We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Reservations.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reservations.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have stayed many times at the Hotel California since it opened. Unfortunately I will not be staying there again. I have tried to make a reservation for nearly a week for another 10 days stay but my e-mails have not been answered and i was told to ring back when I rang from Spain.

30 years ago I worked in Panama and have seen great progress since then. The only thing that is now missing from the business community is professionalism, as has been demonstrated here.

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Donkeyoatay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    38
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
33
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed a few times, on my 2 months Panama trip (9 Dec 2011- 16 Feb 2012) in hotel California. And will stay there again in the future.
Standard room with a good double bed, bath room with shower and hot water (I've stayed also with a belgian friend who lives in Panama and also with another family in El Dorado area while taking a Spanish course, in Panama most houses have only cold water!!), flatscreen tv with the standard international channels and WIFI in the room.
Friendly staff, specially Oneiva. She a nice lady who speaks very good English.

For those who travel with a laptop, ask for a room near the elevator along the side street (Calle 43 Este). The rooter hangs there.

The hotel has a sun terras on the roof, with some nice views over the city.

Good and safe location, when you exit the hotel and turn right into Calle 43 Este. Walk down 600m and you'll arrive at Parque Urraca and the Cinta Costera. Make a left, onto the Cinta Costera for 1200m ( passing Le Meridien and Hilton Panama) and you'll arrive at Multicentro shopping Mall. Hard Rock cafe is there, has a food court (Mc D and pizza), cinema and a lot of shops.

There's also a small shop near the hotel, at the corner of Via Espana and Calle 44.

Room Tip: For those who travel with a laptop, ask for a room near the elevator along the side street (Calle 43...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevencrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We found this to be a very pleasant, clean, and affordable hotel for our one-night layover in Panama City. The staff were friendly and the service was great. Even though we speak Spanish, they switched easily to English when needed. Oh - and a HOT shower... wonderful. Much nicer than many hotels we have used in Central America. Tip - talk to your taxi driver from the airport about picking you up the next morning for the return trip. He was eager to do it and showed up at the hotel 30 minutes early. Great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the front street side if traffic noise is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vktroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed in California twice on our around the world journey before moving on to Columbia.
The staff was nice, the first room we stayed in was a little small, but we made it work and second room was much better appointed so it was better for us. Everything worked great and we had everything we needed, including amenities such as small pool on the rooftop with great views of Panama city skyline and workout room with basic gym equipment. Restaurant adjusent serves great basic meals, staff there weren´t super freindly, but I have heard it is common in Panama City. Restaurant has GREAT coffee.
It is located very conveniently only 15 minutes walk away from Calle Uruguay and very close to shopping areas.

Room Tip: You will hear people getting ice from the ice machine if your room is close to it. Also, rooms up fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aartemyeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Its a great deal right on Via Espana. Its walking distance from Budget rent a car , the Riba Smith ( great super market) and the real "Tailor of Panama" office is a stones throw. Nice relaxing tub on the roof to soak in and a great view of the skyline.

Room Tip: get a room in the back - front is kind of noisy but fun to watch the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinotega, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We moved here from our hostel after being recommended the hotel by other travellers. We wanted more comfort and privacy, and for only $45 per night a double room, this was definitely worth it!

The room was on the small side, but very clean and nicely decorated with a simple and modern style. The furniture and bed seeemed new and we had air conditioning for no extra cost as well as cable TV and wireless internet. The bathroom was also clean and new with an excellent shower - hot water and lots of pressure! What made the place for us was the cute roof terrace on the 6th floor with seating and small pool/jacuzzi!! We spent new years eve there and had a great view of all the fireworks!

The location is central and you can walk to the coastal strip in about 10-12 minutes, or get taxis around easily. The night guard on reception was pretty grumpy, but apart from that I have only praise for this affordable, cosy, well located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank La Bastilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Well, I gave the highest rate to this hotel because when you compare the price of the room and what you get - its really worth it.
We had some bad experience with other hotels in Panama city which were more expensive, and they were worst than this hotel.
Perhaps Hotel California is not the best hotel. its location is abit noisy (ask for a back room which dont overllok the main street) and perhaps abit dangerous (there was a guard at the the enterance). However, The staff knows english (very rare in this city), The rooms are clean and convinient, and the price is not expensive (44$ in the low season for a double room). Comparing to other hotels in the city - this hotel is worth staying.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.3 mi away
Avila Hotel Panama
Avila Hotel Panama
#79 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Acapulco
#68 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Roma Plaza
Hotel Roma Plaza
#73 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Euro Hotel
Euro Hotel
#87 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Milan
Hotel Milan
#54 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Centroamericano Hotel
Centroamericano Hotel
#67 of 116 in Panama City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Espana & Calle 43, Panama City, Panama
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Panama City
Hotel California Panama/Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing