We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful, comfortable experience!”
Review of The Caldwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caldwell House
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbeville B&B and Inns
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a beautiful, comfortable experience!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Caldwell for almost a week, and had the most perfect restful, fun and luxurious experience! The room spaciousness and décor was top notch, very tasteful, the bed so very comfortable and the hospitality just the very best I've ever experienced. It was like visiting family in a beautiful, stately Victorian home. We had lazy morning coffees on the large porch every morning- with a beautiful view of the magnolias and ferns ,.then ate ourselves silly on Carolyn's fabulous breakfasts. Can hardly wait to go back!!

Room Tip: They are all exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
35
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at The Caldwell House!!! The seven of us ranged from 2 to 83 years young, and Carolyn could not have made us feel more welcome!!! The rooms were charming and the breakfasts were delicious. Luckily, no one was married on this trip, but another family was having a wedding the day we left for the Big Easy. We can't imagine a better place to stay in Abbeville, or the entire State of Louisiana. If you're looking for seafood, Dupuy's and Shucks we're outstanding!!! Be sure to sample all the oysters. When we return,Carolyn has asked that we bring her a box of Round Rock donuts from Texas.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EarlMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were able to stay at the Caldwell recently and was very pleased with the House and
Carolyn our hostess. She went out of her way to make us feel welcome. But the best
was her breakfast. My two friends and I were traveling around southern Louisiana
judging cities for Louisiana's Cleanest City Contest. The Caldwell is a keeper!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Caldwell House is a lovely, gracious residence in a beautiful section of town. Breakfast is absolutely scrumptious. Miss Carolyn, the Manager, as well as Gretchen, made us feel so much at home, and suggested places to visit. The Caldwell House is within walking distance of Shuck's - a superb seafood restaurant. We spent 4 fabulous days in Abbeville. Our stay at the Caldwell House was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Only one room has a king size bed. The others have queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had the honour of staying at this beautiful hotel in March of this year.
Our son was getting married to a lovely lady from Abbeville and they chose the Caldwell House hotel as the venue for their marriage. Seven Brits decended upon this hotel and from the minute we arrived to be greeted by Mae and Carolyn, our stay was luxury itself. The bedrooms are marvellous, very in keeping with the style of the Old Colonial House. Carolyn, the Manager....what a lovely lady...could not have been more helpful having a lovely hot breakfast ready for our party each morning. The Hotel offers bed and breakfast only but there are a number of restaurants to eat in Abbeville, Dupreys being one which we can thoroughly recommend. With our side of the family residing in England, the wedding planning was handled mainly by the brides family but with the excellent help of Mae the wedding planner. The wedding was beautiful and we couldn't have done it without Maes help who was there throughout the wedding in case she was needed. My sons wedding ceremony was held outside although in case of bad weather the Caldwell House has a beautiful interior.There is also a lovely hairdressers across the road which also offers a make up service, this we can highly recommend! A marvellous venue for a wedding with plenty of Louisiana hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coushatta la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My daughter was recently married at the Caldwell House in November of 2012. The Brides side of the family was from North Louisiana and we rented rooms at the Caldwell and found luxurious accommodations with excellent staff and gourmet breakfasts. We became sold on the Caldwell after attending a Bridal fair there in the Spring of 2012. Their secret ingredient seems to be a built in wedding planner, although they don't call themselves that. Since the mother of the bride was from North Louisiana while the bride was in South Louisiana, having a wedding coordinator looking into all of those little details was a huge stress relief for all concerned. All of the vendors we used for food, cake, music, bar, flowers and photography go through a trial to become accepted vendors used at the Caldwell. It was reassuring to know that the cake would be their on time, the D.J. would have the right music, the photographer was not known to be a no-show, and that the live flowers would be alive. The food and bar service were top notch. I could not recommend them more highly. Sincerely, Pam Gates ( Mother of the Bride)

Room Tip: Everyone enjoyed their stay. All rooms were luxurious. We rented the entire house. The fancy white r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My son recently got married at The Caldwell and had his reception there. This was by far a most wonderful venue for such an ocassion. The staff was wonderful, the house and grounds were top notched and I can't begin to say enough of Mae. She handled everything with the utmost care to details. I was so very pleased that my son and daughter-in-law picked this place to have their wedding. I would highly recommend The Caldwell to anyone looking for a place for an event or just a stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAB131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeville
3.0 mi away
Best Western Abbeville Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
19.2 mi away
Bois Des Chenes Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Sunbelt Lodge
Sunbelt Lodge
#4 of 6 in Abbeville
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caldwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caldwell House

Property: The Caldwell House
Address: 105 E Vermilion St, Abbeville, LA 70510-4709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caldwell House is a 100 year old historic home located 2 blocks from Downtown Abbeville, La., which offers luxury accommodations in oversized rooms with private baths. Deep wrap-around porch overlooks a courtyard and tropical garden. The Caldwell House also serves as an elegant, intimate setting for weddings, receptions and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing