We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best hostel in Central America.”
Review of El Machico Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Machico Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have been traveling trough central america for 2 months and never found a better hostel than El Machicho. It feels like coming home, funny, because the hostel is actually a home. The rooms are very clean and all have AC, which is very nice since Panama City can get very hot. The hostel even has a pretty large pool for a refreshing dive after sightseeing. The guys from the hostel are very friendly. I only planned to stay for 1 night but I ended up sleeping there for almost a week, great place!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Place was great! We were on a last minute stand by trip from the states to Panama. We didn't know much about the area. Damian was awesome! He speaks 4 languages and helped us navigate the city and get to San Blas. Super helpful. The $1 beers and waters were great! Kitchen is fully stocked and the pool definitely helps with humid weather! Can't wait to go back and visit. We had a very social group and the setting was perfect for meeting fellow backpackers.

Room Tip: We stayed in dorm beds. AC runs from 9 pm-9am. Very comfortable. Beds and bathrooms were very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Austin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

El Machico is an amazing Hostel with great staff and a good atmosphere. The location was perfect and a great spot for night life. I would definitely stay there again next time i'm in Panama.The owner Damiano even vacationed with us at San Blas.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

El Machico is a great hostel with a real family vibe to it. It's more like a big multinational family living together with the owner Damiano playing his role as Italian dad of the household. Swimming pool and beanbags around it are great for chilling out, they have cable TV with English speaking channels, and a great kitchen and living area. The main bathroom looks like it was designed by Tony Montana from Scarface & has a great shower. All in all I highly recommend it, all the team are super.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GrahamC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

How can we write a review for a place that were our home for two weeks.
Got the best staff, always smiling and helping, got a great new big kitchen, a really nice pool to cool you off in the hot panama days and a living room that make you feel like you and the other travelrs are pracitcaly family.
The place is clean and located in a good and safe area. just in the middle of all of the malls.

For all of you travelrs that look for a place where you would wait to come back at night, this is it!
Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maor_Meital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I was at el machico three weeks ago for two nights, came back two weeks later again. A really nice place to stay, great people, lockers, clean, an ATM is around the corner and the pool is lovely.
Rik
Holland

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rikwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hostel just one week after their opening. The owner is a very friendly guy who helped us with everything we needed.
The rooms and the whole hostel are very clean and everything is as nice as it looks in the pictures.

We highly recommend El Machico for your stay in panama City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraE449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.7 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,202 reviews
2 mi away
Luna's Castle Hostel
Luna's Castle Hostel
#4 of 111 in Panama City
660 reviews
2 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 111 in Panama City
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hostel Casa Nativa
Hostel Casa Nativa
#9 of 111 in Panama City
37 reviews
1 mi away
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 111 in Panama City
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Panama Hat Hostel
The Panama Hat Hostel
#12 of 111 in Panama City
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Machico Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Machico Hostel

Address: Av. 5a B. Sur | Casa #2, Panama City, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £11 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***We are leaders in Panama City for tours to San Blas Islands*** You can book with us 2 Days/1 Night from $ 110 ($20 extra night) and much more. El Machico Hostel is a young and dynamic Hostel, situated in a big house in Marbella zone, among the more exclusive zones of Panama City, located near the pharmacy, restaurants, supermarkets, ATMs and shopping centers. El Machico Hostel boasts an ample swimming pool with open air cinema by night, pool table, and a small bar. Besides the dormitory, we also have available a marvelous private room with a private bathroom, all rooms with Air Conditioning. All beds are equipped with power outlets. El Machico Hostel offers free breakfast to all customers. Our well informed staff is always at your complete disposition for any information about the city and various excursions. *The Cleanliness Of The Guest Rooms And Other Areas Of The Hostel Is Extremely Important To Us. We Guarantee To Provide A Very Clean And Sanitary Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Machico Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Machico Hostel Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing