We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gem tucked away nicely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panama House Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great place to stay and a wonderful experience over all. I had an 18 hour layover in Panama City and didn't want to stay at the airport so I found this place online. They wrote our directions for me to give to the taxi and helped point me in the direction of an excellent diner. Breakfast the next day was delicious and they kindly called me a taxi when it was time to go. Stayed in room 14 - very clean and the A/C unit worked beautifully.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgh227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

well we (me and my girlfriend) got to panama house b&b aftter couple of friends recommend us that this is a nice and peaceful place to stay, at the moment you get there you know its agreat place the owner is so nice all the time ! and she is trying to help it any way she can, we stayed the first night at the only private room that was available that was a bit small but the bed was great, the AC was great, and the shower and bathroom as well + we had a nice tv in our room, we asked from the owner to move to a diffrent room because that room was with a shared wall with the great social area, and the the day aftter she moved us to aroom witch is located at the garden speared from the other rooms witch was really private and good for our needs.
besides that the kitchen is really good you can cook whatever you want youll find evreything you need in it, they got a huge fridge that you can leave your stuff.
the social area looks like home living room and have in it i think one of the most comfterble sofas and a great tv with cables, plus you got two computers that you can use them free and they got great internet.
this B&B have also beautiful garden that you can cheel in it and just tallk with great people, or just read a book :)
aftter 3 nights we left to bocas del toro and we didnt want to carry all of our stuff because 7 days later we had a flight from panama city..
so we asked from the lovley owner if we can keep our stuff there even if we not gonna stay there when we will return to panama city, and she was so helpful and really nice !
i would love to go back there and the great atmosphere this place has to offer!
if you go to panama city and you want a neat place who has great hospitality this is the one !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had a great experience at this hostel. It was by word of mouth to find this place and it didn't disappoint. $1 beers at the small bar out front and charming company as we got to chat with the owner, Popo, and a few of his friends and other guests. The dorm room was air conditioned and shared bathroom was clean. If you're a Hasher, you get a discount too off the already low rate. Breakfast was pastries, coffee, juices, and fresh fruit. Laundry was only $1, but there was a line for the several machines. Popo's wife spoke excellent English and gave me a ride to the airport for a fair price. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haumanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had a great experience at this bed and breakfast. The staff is incredibly helpful. It is a clean and safe place to stay. There is laundry and a kitchen on site and wifi worked in my room. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it to others

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Good priced hostel with nice breakfast, family and proper rooms. City centre easily accesible with taxis. The garden is a nice chill out with a mango tree en a lot of birds. We had a room with shared bathrooms and this was fine for us. English speaking lady at the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just spent a night in there. First the positives: very friendly and helpful staff( the owner gave us a ride to Panama Vejo without charge because he was going in that direction).
We rented a double room with a private bath: room was tiny and quite run down. Because it is next to a restaurant a a lobby with the computers in was very laud late into the night. Even with earplugs we could not sleep. I am really flustered by the prices being charged in Panama City and the little value for such a price!
Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beata65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Everything with the exception of the bug infested bed was okay. The B&B was otherwise okay. The staff was friendly and I wasn't there long enough to say whether it is a good place to stay long term. I stayed for one night before heading to Bocas.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brume07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvamayita P, Manager at Panama House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest:
We appreciate your valuable comments. As you know bed bugs is not a border problem, because it is a place of lodging we are vulnerable to receive by means of luggage, which can be brought by a guest unconsciously. The success of eradicating this problem depends on specific measures to be taken by different methods of fumigation and preferably eliminate mattress. It would have helped much if we had known immediately by direct reporting, so as help us deal with the issue immediately, as doing so can also directly implement corrective measure immediately. We do not doubt your good intentions to alert both the business and traveler and therefore we are immensely grateful and ask that you email us the location or room number to expedite the remedial process.
Thanks again for supporting our business and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panama City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Panama Zen Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Panama City
Novotel Panama City
#16 of 115 in Panama City
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#22 of 115 in Panama City
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Global Hotel Panama
Global Hotel Panama
#1 of 115 in Panama City
646 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Machico Hostel
El Machico Hostel
#1 of 108 in Panama City
508 reviews
3.0 mi away
Magnolia Inn
Magnolia Inn
#2 of 108 in Panama City
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Av 1A sur El Carmen, Panama City, Panama (Formerly La Casa de Carmen)
Region: Panama > Panama Province > Panama City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Panama City
Price Range: £12 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Panama House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panama House offers our guests a high standard of customer service.Our hostel is equipped with kitchen facilities, Internet, parking, laundry room and much more…making your lodging experience…Unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Panama House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Carmen Hotel Panama City
Panama House Bed & Breakfast Panama City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing