We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Valdosta, GA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistent Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for business for 2 nights in April. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and made sure we were satisfied with our stay. With the exception of two rowdy guests late night the first night and a visit from the local police department to our floor to resolve the conflict, our stay was otherwise uneventful. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn with standard options. The room was quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBVLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and rating. I am sorry you were disturbed by unruly guests and am glad the police were able to get things under control quickly. We pride ourselves in the service we provide. Thank you for letting us know we succeeded.

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    92
    38
    26
    9
See reviews for
118
50
24
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glendora, ca
Level Contributor
382 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

a good chain with reliable rooms, especially beds we stay there off and on the location was a bit out of the way but it's hard to tell where you are staying in relationship to things you want to do
and this city is spread out in all directions with all of the bayous and such it is hard to go directly to where you want to go but we found the people always helpful the parking lot tends to fill up which makes it harder to find a space when you come back after dinner

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittGlendora_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. I agree, Alexandria does seem to be spread out. The good news is once you learn the area you can be almost anywhere in Alexandria and Pineville in 15-20 minutes. The road construction on Hwy 165 at the river does get backed up from time to time.

We are glad you find us consistent and that you can count on us. We hope to see you again soon in Alexandria.

Sincerely,

Michael Swanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The service at this hotel was great. It's been awhile since I've encountered such outstanding service. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone. Keep up the friendly service and thanks for welcoming me and my co-workers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Marvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

We appreciate your kind words. We work hard to provide exceptional service and it is good to hear about our successes.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again in Alexandria.

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Good value overall compared to some of the other mid-upper scale chains. Nice staff. Free coffee in the lobby. Nice complimentary breakfast. Complimentary drinks and snacks in the lounge on weekdays. Clean rooms and facility overall. Air conditioning system is a bit loud and for regular gym users it could be larger and upgraded with new machines

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
On behalf of the staff and management of the Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, LA, I want to thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us and we appreciate your kind words.

Please look me up next time you are in town and we will look at any noise problems you have with your A/C.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.

Sincerely,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Even if I had a car, its not a good value - expensive for what it is. I understand that Alexandria is not a major metro area, but located only 1.2 miles from the airport, its shocking that there is no hotel shuttle. Taxi can take 2 hours. If you arrive late, there may be no (was none in my case) rental cars available at airport. And add to that the rooms smelled! At least they have a happy hour!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Troy,

You have my sincerest apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us in Alexandria. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and at home when staying with us. Every member of our team hates when we fail to exceed each one of our guests’ expectations.

I agree with you that having an airport shuttle is a great amenity for our valued guests and we are in the process of adding one to our property. Currrently we are in the process of adding 32 rooms to our property and the airport shuttle will be a nice compliment to the expansion.

Please know that I have addressed housekeeping department about the smell in your room and we are taking the necessary steps to keep this from happening again.

We are glad you enjoyed our manager's reception. I ask you will try us again when you return to Alexandria. If you do, I would appreciate an opportunity to meet you in person.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to see you in Alexandria in the future and I would appreciate an opportunity to meet you. Please feel free to call me if you want to discuss this further.

Sincerely,



Michael Swanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

- the parking situation was terrible. there were days when i would have to park at the neighboring hotel and walk because of a lack of available parking spaces. - the staff member who i spoke to during check out did not actually check me out. it wasn't until days later, when i called inquiring about not receiving my bill via email yet, that i discovered that i was still checked in at the hotel. - i believe i was paying $159/night for the king suite. the room was nice, but for that price it amazes me that the place didn't even have a laundry room. i was instructed to use the hotel's nextdoor. - i intentionally left an empty water bottle on the floor of the room to see how long it would be before house keeping picked it up. it was there for about 4 days

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear David,

You have my sincerest apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us in Alexandria. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and at home when staying with us. Every member of our team hates when we fail to exceed each one of our guests’ expectations.

We are excited about our expansion and what it means to our property and to Alexandria, Louisiana. The current parking situation is temporary and a newly constructed parking lot will be completed by the end of April. I agree that a guest laundry is a great amenity and we will have one as part of our expansion.

Please know that your other issues have been addressed with the staff. I am sorry about your water bottle. We train our staff not to touch the personal belongings of our guests because it might not be trash.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to see you in Alexandria in the future and I would appreciate an opportunity to meet you. Please feel free to call me if you want to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

Michael Swanner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Quiet room and as always, awesomely comfortable beds and pillows. Hampton Inns are in the same price range as Holiday Inn Express and others - I think Hampton's are uniformly quieter and more comfortable. The breakfast is so-so, like most other hotels in this class. But great sleep!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our property and thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are many options for you when choosing a hotel and we are honored you chose us.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#5 of 24 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria Downtown
6.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria
Courtyard Alexandria
#9 of 24 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
6.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Alexandria
TownePlace Suites Alexandria
#6 of 24 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
Address: 6124 West Calhoun Drive, Alexandria, LA 71303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing