We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated hotel but still far from being rated a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

The location is good- close to the airport and within a 10 minute drive to downtown. The hotel had been redone in a modern/ contemporary decor. We booked a queen standard room. The size was adequate and bed was comfortable. The furniture had a stain (ouch) which did not make it appealing. The tub had stains in it as well. The manager knows how to be thrifty: the towels were very thin which took longer to dry oneself; the toilet paper was single ply- disintegrate as you use kind. The coffee in the lobby was watered down.
I think that $110.00 that I paid was too high of a price for what I got.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place is a complete dump. It is very misleading because from the outside it appears modern, well kept, and clean. The inside of this place is filthy. The hallways are very hot and damp-always. The carpet looks terrible. You will have to wait at least 20 minutes if you want hot water to shower with in the evenings. I have given up before and just showered with cold water because I never could get any hot water at all. The air conditioning control units have been limited so the room temperature will never get below about 72 degrees which is too hot to sleep in. The rooms are filthy and seem tp have been inhabitied by more than a few unsavory parties in the past. The bathroom floors are sticky so dont go in barefoot. This would be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at if the rate were 60/night. Even the flea bag places have hot water and the air conditioner works correctly. For what they charge here, this is the biggest rip off around. They should be ashamed of themselves. You would be very surprised to learn that this place is fairly new. It has to be the worst maintained property I have ever seen. Your room will be nasty. I can guarantee it. These other reviews giving this place high marks must have been written by the owner. Seriously. Stay away from this dump.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
2  Thank B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

This facility was excellent in every way. The lobby was beautiful and very modern. Our room was different from most hotel rooms, with a long desk along one wall, a king bed, and a sofa in front of the bed that your could use to watch TV. Very innovative design. The bed was extremely comfy and there was plenty of storage space. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was standard, but certainly enough choices for everyone to enjoy. The entire building seemed extremely clean and well maintained. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruisinCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Harahan, Louisiana, USA
1
Reviewed 26 April 2013

First stay at a LaQunta but won't be our last. They have true handicapped bathroom. Roll in shower, seat and hand held shower head. Not all hotels who advertise handicapped bath room have all of these features. Very, very clean and convenient to every thing. Staff went above and beyond helping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night for son's tournament. Location was good for us. Only king room left was a suite rm 331. Nice size rooms inclued a small kitchenette wth microwave, sink & mini-fridge. Suite included an entry w/ small table, normal bath, sitting area & bedroom. French doors to bedroom were glass without drapes so no privacy.

Sitting area had large TV, couch (not very comfortable seating) & a desk. Bedroom was good size with a TV on a dresser. Bed was fine; pillows were fluffy.

We enjoyed the outside gazebo in the evening. Pool looked clean.

Downsides: limited breakfast though they do have waffle makers. Furniture worn. Bathroom was good (& clean) except tub needed resurfacing. Window in bedroom was dripping water in sill thus AM-Condensation?

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedom_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I normally do not stay at LaQuinta, however, I was in Alexandria for pleaure and decided to stay at this hotel. It was FABULOUS. From the van driver that picked me up at the airport, to the front desk staff, even the manager was visiting with the customers at breakfast in the morning. The manager was thanking everyone for their business and making sure they were satisfied with there stay.
This was impressive. I travel rather often, and rarely do you know who the management staff is or have a direct person to compliment or compalin to if needed.
The breakfast was good with several optioins. The nearby restaurants were good. The gas station even had a BBQ restaurant that was extremely tasty. I was rather surprised how good it was.
Overall, an excellent hotel with superb staff. Will definitely stay here again when in Alexandria, LA.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on the 4th floor when I am at this hotel. I like Rooms 409 and 411. They are real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanM629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leesville, Louisiana, USA
11
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel has an awful smell the rooms are awful and for 115 dollars a night it should be better. The maintanence people took it upon themselves to wake our floor up because they decided they needed to fix every door lock up and down the hall. We told them to come back we were sleeping and they insisted there was no choice and they had to enter the room to fix this lock which to me we had paid for that room until 11 and shouldn't have had to get up for there maintanence. This was ridicoulous. We will not stay there again I promise or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Alexandria
Comfort Suites Alexandria
#6 of 24 in Alexandria
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria
3.5 mi away
Best Western Of Alexandria Inn & Suites & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Alexandria
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Pineville
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 24 in Alexandria
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport

Address: 6116 W Calhoun Dr, Alexandria, LA 71303-5067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: £59 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Alexandria Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria La Quinta
La Quinta Alexandria
La Quinta Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing