We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool and Social layout is perfect for meeting people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Machico Hostel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
El Machico Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
1 review
“Pool and Social layout is perfect for meeting people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Place was great! We were on a last minute stand by trip from the states to Panama. We didn't know much about the area. Damian was awesome! He speaks 4 languages and helped us navigate the city and get to San Blas. Super helpful. The $1 beers and waters were great! Kitchen is fully stocked and the pool definitely helps with humid weather! Can't wait to go back and visit. We had a very social group and the setting was perfect for meeting fellow backpackers.

Room Tip: We stayed in dorm beds. AC runs from 9 pm-9am. Very comfortable. Beds and bathrooms were very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    59
    13
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
39
200
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

El Machico is an amazing Hostel with great staff and a good atmosphere. The location was perfect and a great spot for night life. I would definitely stay there again next time i'm in Panama.The owner Damiano even vacationed with us at San Blas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

El Machico is a great hostel with a real family vibe to it. It's more like a big multinational family living together with the owner Damiano playing his role as Italian dad of the household. Swimming pool and beanbags around it are great for chilling out, they have cable TV with English speaking channels, and a great kitchen and living area. The main bathroom looks like it was designed by Tony Montana from Scarface & has a great shower. All in all I highly recommend it, all the team are super.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

How can we write a review for a place that were our home for two weeks.
Got the best staff, always smiling and helping, got a great new big kitchen, a really nice pool to cool you off in the hot panama days and a living room that make you feel like you and the other travelrs are pracitcaly family.
The place is clean and located in a good and safe area. just in the middle of all of the malls.

For all of you travelrs that look for a place where you would wait to come back at night, this is it!
Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maor_Meital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I was at el machico three weeks ago for two nights, came back two weeks later again. A really nice place to stay, great people, lockers, clean, an ATM is around the corner and the pool is lovely.
Rik
Holland

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rikwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san José
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hostel just one week after their opening. The owner is a very friendly guy who helped us with everything we needed.
The rooms and the whole hostel are very clean and everything is as nice as it looks in the pictures.

We highly recommend El Machico for your stay in panama City.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraE449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was there for two nights. The hostel's beds, bathrooms, lounge areas were really clean. The staff was really helpful when showing me around. They even kept my luggage safe for an entire day after I had checked out but my bus was not leaving until midnight. Thanks to the staff for their friendliness and hospitality. You're the best.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_AM8753SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grace Panama
Grace Panama
#1 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Panama
Hilton Panama
#10 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Panama
Le Meridien Panama
#8 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
Hyatt Place Panama City Downtown
#11 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
The Bristol Panama Hotel & SPA
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Machico Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Machico Hostel

Property: El Machico Hostel
Address: Av. 5a B. Sur Casa 2, Panama City 000, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Machico Hostel is a young and dynamic Hostel, situated in a big house in Marbella zone, among the more exclusive zones of Panama City. All facilicities incluted : TvLcd, free WiFi in all the zones of the Villa, share computer , air conditioning, Playstation, Movie projections at the pool, Pool table and so much more.El Machico Hostel boasts an ample swimming pool where you can relax sipping a drink! Tours to San Blas from $ 105...The best Price!!! Boat Trips to Colombia from $ 375!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Machico Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Machico Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing