We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't get better than this!”
Review of Moana O Sina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tutuila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moana O Sina
Ranked #1 of 6 Tutuila B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a beautiful location close to Tafuna village but tucked away by the sea in a private and tranquil setting. Relaxation comes easy anywhere on this property from the front porch to the two pools overlooking the ocean to the comfortable private rooms. The owners Dean and Isabel are lovely and the staff are kind and attentive.

Room Tip: For extra privacy choose the bungalow, but the main house rooms are all wonderful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sirena670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Moana O Sina for 3 nights and we had such a wonderful time. Dean and Isabel really made things so easy for us, as we were able to hire a car from them so we could travel around to see the island. We would recommend this as it's a much better car than you'd get for a similar price at the airport! The property is lush and green, with native trees planted throughout. The gardens are what makes place so special! Our bungalow was perfect - so peaceful. We loved the pool area, with comfortable chairs set up so you could watch the blowholes. Breakfast and coffee was served by lovely staff. We loved it and hope to make it back there one day. Thank you for your hospitality Dean and Isabel :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RSV-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Moana O Sina is a gem. Hidden away from busy Pago Pago, yet close to the airport, MOS is a quiet, peaceful hotel with pool and ocean access. The sounds of the crashing waves can be heard from the hotel, but air con is available in all rooms. I stayed in the bungalow, which is charming and fully equipped with mini fridge, microwave, air con and full bath. Moana O Sina staff are pleasant and very accommodating. This is THE place to stay if coming to American Samoa.

Room Tip: Bungalow is removed from the main house, with lots of privacy and very peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank skilarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This place is a small resort that is just beautiful, set in a garden with broad lawns and tropical trees and palms that end in a lava beach with two swimming pools. One is really just a small pool that you could dip into, the other large enough to get real exercise. There are several pavilions so you can sit in the shade and watch the waves crashing onto the lava. That was our favorite part. The waves were mesmerizing.

The owners (Dean and Isabel) were friendly and took care of everything. Isabel met us at the airport and arranged for a rental car, which we dropped off 3 days later at the airport. She took care of all the arrangements so there was no waiting for the car when we arrived quite late at night. She also gave us good advice about a place to snorkel and get lunch (Barefoot Bar), and a place to shop for some longer clothes.

The room was comfortable with efficient and quiet air conditioning. The wifi also worked quite well. The breakfast was served under another fale (pavilion) on ceramic dishes. The service was amazing - - - one morning a single fly was buzzing around and one of the staff came with a fan and fanned away the fly during our breakfast - I felt like royalty. The fresh fruits were great, and served with coffee or tea, toast and cereal and milk.

Our room was very large, clean and comfortable with a balcony that looked over the gardens and the coast. This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and it cost only $145 a night.

I would mention that the people in American Samoa dress conservatively, and the women wear tops or blouses that cover the shoulders and pants or dresses that go below the knees. We flew in from Hawaii and I was wearing shorts and noticed that nobody else on the plane was wearing shorts. But I was able to pick up a comfortable long skirt for a few dollars in the shops near the airport.

This place is near the Pago Pago airport but it is not listed under Pago Pago so I did not find it using Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I came to Moana O Sina(loosely translated as Sina's [a woman's name] ocean) to visit the American Samoa National Park. We started planning our trip 10 months in advance. Although we thought Moana O Sina would be an acceptable establishment, we did not have high expectations because there were no upscale hotels that we could find on the island but our main goal was to see the Park, not stay at a high end resort.
We could not have been more surprised or happy with our stay at Moana O Sina. This "inn" is close to the airport without being disturbed by airport noise. We were met at the airport by an employee and brought by taxi to the hotel/inn. This is an excellent idea and you should arrange for same because it is hard to find at night the first time you arrive. We were warmly greeted by Dean Hudson. Our suite was already temperature controlled, it was a large room, very clean, and had a lanai. The king bed was very comfortable. After travelling for 24 hours, this was nirvana. Dean was friendly but did not overwhelm us with "rules" or directions on how to operate different controls. Some cold bottled water was available. We awoke to see that we had a beautiful view on the lanai of very powerful blow holes near volcanic rock. The property was spotless and well taken care of. WE went out to the living room and there was delicious coffee waiting for us(no decaf). This was followed by a continental breakfast under what I think is a fale. The breakfast was cereals, toast, and fruit., coffee. WE happened to be the only ones at breakfast each day so it was lovely. The whole attitude here seems to be "Don't worry, be happy." WE then jumped into our rental car which had been arranged by the owners. It was a comfortable Ford SUV. The pool was pristine and quite large. There were no bugs on the property. All this was $145. per night(no taxes) plus a reasonable rate for the rental car. The location is very quiet and we did not see any stray dogs on the property. Stray dogs are everywhere on American Samoa and some, we have heard, can be vicious particularly in packs and at sunrise and sundown. Bring shampoo. No website. Suggest calling to make a reservation instead of emailing. We would recommend this hotel/inn without hesitation and with great enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Ask for suite. It's a great bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoanneLebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The location of Moana-o-Sina is wonderful with beautiful lawn and gardens, two very nice pools with some thoughtful safety features included and with spectacular sea views, two fales that are used for serving breakfast, two small pagoda arrangements and hammocks for viewing the breaking ocean and all this 10 minutes from the airport in a quiet setting. Read the DaisyClover review for a more expansive description of the seascape. We agree.
There are four rooms (I think) in the main building and a bungalow set apart. The main suite in the house is very spacious, has a fridge and an outer deck with views of the garden and sea, but it has no tea or coffee making facilities. It does have an on-suite with toilet that the other house rooms do not have. The bungalow is a bit small for two people but it has an electric jug with coffee and tea provided and a fridge.
Main management kept a low profile for most of our visit but the support staff were really friendly and helpful. Peka, the manager’s sister, was just wonderful. There also was a Fijian lady who had been sponsored by the resort management for 15 years and she was excellent value as well.
The resort does not currently supply lunch or an evening meal although, according to Lonely Planet, it intends to do so. Either you use a taxi or you need to hire a vehicle to get anywhere else – the main bus routes are too far away for easy access. We used a taxi except for the transfers to and from the airport which were supplied by Moana-o-Sina. We were told that the best place for dinner was Tradewinds. The Equator restaurant there serves a la carte with some daily specials. The soups of the day were good value but the main courses lacked imagination and, seemingly like everywhere else in the U.S., were too large for us. We ate evening meals there three times and I was happy not to return for another.
Moana-o-Sina needs to upgrade to 3 meals a day status. Once they do that, the resort will become almost “all inclusive” to provide a non-business traveler with few reasons, other than exploration, to leave. Even without these improvements, and from what we saw, Moana-o-Sina is the resort of choice in American Samoa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

My stay here was unexpected but such an awesome surprise. The location is quiet and secluded, set in a garden paradise. There are only 6 rooms but nothing is skimped on. A wonderful large pool is set in front of the gorgeous turquoise ocean. There are hammocks and seating placed throughout the property allowing guests to relax and take in the beauty of American Samoa. Gazebos are used for dining and provides the perfect ambience.

Dean was always there to greet you and make your stay the best possible. What owner would be working at 9pm to help you figure out the new cable box? Thanks Dean!

Isabel was the best! She greeted me each morning with my breakfast and always made sure that I was comfortable and had everything that I needed. I was totally pampered!

The continental breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cold cereal, toast with awesome homemade coconut butter, coffee, tea, milk, and juice. There is also laundry service if you need it. Wifi is free and the connection great (much appreciated since this was a business trip). There is a frig filled with cold drinks that can also store some of your purchases. The kitchen is available for use too.

I miss walking the beach and enjoying the views. I wish I could've stayed longer but the next time I do I hope to have the larger room with the large soak-in bathtub. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HawaiiBorn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tutuila hotels
0.9 mi away
Tradewinds Hotel
Tradewinds Hotel
#1 of 4 in Pago Pago
115 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sadie Thompson Inn
Sadie Thompson Inn
#3 of 4 in Pago Pago
45 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sadie's by the Sea
Sadie's by the Sea
#2 of 4 in Pago Pago
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana O Sina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana O Sina

Address: Fogagogo, Tutuila 96799, American Samoa
Region: American Samoa > Tutuila
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tutuila
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique accommodation offering lodge type accommodations on a 5 acre beachfront property ideally suited to the business traveler looking for a little something extra with their stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing