We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great clean budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great clean budget hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in California twice on our around the world journey before moving on to Columbia.
The staff was nice, the first room we stayed in was a little small, but we made it work and second room was much better appointed so it was better for us. Everything worked great and we had everything we needed, including amenities such as small pool on the rooftop with great views of Panama city skyline and workout room with basic gym equipment. Restaurant adjusent serves great basic meals, staff there weren´t super freindly, but I have heard it is common in Panama City. Restaurant has GREAT coffee.
It is located very conveniently only 15 minutes walk away from Calle Uruguay and very close to shopping areas.

Room Tip: You will hear people getting ice from the ice machine if your room is close to it. Also, rooms up fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aartemyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
33
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Its a great deal right on Via Espana. Its walking distance from Budget rent a car , the Riba Smith ( great super market) and the real "Tailor of Panama" office is a stones throw. Nice relaxing tub on the roof to soak in and a great view of the skyline.

Room Tip: get a room in the back - front is kind of noisy but fun to watch the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinotega, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We moved here from our hostel after being recommended the hotel by other travellers. We wanted more comfort and privacy, and for only $45 per night a double room, this was definitely worth it!

The room was on the small side, but very clean and nicely decorated with a simple and modern style. The furniture and bed seeemed new and we had air conditioning for no extra cost as well as cable TV and wireless internet. The bathroom was also clean and new with an excellent shower - hot water and lots of pressure! What made the place for us was the cute roof terrace on the 6th floor with seating and small pool/jacuzzi!! We spent new years eve there and had a great view of all the fireworks!

The location is central and you can walk to the coastal strip in about 10-12 minutes, or get taxis around easily. The night guard on reception was pretty grumpy, but apart from that I have only praise for this affordable, cosy, well located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank La Bastilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Well, I gave the highest rate to this hotel because when you compare the price of the room and what you get - its really worth it.
We had some bad experience with other hotels in Panama city which were more expensive, and they were worst than this hotel.
Perhaps Hotel California is not the best hotel. its location is abit noisy (ask for a back room which dont overllok the main street) and perhaps abit dangerous (there was a guard at the the enterance). However, The staff knows english (very rare in this city), The rooms are clean and convinient, and the price is not expensive (44$ in the low season for a double room). Comparing to other hotels in the city - this hotel is worth staying.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed at hotel california a month and 2 days ago and have been travelling since. I did not receive a receipt for the room at the time because it was shared and I did not speak strong spanish to explain, I am finished travelling now and I called to tried to get one and was told there was nothing they could do to help me today. They had no record of a room rented just a month ago (clearly they keep excellent records and accounts) and could not send me a receipt or offer me any suggestions as to what could be done for the travel claim I need to file. Aside from that, the room was arranged poorly so that you could barely access the closet space, and when you showered the water got all over the toilet and the entire bathroom. There is also no advantage in cost (in fact the cost was higher) to get a room shared amongst 3 people vs 2 people. I found the staff snitty and the accomodations mediocre.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K24681012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This place is simple and affordable. The staff speaks english and are very helpful. The rooftop patio is a great place to relax with its tiled patio and "jacuzzi". It is centrally located with easy access to taxis etc.

Room Tip: Any room ending in the # 3 is a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noochh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toccoa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This older Hotel has been well maintained with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. The air conditioning is wonderful in the humidity of Panama City. It has very helpful staff and a lovely rooftop terrace with tables, chairs and a great view of the City. The small soaking pool is very relaxing. They also have a room with several exercise machines. The free wireless Internet works great! On site restaurant available with good food. For $49.50 it is a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsgray1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#69 of 116 in Panama City
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#66 of 116 in Panama City
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#93 of 116 in Panama City
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#78 of 116 in Panama City
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#77 of 116 in Panama City
188 reviews
2.1 mi away
Central Park Hotel
Central Park Hotel
#83 of 116 in Panama City
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Espana & Calle 43, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Panama City
Hotel California Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing