We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to a favorite place”
Review of The Caldwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caldwell House
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was our second visit to the Caldwell but a first for my sister-in-law. We were in Louisiana to celebrate a 60th birthday and could not resist spending a night at this wonderful B&B. We were warmly greeted by Miss Carolyn and made to feel right at home. We were the only guests that evening and with the place to ourselves we settled right in enjoying drinks on the beautiful porch with the fans casting a gentle breeze. We're from Canada so delighted in the very warm temperatures and since we were on vacation enjoyed slowing down to enjoy our surroundings. We were close enough to walk downtown to Dupuy's for an excellent dinner and strolled back to the Caldwell just as the sun was setting. The next morning we woke the wonderful smells coming from the kitchen and a scrumptious breakfast prepared by Miss Tammy. We highly recommend this charming and warm B&B where you can just sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeDonna1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

My family & I were amazed by the Caldwell House! It's a beautiful home surrounded by beautiful gardens ~ a great place for a peaceful, relaxing getaway!! The hospitality was excellent! The breakfast was delicious esp the pecan praline French toast!!! The bedrooms are all beautiful, the Evangeline Master Suite being my favorite! :) Can't wait to go back!!! Thanks Carolyn & The Caldwell House crew for such an amazing experience! :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorettagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I reserved a room at The Caldwell House for a long weekend getaway. The grounds were picturesque and the accomodations exceeded our expectations. The house was amazing, rich with architecture and history. And the staff went above and beyond to create a warm, and hospitable stay. The customer service was most noteworthy. Although we were in Abbeville visiting friends, we have already talked about returning to Abbeville solely for the opportunity to stay at The Caldwell House again. I would recommend this B&B to a couple looking for a getaway or a family. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aubrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The only reason I gave 5 stars to The Caldwell is because they don't have 6 stars! We were in Abbeville for some weekend birthday activities hosted here & from the time we checked in on Friday until we left on Sunday, the experience at The Caldwell was nothing short of amazing! Party accommodations for 80-125 people on a Sat eve? Not a problem, the accommodations for outside catering & musicians ran smooth as silk! The covered & protected atrium outside handled the main stage perfectly when the evening turned a little "blustery". The rest of the time (Fri, Sat morn & Sun) we were able to enjoy "The Caldwell Experience". If you are a morning person, the east side of the grounds has a sitting area to "wake up" in & enjoy your morning coffee as you prepare for one of the best breakfast dining pleasures you will ever have. I don't know what YOU will have in the mornings, but based on our experiences, you will be more than pleased!! With the wrap around front & side porch and the beautiful grounds, any time of the day is perfect for relaxation. Mae, Carolyn and all of the staff are superb & you instantly feel like part of the family! A BIG Thank You to The Caldwell and all the staff for one of the best "get away" weekends we have ever had! We will be back! Preston & Marsha

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

What can be said about The Caldwell House that has not been said before? In reading past reviews, I knew that this place & particularly the people who make it all work, were special. I had been anticipating my stay there for several months as I was planning to attend my 30th high school reunion in the last week of October. However, my expectations were surpassed from the first moment I was welcomed into the Caldwell. Mae, Carolyn & Gretchen are overflowing with southern hospitality and charm. I fell in love with them instantly!

Even more important than the physical property, accommodations or amenities (more about that later), I found the atmosphere and hospitality to be soothing and rejuvenating all at once! How you "felt" in a place, in my opinion, is what you take with you long after your departure. Quite frankly, the Caldwell has it all!

The breakfast was to die for, do you hear!!! Each morning I thought, "It can't GET better than this", and the next morning, I was proven wrong. Delicious, expertly presented, delicious, visually appealing, delicious, lovingly prepared & served and did I mention DELICIOUS???
My room was a perfect blend of modern luxuries and old world charm. The enveloping cloud of a bed that I slept on.....I promise you, if I had not planned so many activities that weekend, I would have rarely left it. The rest of the home is exquisitely designed & decorated with warm earthy undertones showcased with luxurious furnishings and memorable artwork, all of which create a comfortable elegance that permeates the entire property.
The grounds were lush and inviting with soothing water features, inspiring stonework and citrus trees dripping with fruit. I enjoyed coffee with old friends on the wrap around porch one afternoon & I was transported back in time, when "visiting" was an anticipated event instead of something you squeezed in between the "important stuff". Thoroughly enjoyable!

Thanks to Mark & Darlene Frederick (owners of The Caldwell) who hosted our class for an after-party. The venue and execution were perfection. What a wonderful environment for relaxing with old friends, re-living old memories and making new ones. The evening could not have been more spectacular.

I could go on, but I'll leave room for the next lucky person who stays there.
Bottom line: BRAVO Caldwell House and Merci!!!

Mitzi Romanelli
Colorado Springs, Colorado

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyB46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Me and my wife wanted a nice get away n this was the perfect spot. The room was cozy with the fireplace and the bed was soft. The staff was very nice Carolyn and Gretchen and the breakfast was AWESOME!!!

THANKS,
Goree and Gretchen

Room Tip: All Rooms were nice Masters downstairs has a WHIRLPOOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here for our annual B& B Anniversary weekend. The home was absolutely beautiful and the staff were top-notch. We had a blustery, rainy day one of our days, but we had the whole house to ourselves, as luckily, the only scheduled guests. That day we had a relaxing time, sipping tea and coffee, reading by the fireplace, and didn't even miss going outdoors. The food was delicious, and Mae and Carol made us feel very welcome and comfortable. When the weather finally cleared we enjoyed exploring the quaint town and beautiful old church in the town square.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvedec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abbeville hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunbelt Lodge
Sunbelt Lodge
#4 of 6 in Abbeville
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Best Western Abbeville Inn & Suites
3 mi away
Motel 6 Abbeville
Motel 6 Abbeville
#3 of 6 in Abbeville
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Abbeville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caldwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caldwell House

Address: 105 E Vermilion St, Abbeville, LA 70510-4709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeville
Price Range: £79 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caldwell House is a 100 year old historic home located 2 blocks from Downtown Abbeville, La., which offers luxury accommodations in oversized rooms with private baths. Deep wrap-around porch overlooks a courtyard and tropical garden. The Caldwell House also serves as an elegant, intimate setting for weddings, receptions and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing