We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Caldwell House is Spectacular.”
Review of The Caldwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caldwell House
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2009

The house served us well for our Wedding Rehearsal Dinner. Mae took care of all the details and made our event special. Having to make these arrangements long distance (Colorado), I want to assure you Mae is excellent and The Caldwell House is spectacular. Our kids also spent the night in the honeymoon suite. What a beautiful and memorable place.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebrina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for The Caldwell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

This is my first stay at The Caldwell, but it will not be my last. Mae greeted me at the door and made my stay very comfortable. Guests are given easy and safe access to the house. Rooms are spacious, amenities are plentiful, and hospitality is great! I will definitely stay again and will recommend this Bed and Breakfast to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaceful_spirit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

If u want a romantic getaway or just a great place to stay, I highly recommend the Caldwell house. Mae, the property's manager, was great!! We felt totally at home at this gorgeous property. So, if u want to get out of the doghouse with the significant other or just want a great place to get away from it all, go to the Caldwell!!

Stayed: February 2009
Thank vdubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We loved the Caldwell, especially the Manager Mae. The location was great for our trip to the Tobasco Factory as well as great locations for dinner in Lafayette. Great breakfast, friendly warm place. Great overall hotel, A+++ we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank willgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We stayed at this B & B after having been on a houseboat for two excellent days in Henderson so we welcomed the comfort this superb lodging offered. Indeed the attention to detail was charming as was our host, Mae Mayeux. We were welcomed and, to our joy, so were our children. We had our aperitif in the drawing room and played games with the children before going out to dinner. An excellent breakfast was served before we left the following morning and a we were personally sent off with a wave and many happy memories of our Thanksgiving trip to Louisiana.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank active_familyHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

I won a free night in the honeymoon suite at the Caldwell at a bridal show in Lafayette. Little did I know just how great of a gift it would end up being!

Our wedding reception was in Abbeville so heading to Caldwell immediately afterwards was perfect. My husband went by that morning to pick up our key and check in. The entire suite was so beautiful! And the bed was really comfortable! This was a great way to begin our married life together. The entire house has been restored so beautifully; no detail was overlooked.

I highly recommend staying here if you get the chance!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soontobemrsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Caldwell House during the weekend of the Omelette Festival. The Inn is absolutely gorgeous and Mae made us feel like we were old friends, though we'd never met her before. Our large room was beautiful and so inviting. Relaxing on the side porch in the swing was like heaven. Though our time at the Caldwell house was short, it was just what we needed to reenergize ourselves. We both look forward to going back sometime.

Mary and Allen Robichaud, Woonsocket, RI

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gourmetgateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeville
3.0 mi away
Best Western Abbeville Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
19.2 mi away
Bois Des Chenes Bed and Breakfast
14.4 mi away
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Lafayette
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caldwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caldwell House

Address: 105 E Vermilion St, Abbeville, LA 70510-4709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeville
Price Range: £81 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caldwell House is a 100 year old historic home located 2 blocks from Downtown Abbeville, La., which offers luxury accommodations in oversized rooms with private baths. Deep wrap-around porch overlooks a courtyard and tropical garden. The Caldwell House also serves as an elegant, intimate setting for weddings, receptions and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing