We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”
Review of The Caldwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abbeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Caldwell House
Ranked #1 of 2 Abbeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Let me say that I have stayed in many hotels and B&B and this is the best. Mae and Carolyn treat you like family. Would come back again and again. When Mae recommends the crab cakes at Dupuy's beleive her, they are for real, excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

The Caldwell is a perfect example of Louisiana's southern hospitality. We were greeted as we stepped out the car and felt at home our entire visit. The home is beautiful, the food was great, and our experience is memorable. I couldn't have found a better place for my husband and I to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacob40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

An absolute gem of an inn. The home is a beautiful example of the grand plantation homes of the Old South. The rooms are large, well appointed without being overdone and crowded. As a reception site for an event, excellent setup and care. The details such as the beverage board upstairs makes one feel very wanted and spoiled. A secret to be shared with only your best friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillips_email
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

The Caldwell House is beautiful, and well maintained. The rooms are spotless, and not overly decorated. The night I stayed, a Sunday, I was the only guest after a busy weekend. Carolyn was so friendly and made me feel like family. Now, not only do I have a favorite spot to stay in La, but I have a couple of new friends! I highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawgwild2361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This was my second visit to The Caldwell and I was very satisfied with everything about our stay. I was with my husband, daughter, son-in law,granddaughter and close family friends. We all had an enjoyable stay and would definetly recommend this fabulous B&B to everyone. Carolyn was so friendly and fantastic we felt we were her friends. We had the same experience with Mae 2 years ago. Great food and company with the right amount of privacy to do your own thing. I loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geormasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

This is a full cultural and classy experience! The hotel is gorgeous, antique charm throughout with very comfortable and oversized rooms. I can't name a thing that was missing. You felt like you stepped back in time to the days of true Southern charm and glory. I highly encourage the Garden Room because it has the most comfy bed though every room is its own paradise! The breakfast in the morning is delicious and makes you feel like royalty. Not to mention that the staff was nothing short of wonderful and made you feel like you were family. It really was a Southern Louisiana experience. I can't wait to go back for any and every event that is anywhere near this place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violet1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Our group of family and friends filled the house. It didn't matter that we had special requests for arrival and departure or that we wanted to bring some of our own refreshments -- the staff was more than accommodating, gracious, warm and welcoming. The rooms were charmingly appointed, clean and comfortable. It did get rather warm during the night, but another family got up and adjusted the temperature. Breakfast was lovely and we wished we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baseba11_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abbeville hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ducote-Williams House
The Ducote-Williams House
#2 of 2 in Abbeville
3 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Abbeville
Days Inn Abbeville
#2 of 6 in Abbeville
58 reviews
3 mi away
Best Western Abbeville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunbelt Lodge
Sunbelt Lodge
#4 of 6 in Abbeville
13 reviews
3 mi away
Motel 6 Abbeville
Motel 6 Abbeville
#3 of 6 in Abbeville
38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Abbeville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caldwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caldwell House

Address: 105 E Vermilion St, Abbeville, LA 70510-4709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Abbeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Abbeville
Price Range: £78 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caldwell House is a 100 year old historic home located 2 blocks from Downtown Abbeville, La., which offers luxury accommodations in oversized rooms with private baths. Deep wrap-around porch overlooks a courtyard and tropical garden. The Caldwell House also serves as an elegant, intimate setting for weddings, receptions and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing