We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I chose this location due to it's location close to Portland and the fact it was a suite with a nearly full kitchen. Besides a bit of wear and tear, I was pleased with the room and it's style.

it's very conveniently located next to restaurants and big strores you can walk to (Kohl's, Lowes, Shaws, Walmart Supercenter).

Details to remember, there is no oven, bring cisors if needed and the breakfast is typical of a Residence Inn (which wasn't to my liking).
Another detail that would be easy for the hotel to fix is all the spiders hanging out the windows (which you can open in your room) and around the entrances.

These details aside, I would recomend.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie_c_vfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

I was on a trip to Halifax and stopped here on my first night after flying into Manchester, NH. The actually hotel is OK. It appears to be a newer type RI and everything seemed to work ok in the room. The bed seemed a little cheap but I slept OK. The television had some really poor reception and no high definition channels so that was something I was very aware of and disappointed in. When I checked out in the AM, the breakfast was not that good. I have stayed at some really great RIs around the country and the breakfast at this one was below average. The eggs were horrible but they did have boiled eggs so at least there was something they couldn't screw up. There was also no meat. I don't think I would stay here again if I happen to be in there area. I would probably push up north a bit to Augusta Maine and stay at Fairfield Inn or Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Yea, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daf62757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This hotel is the best in the Auburn Maine area. There are many chain restaurants within walking distance, including Buffalo Wild Wings, Ruby Tuesday TGIFridays, and Longhorns. Also close by are Starbucks and Wal-Mart. This is within a half hour drive from the newly opened Oxford Casino, Maine's 2nd casino. The Hotel is calm and quiet. All rooms are suites and they all have kitchenettes. There are nightly manager's activities planned during the week, such as BBQ or nacho night. I am impressed with the quietness of the rooms. I am always surprised when we go to breakfast to see the number of people that stayed overnight as we usually don't hear much noise in our suite. The pool is clean and the hot tub is very relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEAN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We returned to this Hotel after our excellent stay in 2010. We enjoyed hospitality for 6 nights. Very friendly welcome by desk staff . We got a very spacious feather free and clean 2 bedroom suite on the 4th floor at the back of the Hotel well protected from street noise. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool a lot, although the floor was a little ruff that caused some toes and noses to be bruises a little. Warm breakfast buffet was greatly enjoyed. Conveniently located and only 3 miles from Bates College where i attend a conference. A 10 min drive up turner street was a small beach ideal for afternoon picnic. A 30 min drive north to pleasant pond and the great outdoors gave us a beautiful afternoon of kayaking, volley ball and swimming. Walking trails can be found at the thorn bird sanctuary and the poland spring park. 30 min drive to the south is main wild life zoo in gray with many american animals (mountain lion, bear, moose etc)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikej16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We just love staying at this hotel. It is perfect for staying there with our 2 and 5 yr old sons. We always request 1st floor, by pool and most importantly a corner room. We have found these to be bigger and the set up of them is a lot better for us. As a bonus, we only have 1 room next door to worry about when the kids get loud. Our room had a stainless steal fridge, microwave, dishwasher, stove and oven. Plus love the granite counter tops. Plenty of room for the kids to sleep in the living room while we are in the bedroom. Makes it easier for us to get away from the kids for a little break instead of being cramped in one small room. Always get a great night sleep and wake up refreshed. Rooms are always spotless. Pool was nice and refreshing. I like how it has a bigger shallow area so our 5 yr old can touch for a longer time. Was cool, but was refreshing and felt nice. Hot tub was hot.....the perfect temp. Breakfast was very good. We got there just before they were going to shut down, but was able to get everything we wanted. And nothing got cleaned up or taken away until we were done which was very nice. While there we saw Chris who used to work at the front desk but was dressed more like a manager now. He said hi to us and welcomed us back. Was nice to be remembered. We've stayed here numerous times and will def be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom24kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Appears to be a relatively new property. Hotel is next to a roundabout on a somewhat busy street. Take care of room selection if you are a light sleeper. Even though our room was a nice suite, it had no closet or anywhere else where clothes were intended to be hung. It has been a long time since I was in that situation and when it has occurred, it has been in much more of dive than a Marriott property.

Room Tip: See comments re noise and asking about a room with a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otto W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Comfortable clean room. Lots of Room. Good Breakfast. Certainly no Complaints. I like that is is very close to a Super Walmart so you can get everything you need. We tried to get a place in Portland which would have cost an arm and a leg. This was much cheaper and a quick drive into Portland the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
6.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
24.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn

Address: 670 Turner St, Auburn, ME 04210-5254
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £81 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn, in Auburn, ME, is a 100-suite hotel offering all-suite accommodations ranging from studios to 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites. Our Auburn extended-stay hotel's specialty is hosting business and leisure travelers for long-term stays, but we are perfect for short visits to Auburn. All stays include complimentary breakfast buffet courtesy of our Gate House. Also, we invite you to enjoy a complimentary dinner available on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. Our indoor pool area is open daily from 6am to 11pm. An outdoor barbecue and fire pit are also available. Meeting space on the property if perfect if you're thinking of having a meeting or a social gathering. Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn is surrounded by local shopping and restaurants... many within walking distance. When you're considering a stay in the Lewiston/Auburn area... think of Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing