We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Residence Inn Standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I stay at Residence Inns whenever we can. They are clean, comfortable, and enjoyable properties. We have stayed at the Residence Inn in Auburn on 2 occasions. Last year, we had a wonderful experience. This year, we stayed for 4 nights and our experience was not the same. What it boils down to is service. We found the staff a bit unfriendly to say the least. One evening, when we arrived back from a day in Portland, we found that our room had not been serviced. The bed wasn't made and the towels were not replaced. This wasn't a big deal for us, mistakes happen. When we called the front desk I told the clerk that we didn't need the bed made, all we would need would be a fresh supply of towels. The lady on the phone was abrupt and told me that she would report this the next day. I told her that we didn't want to make a big deal about this; all we wanted were some towels. She said that she would have some sent up. Later that evening this same person arrived with 2 towels. This was fine, but we asked if we could also have a few washcloths. In a terse tone she said that washcloths were not requested.

The property is great - mostly because all Residence Inns tend to be great. For me, service is everything. Being pleasant is everything. I don't think that some of the people who work in this hotel are happy with their jobs. Even the man in charge of breakfast was abrupt and at times a bit frustrated with what he was doing.

We will always opt for Residence Inns, however, in the future; we will bypass Auburn in favour of Portland. Service and friendly staff are almost as important to us as cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3,003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband & I stayed in several Residence Inn's during our 2 month vacation in USA & Canada & I'm sad to say that this did not live up to the usual Marriott standard. We had a 1 bedroom suite - which was excellent. We particularly liked that there was a toilet outside the bedroom which made it easily accessible if using the sofa bed. The bed & sofa were comfortable & the suite well furnished, complete with kitchen. However, we found that the staff were sloppy both in appearance and in service. The only staff member who presented in a professional manner was the gentleman in a dark suit who checked us out on day of departure; perhaps the office/duty manager? The complimentary dinner was awful - thin soup and one or two lettuce leaves & the breakfast was less than ordinary. Such a shame as we generally enjoy the complimentary dinner after a long day's travel - not so this time. I have rated it Very Good because of the comfortable rooms. There is a shopping centre close by and we dined at Ruby Tuesday's across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Nice hotel near lots of food and shopping. Always had hot coffee in the lobby and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were the typical fare, but the service from the kitchen is noteworthy. Everyone was cheerful and insisting you had a nice stay. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianchikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We (family of 4) had a two bedroom suite that was very enjoyable. The room was smartly decorated, kitchen was very nice, lots of detail in the decoration. the suite had two bathrooms, which worked out well. did not use the pool or exercise areas, but they looked very clean and well maintained. breakfast was great selection, healthy choices available. the grounds crew did a

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie_the_Litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I just loved this hotel and it ranks as my top place of 2013, maybe ever. Stayed in a huge suite, beautifully decorated, sooo nice and comfortable, with perfect everything. The only downside was booking there for just one night. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a hockey tournament that was down the street. The hotel was convenient, clean, and relatively inexpensive. It seems that they are new to the tournament scene, but they should get used to it quick as the dual ice arena is brand new.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank JSiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while in town for a family event. Accommodations were obtained on short notice. Staff was very accommodating. Room was spacious and clean. Two things kept it from getting 5 stars. The bed was a bit firm for my liking and on the first day of our visit housekeeping came while we were at breakfast and we had to work around them to get out the door on time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ginny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
6.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
24.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn

Address: 670 Turner St, Auburn, ME 04210-5254
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £81 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn, in Auburn, ME, is a 100-suite hotel offering all-suite accommodations ranging from studios to 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom suites. Our Auburn extended-stay hotel's specialty is hosting business and leisure travelers for long-term stays, but we are perfect for short visits to Auburn. All stays include complimentary breakfast buffet courtesy of our Gate House. Also, we invite you to enjoy a complimentary dinner available on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays. Our indoor pool area is open daily from 6am to 11pm. An outdoor barbecue and fire pit are also available. Meeting space on the property if perfect if you're thinking of having a meeting or a social gathering. Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn is surrounded by local shopping and restaurants... many within walking distance. When you're considering a stay in the Lewiston/Auburn area... think of Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Auburn Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing