We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off The Interstate”
Review of Camellia Cafe

Camellia Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Off The Interstate”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It will be worth your while to drive a couple miles north of I-12 to this little cafe. The food is good, plentiful, and traditional as found in south Louisiana.

Try the red beans and rice with sausage, crab cakes, or for a real treat, the fried softshell crab, if it's available.

Your waitress will be attentive and helpful. If you don't know what to order, just ask, and she will make some appropriate suggestions.

Note that the restaurant is open on Sundays until about 8:00 p.m., an unusual find in this part of the country.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shetlandskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good local cafe”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Camellia Café is located a few miles from I-12. This was our first time to visit and it certainly looked popular with the locals based on the people there at 5:45 pm on a Saturday afternoon. The place runs special every day. Today, they were serving a 8 oz. hamburger, dressed with French fries for $5 and there were a lot of people ordering it. We chose to try out other things on the menu. I started off with a cup of chicken and sausage gumbo. Although it had a little to much rice to my liking, it was very good and full of meat. My wife had the oyster and artichoke soup which was very good. The meal came with a large house salad that was very fresh. For our entrees, my wife had a fried eggplant with crab cake covered with an ettoufee sauce. This was extremely good. I had the grilled chicken with angel-hair pasta in a cream sauce. The chicken was a little overcooked and the cream sauce was uninspiring. Overall, the visit was good and we'll be back to try other fare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hortman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Travel Global, Eat Local”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We broke up our road travel between Tampa, FL and Dallas, TX and asked for a local place with good food. Camellia Cafe met our request. Plus, we "lucked out" - Weds is seafood buffet nighr. We're not normally buffet aficianados but who could resist: seafood gumbo, soft shell crab, oysters, thai shrimp and seafood bow tie pasta with a delicious cream sauce. Dessert was included but we "ate the whole thing" so no place left for dessert.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inclusion-equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Seafood any time here”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Loved the Mardi Gras decor. Lots of friendly locals were here. Our waiter Jordan was very nice and accommodating. The Seafood Basket for 2 could've easily fed 4. All fried - Catfish, oysters, shrimp, stuffed shrimp, crab cakes, hushpuppies, and toast. Side dishes we picked were Shrimp w/ Squash (just okay) and Red Beans & Rice, which I could've made a meal out of. Very casual, pleasant atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocket R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day at Camellia Cafe”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My Wife and i visited Camellia Cafe on the 15 of Febuary, after being delayed on our Valentine's "Date" . The food is excellent. The waitress was absoluted unbounded with her conversation and we hit it off with her instantly. We joked and talked about her old stomping grounds of Bayou Lafourche, which we have visited many times. She was very intent on seeing that we had an excellent interlude even if we did miss valentine's day. I had the grilled Redfish and my wife enjoyed the stuffed shrimp, which are reminiscent of Fitzgerald's on the Lake in New Orleans.. the portions are huge, we could have plit either dish and been completely satisfied. Instead, we acted very piggyfied and ate everthing. We did decline the beautiful desserts!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camellia Cafe also viewed

Abita Springs, LA
 

Been to Camellia Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing