We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable room for a reasonable price”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #77 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Well, I gave the highest rate to this hotel because when you compare the price of the room and what you get - its really worth it.
We had some bad experience with other hotels in Panama city which were more expensive, and they were worst than this hotel.
Perhaps Hotel California is not the best hotel. its location is abit noisy (ask for a back room which dont overllok the main street) and perhaps abit dangerous (there was a guard at the the enterance). However, The staff knows english (very rare in this city), The rooms are clean and convinient, and the price is not expensive (44$ in the low season for a double room). Comparing to other hotels in the city - this hotel is worth staying.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed at hotel california a month and 2 days ago and have been travelling since. I did not receive a receipt for the room at the time because it was shared and I did not speak strong spanish to explain, I am finished travelling now and I called to tried to get one and was told there was nothing they could do to help me today. They had no record of a room rented just a month ago (clearly they keep excellent records and accounts) and could not send me a receipt or offer me any suggestions as to what could be done for the travel claim I need to file. Aside from that, the room was arranged poorly so that you could barely access the closet space, and when you showered the water got all over the toilet and the entire bathroom. There is also no advantage in cost (in fact the cost was higher) to get a room shared amongst 3 people vs 2 people. I found the staff snitty and the accomodations mediocre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K24681012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This place is simple and affordable. The staff speaks english and are very helpful. The rooftop patio is a great place to relax with its tiled patio and "jacuzzi". It is centrally located with easy access to taxis etc.

Room Tip: Any room ending in the # 3 is a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noochh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This older Hotel has been well maintained with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The air conditioning is wonderful in the humidity of Panama City. It has very helpful staff and a lovely rooftop terrace with tables, chairs and a great view of the City. The small soaking pool is very relaxing. They also have a room with several exercise machines. The free wireless Internet works great! On site restaurant available with good food. For $49.50 it is a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsgray1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I had an overnight layover in Panama City and booked a room at Hotel California based on Trip Advisor reviews... Below are my thoughts:
1. Cleanliness - The room and bathroom were very clean. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation, and I believe I was in an updated room. Definitely didn't feel the need for shower shoes, ya know?
2. Location - If you stay here, ask for a room that's not facing the street. The hotel is on a very busy street, however, it didn't seem there was much within walking distance. Getting a taxi was also difficult. I don't recall seeing any corner stores or restaurants (other than the one attached to the hotel) nearby.
3. Rooms - Think matchbox. Flat screen TV was nice, but the a/c unit was really loud. The bathroom was teeny tiny.
4. Service - The woman that works in the evening is very hospitable. The woman that works in the mornings is not so much, nor is the manager.
5. Value - Given everything else I've written $44 for a clean place to rest your head isn't so bad
6. Sleep Quality - If you're a heavy/deep sleeper, you shouldn't have any issues w/ the noise. If you're a light sleeper, I wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't facing the main drag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

A basic but well-run hotel. Our double room was very small but had a clean bathroom, quiet air conditioner and a flat screen TV. There was a very small window with no view and we heard a lot of traffic noise as the hotel is located on a very busy street. The location is nothing special but, the price was right and we felt quite secure. There is a bar and restaurant conveniently located nextdoor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

friendly professional staff, clean rooms with a fridge. Small gym with working equipment and a lovely sun terrace with small pool. well run hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sallygally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.1 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#78 of 115 in Panama City
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#70 of 115 in Panama City
39 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#71 of 115 in Panama City
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Remo
Hotel San Remo
#79 of 115 in Panama City
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#98 of 115 in Panama City
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Costa Inn
Hotel Costa Inn
#100 of 115 in Panama City
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Via Espana & Calle 43, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 115 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range: £23 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Panama City
Hotel California Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing