a great time on that tour as well (definitely our favorite!). We just cannot say enough about Rudy's skills as a tour guide. He is professional, thoughtful of his clients, and an all around man of integrity. The tours were all reasonably priced and worth EVERY PENNY!

Like I said earlier, everything was just great at Patty's Casita. They are the best. If you're headed to Panama City, stay at Patty's and take some tours with Rudy. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank value_vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We spent 4 days in the studio apartment in Casco Viejo. Patty and Rudy met us at the airport and made us immediately feel very welcome. They drove us to the studio, gave us information on the area and a cell phone to call them if we needed anything. The studio was immaculate and very well appointed. We have travelled all over the world staying in similar types of accommodation, and I really can say that Patty's attention to detail surpassed anything I've seen. The studio had all the essentials one needs, including details such as books, DVD's, first aid, lots of good information on Panama and the kitchen had everything including basic supplies such as tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper and many other items which make a short stay much easier.

We took advantage of Rudy's tours and visited the sights of Panama City, took the train to Colon where Rudy met us in the van. He then took us to visit a traditional native village where we went by canoe, we visited the Gatun locks and generally learned a lot about Panama. Rudy is a wealth of knowledge and is a wonderful guide. Learning about the culture of a country through the eyes of a local person enriches the travel experience. Rudy and Patty provide a top service to any traveller. I highly recommend them. Thanks for a great stay in Panama City!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livinlifenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.8 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 111 in Panama City
515 reviews
2.2 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 111 in Panama City
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#4 of 111 in Panama City
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
Hilton Garden Inn Panama
#35 of 115 in Panama City
802 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patty's Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patty's Casitas

Address: Calle 49 | Bella Vista, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £72 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer top notch accommodations in the most sought out neighborhoods in the city...Bella Vista, Casco Viejo (the Colonial neighborhood - a UNESCO World Heritage Site) & the Amador famous for its Causeway at the entrance of the Panama Canal.We also have a gorgeous 1 & 2 bedroom Villa in the beautiful mountains of Capira - 50 minutes from the city...the views will take your breath away...please inquire.This is your one stop shop as we also provide airport transfers, tours with Rudy (certified tour guide), and we can welcome you in English, Spanish, French, German and Italian.We, Patty & Rudy, are 100% dedicated to our guests...let us make your Panama vacation an unforgettable one;-) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patty`s Casitas Bed And Breakfast
Patty`s Casitas Hotel Panama City
Patty's Casitas Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing