We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property with minor drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
San Antonio
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Nice property with minor drawbacks”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Appears to be a relatively new property. Hotel is next to a roundabout on a somewhat busy street. Take care of room selection if you are a light sleeper. Even though our room was a nice suite, it had no closet or anywhere else where clothes were intended to be hung. It has been a long time since I was in that situation and when it has occurred, it has been in much more of dive than a Marriott property.

Room Tip: See comments re noise and asking about a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    75
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
119
48
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stanhope, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Comfortable clean room. Lots of Room. Good Breakfast. Certainly no Complaints. I like that is is very close to a Super Walmart so you can get everything you need. We tried to get a place in Portland which would have cost an arm and a leg. This was much cheaper and a quick drive into Portland the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

For a Residence Inn, this hotel is surprisingly good. This is the third time I've stayed here and it still looks as clean and as new as when it first openend. It is no Ritz Carlton - but it provides a very nice clean room, and a good free breakfast. The people at the front desk are cheerful and helpful. It is about 1/2 an hour from Freeport Maine, and 5 minutes from Bates College. Consistently good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I will start this review by stating that I hated the colors of this hotel. A lot of reds, slightly too bright blue hallways, which were a bit overlighted. I suspect few of you will care about this, since our 2 bedroom suite had stainless steel appliances in the kitchen, faux marble counter tops and a nice two person walk in shower in the master bath. Beds were quite comfortable. I did not care for the modern living room couch or modern relaxer lounge chair, but its possibe that most you will LIke these, as well. This mid-rise Residence Inn serves a full decent self serve breakfast in the bright lobby downstairs. I found this all quite comfortable, just not very homey or particularly upscale. But, again, if you have travelled with this chain, you should find this Residence to your likeing. We asked for and received a Bates COllege rate(my son was visiting in the morning) .and this beat AAA oR sENIOR

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goaroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We only stayed 1 night as we were visiting family in Lewiston.
We were very pleased with our room and the facilities and the staff , especially Sarah on the reception desk , were all friendly and helpful.
We didn't have breakfast although it was included as we were meeting up with family and eating with them but it certainly looked good as we were going out.
Only fault was the lack of a kettle in the room. There was a coffee maker , but as a tea drinker it was no use and I ended up heating water in a saucepan on the hob.
Would certainly stay there again .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This residence inn is newer and has nice rooms and facilities. Pool is small, typical for residence inn, but pleasant and the kids enjoyed it. Breakfast was good with eggs, sausage patties, waffles, oatmeal and other options. More fruit would have been appreciated. Coffee was mediocre.

It's in the middle of a shopping area so it's convenient for shopping, but not very convenient to the highway.

We were passing through and this was a good stopping place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I love staying at Marriott's residence inn's but to be honest this wasn't my favorite Res. Inn experience. I can understand why people choose to stay here to be near the college or for business but for a vacation I think there are probably better options. There really isn't anything to do or see in or around Auburn and Lewiston. We stayed here because we wanted to stay in a quiet hotel away from the city. Well this location is anything but quiet. It is located very close to a very busy road and from early morning until 10pm you hear constant traffic noise and many many loud motorcycles with LOUD mufflers. I am not kidding. If you don't like continual loud motorcycles then stay elsewhere. It was not to be believed. The only good thing was that usually by 11pm the traffic died down. The hotel was fairly quiet at night except for one saturday night. A very loud group was partying in their car in the parking lot right under my window for 1 hour. I had to call the front desk. The management did take care of the problem within 10 minutes. The hotel was clean and the housekeeping staff was pretty good. Some of the staff is not very friendly. One man was pretty nasty to my husband at breakfast twice. The breakfast isn't as good as other res. inn's that I have been to. No fresh fruit, limited cereal selection. Nacho night looked pretty skimpy too. A wilted salad with a few nachos and cheese. There is a tiny mall across the street which looked empty. There is a wal-mart and a kohl's right down the road and many restaurants which include a steakhouse, ruby tuesday, fridays and buffalo wild wings. There is also a place called Heidi's brooklyn deli. I would recommend this place. They make fresh sandwiches, salads, and wraps to order. They have breakfast and great desserts. If you stay here and you want to see beautiful places in Maine you have to drive pretty far. There is a nice Lake which is close by so if you are coming here to use the lake I guess you would be happy. I chose this hotel because of the great reviews on trip advisor. Sorry to say that I can't give it more than an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank napagirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
3.9 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Address: 670 Turner St, Auburn, ME 04210-5254
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn, in Auburn, ME, is a 100-suite hotel offering all-suite accommodations ranging from studios to 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites. Our Auburn extended-stay hotel's specialty is hosting business and leisure travelers for long-term stays, but we are perfect for short visits to Auburn. All stays include complimentary breakfast buffet courtesy of our Gate House. Also, we invite you to enjoy a complimentary dinner available on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. Our indoor pool area is open daily from 6am to 11pm. An outdoor barbecue and fire pit are also available. Meeting space on the property if perfect if you're thinking of having a meeting or a social gathering. Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn is surrounded by local shopping and restaurants... many within walking distance. When you're considering a stay in the Lewiston/Auburn area... think of Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing