We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal House
Ranked #35 of 84 Panama City B&B and Inns
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

The Canal House in Panama City is wonderful. Situated in the perfect location in Casco Antiqua for restaurants, walking, touring, sight-seeing. The rooms are wonderful - the food is fantastic and the staff is incredible.....exceptional service!

  • Liked — Staff and service and entire building
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Comanchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    18
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
73
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Canal House on our first and last nights in Panama. The staff was among the most helpful we have ever come across. The hotel is in the lively, beautiful, but sometimes slightly dicey Casco Antiguo, and this beautiful haven is well worth splurging on to have peace and comfort after exploring this neighborhood

We stayed in the top floor suite, which was extremely comortable, but with no windows looking onto the outside. I believe one of the other rooms DOES have an outside window, which would be the one to opt for.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tmbcktt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2008

Canal House is incredible. The staff is extremely professional and courteous. The rooms are well decorated and the dining room and library are well appointed.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

Samantha, Lith et al are the epitomy of hospitality. Once we stepped inside the doors of the Canal House, we felt welcomed, comfortable and quite simply, 'at home'.

Understated, elegant and refined. No cookie cutter aestetics that characterise some boutique brands. Staff is visible yet invisible. Breakfast in the dining/drawing room is a great start to ones day. Nice space as well to relax and/or entertain.

Located next to the Canal House Museum where incidentally, a Rembrandt exhibit is currently on display, you are literally foot steps away from local eateries, the arts, history and sightseeing. The walking is easy. Just minutes to a morning tour of the Presidential Palace and minutes to a nighttime Jazz performance at Casa Gongora for example. We did both. Taxis are modestly priced (cheap to be precise) and easy to hail for excursions beyond Casco Viejo.

And, cellular service as well as internet access (wireless throughout the hotel) helped me stay connected all four days!

I am thrilled that a local friend had the wise sense to introduce us to this gem on Avenida A y Calle 5.

So, would we return.

Most definitely, YES.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SmittenWithCasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2008

The Canal House is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for a beautiful bed and breakfast/boutique hotel that's easy and no fuss. The staff is fantastic and very considerate and the space is peaceful and serene. It's also centrally located to all that's to do in Casco Viejo. If I ever am in Panama again, it's the only place in Panama City that I'd ever stay.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank nytraveler300NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

Located in Casco Viejo the hotel is within walking distance of fine dining , drinking and music. Taxi service to other city sights is inexpensive and easy. The Canal House provided a professional and relaxing atmosphere, a fine breakfast and a wonderfully informative hostess.There are only 3 rooms so plan ahead.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank NycDonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

My wife and I went to Costa Rica and Panama for our honeymoon, and Panama City was our last stop. Just before that, we were on a week long sea kayak trip through San Blas, in which we were out in the ocean and wind for 7 days paddling in big seas until our arms were sore. we were looking forward to our stay at the Canal House as a nice comfortable place to recover and relax. We arrived to Panama City from San Blas very early in the morning (before 8 am), much earlier than we expected and needed a shower and a bed. We were concerned that it was so early, but we called the Canal House and they said, "sure, come on over." Our room was already ready and vacant and we even got a nice breakfast when we arrived. There was no hassle that we were early and they treated us wonderfully. The place is gorgeous, and is amazingly affordable for the quality of where you get to stay, compared to similar priced hotels elsewhere in the City. It really gives you a flavor of the history of Panama and immerses you in where you are in incredible comfort. Who wants to stay in a generic high-rise hotel in a soul-less modern hotel and business district? Not us.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank cityresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
Villa Palma Boutique Hotel
#60 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Isabela Suites
La Isabela Suites
#53 of 117 in Panama City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hotel Panama
Central Hotel Panama
#40 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Nuratti
Hotel Casa Nuratti
#80 of 117 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Clementinas Hotel
Las Clementinas Hotel
#31 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantalo Hotel / Kitchen / Roofbar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Calle 5a y Avenida A | Casco Antiguo, Panama City 0857, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canal House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal House Hotel Panama City
Canal House Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing