We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beatiful Ride Back in Time”

Wiscasset, Waterville and Farmington Railway Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Alna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The WW&F Railway Museum: “Rebuilding Maine History” Maine’s Wiscasset, Waterville, and Farmington (WW&F) Railway was a two-foot “narrow” gauge common carrier railroad that operated from 1894 until 1933. The line ran from Wiscasset in the south, to Albion and Winslow in the north, never making it to either Waterville or Farmington. The Great Depression brought about the railroad’s scrapping in 1937. The WW&F Railway Museum was founded in 1989 to restore and rebuild the original railroad. Today you can climb aboard our train for a ride back in time. Trains depart our Sheepscot station in Alna, Maine on Saturdays and Sundays from Memorial Day Weekend through Columbus Day Weekend at 10:30AM, 12:00PM, 1:30PM, and 3:00PM. Outside of that season, during the Spring and Fall, trains are Saturdays-Only at 10:30AM, 12:00PM, and 1:30 PM.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beatiful Ride Back in Time”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

A nice, liesurely ride through the Maine woods on an original Maine narrow gauge railway. Great for anyone who loves the outdoors, especially railfans and history buffs who can fully appreciate this gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank alcoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Wasn't sure at first that I'd enjoy this place, but I'm glad I went. We arrived in the afternoon and got on the second last ride. Loved the nice little ride through the countryside and the act the people there put on (they even have a conductor!). After the ride we checked out the workshop, and one of the men working there gave us a tour of the whole place and told us all about the trains they have there. Afterwards, we got to watch them let out the fire in the train. Overall, the experience was very positive and the staff was amazing! There's a small fee, but it's worth it! We were there for a couple hours, but it can easily be done in less than an hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank shannhugo440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip But Don't Wear White Pants”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First, you need to know a couple of things about me. I am a rail fan and I am a member of the W,W & F Railway Museum. Donna and I have visited the WW&F's Annual Picnic for the last four years. For the picnic weekend, the staff has a cookout where you can buy dogs, burgers, etc. and chat with other visitors.
The two foot gauge steam engine, #10 is fired up and makes several round trips from Sheepscot station thru Alma Center to end of track, about 2.5 miles I think. They also run their Model T inspection car, an open, 6 passenger railcar that gets jacked up and turned around when it get to thee end of track. You can help.
Every year when we visit we notice improvements the very dedicated and hard working museum members have accomplished since our last visit. They built a replica of a Turner Creamery Milk Car which was used for many years on the original railroad and is currently on display in downtown Wiscasset, Maine. It is a very interesting mini-museum.
They are restoring another steam locomotive, No. 9 which is a MAJOR undertaking but every year it is a little closer to operating again. Donna was very pleased this year with the addition of restrooms, no more port-a-potties!
As you can tell, I thoroughly enjoy visiting the WW&F and would strongly encourage you to check out their website consider joining the museum. You will enjoy their quarterly newsletter. The active museum members are very conscientious and knowledgeable. If you were to make a donation to the museum, I can assure you it would be used frugally and very much appreciated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something to do off the beaten path.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable train ride, about a 45 minute round trip. They explained that they are going to expand the track to have a longer ride.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aproza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun for all - family & railroad lovers”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The knowledgeable and friendly staff were very helpful. Reasonable cost for a lovely ride on a narrow gauge railroad. Repair shops open for touring and children can ride and power a pump-action gang car. Warning - no snacks available but you can picnic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Johns1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wiscasset, Waterville and Farmington Railway Museum also viewed

Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Wiscasset, Waterville and Farmington Railway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing