We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere”

Shucks The Louisiana Seafood
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Abbeville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Fair Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Had a great meal and service at Shucks. Would highly recommend going there for a reasonable and outstanding meal!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    69
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Never a disappointment ”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We always take "out of towners" to Shucks!!!! And always ask for Marcy!!! It's always worth the wait, and Marcy is the best in the business..."Cher my baby"

Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“HYPE!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place was on our "gotta try" list, based on marketing and location. A few friends from Abbeville, one who used to work here, thought we would prefer a different place in town, but we felt compelled to give this place a try. We started with a broiled oyster medley. It was nothing special, and not as good as the ones we do on the grill at the camp. My wife had the large Shrimp Patty plate. She said they were greasy, non-dimensional, and needed seasoning. She had the house Cane Vinaigrette, also was "missing something". I had the Seafood Platter. It was ample in content, but flat -> disappointing in preparation. The fish was done well in a seasoned fish fry. I am particular, and having grown up in the restaurant business in Houma, have my strong opinions regarding food prep. I think oysters should be fried in straight corn meal, as a mixture of flour and corn meal results in a flat tasting, feeble splotchy mess. I believe Shrimp are best done in a simple, light, seasoned flour and water batter, which doesn't get cakey and hide the flavor of the Shrimp, or a quality Beer Batter, which enhances the shrimp. Stuffed items were unremarkable.This place disappointed, and proved me right. Next time, we'll listen to our local friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Oysters ever”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

With a name like Shucks, you know oysters are on the menu. I will admit I had mine grilled, rather raw. However,they could not have been better. The shrimp and grilled catfish were wonderful, as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TankerSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“by far the best restaurant.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

this is the best restaurant in town, we stayed at Best Western Hotel in Abbeville and staff recommended us to must try shucks. we are glad they recommended us, because this was the best restaurant we ever ate at. best Cajun food ever. loved it. thank you shucks and thank you best western staff, yall made our trip awesome.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shucks The Louisiana Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Shucks The Louisiana Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing