We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The comfort of a home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caldwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caldwell House
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbeville B&B and Inns
New York, NY
1 review
“The comfort of a home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

At The Caldwell House, your every need is attended to with comfort and ease by Mae and her competent staff. This is truly a gentle gem in Cajun Louisiana. There is personalized service in a grand old home that has been renovated to a beautiful B&B with a seasonal garden. Ideal for family reunions, weddings and intimate get aways. It is elegent, yet warm with delicious breakfasts! It is worth the trip to Abbeville just to stay at The Caldwell! I look forward to an excuse to return to Louisiana and The Caldwell.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
33
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

There aren't enough kind word to describe The Caldwell and the manager, Mae. The house is lovely, and the rooms are spacious, beautifuly decorated, and immaculate. Mae was most welcoming, and made us feel right at home. I stayed with an infant, and although The Caldwell is not set up for infants, Mae was very helpful and willing to work with us. Our stay could not have been better. Stellar experience all around.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bklynwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

MS. MAE
I cannot begin to thank you for the beautiful day we spent at the Caldwell House in the
Bridal Suite for my daughters wedding day..Everything was wonderful the snack tray
the mimosa. I haven't seen the pictures yet but i cannot wait.My daughter and her
bridal party were very pleased with everything. A very comfortable setting where all the
brides-maids , mothers of the bride and groom could all get dressed and ready for the
wedding..You took care of everything from e-mailing me to ensure that day would be very
special...AND IT WAS......THANK YOU

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisianaNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, CO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

The house served us well for our Wedding Rehearsal Dinner. Mae took care of all the details and made our event special. Having to make these arrangements long distance (Colorado), I want to assure you Mae is excellent and The Caldwell House is spectacular. Our kids also spent the night in the honeymoon suite. What a beautiful and memorable place.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebrina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

This is my first stay at The Caldwell, but it will not be my last. Mae greeted me at the door and made my stay very comfortable. Guests are given easy and safe access to the house. Rooms are spacious, amenities are plentiful, and hospitality is great! I will definitely stay again and will recommend this Bed and Breakfast to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceful_spirit_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

If u want a romantic getaway or just a great place to stay, I highly recommend the Caldwell house. Mae, the property's manager, was great!! We felt totally at home at this gorgeous property. So, if u want to get out of the doghouse with the significant other or just want a great place to get away from it all, go to the Caldwell!!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
Thank vdubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

We loved the Caldwell, especially the Manager Mae. The location was great for our trip to the Tobasco Factory as well as great locations for dinner in Lafayette. Great breakfast, friendly warm place. Great overall hotel, A+++ we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank willgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbeville
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abbeville Inn & Suites
16.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Iberia-Avery Island
1.2 mi away
Sunbelt Lodge
Sunbelt Lodge
#4 of 6 in Abbeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Motel 6 Abbeville
Motel 6 Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#3 of 6 in Abbeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caldwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caldwell House

Property: The Caldwell House
Address: 105 E Vermilion St, Abbeville, LA 70510-4709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caldwell House is a 100 year old historic home located 2 blocks from Downtown Abbeville, La., which offers luxury accommodations in oversized rooms with private baths. Deep wrap-around porch overlooks a courtyard and tropical garden. The Caldwell House also serves as an elegant, intimate setting for weddings, receptions and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing