We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queen Anne Delight”
Review of The Munroe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Munroe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Mark and Sharon made us feel right at home and loved sharing the history of their beautiful inn. The house has all the original woodwork and stained glass and is tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques that fit the period and architecture of the house.

Everybody in our party had a comfortable night's sleep and found the breakfast to be quite good. Mark made sure to fulfill my husband's requests for the carb-loaded breakfast he needed to set off for his bicycle ride from Auburn ME to Rockport ME.

Everybody in our party of four loved this B&B and would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Front rooms have beautiful stained glass and get cheery morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSpreitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

This is a restored Inn with great wood work and a warm cozy fire. The food is very good and the Host could not have been more accommodating. I loved the stain glass in the suite. I will return when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosario1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Munroe Inn. Dave and Melanie went out of their way to make sure our visit was comfortable. Everything from the food to the accommodations was five stars. The Inn itself has been beautifully and tastefully restored. Our room was large, comfortable, and air conditioned. Imagine having stain glass windows in your large bathroom that pickup the morning sunlight. The beautiful antique furniture that Dave and Melanie have assembled highlights the historic background of this Inn. You don't want to miss staying here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I never give a 10 but this place had great rooms, great comfort, great food and great location.
If I lived in Auburn I would use this place for family gatherings. Warm and Welcoming are the words that best describe what they have created here. If I had known they have wireless I would have taken my laptop for photo processing. Quite rooms, wonderful food, everything we needed to visit the balloon festival.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

When we started planning the intimate party for my mother, we considered many upscale venues, mainly in Portland, Maine because we assumed Portland would provide the most elegant venue options. We were 100% mistaken. We were pleasantly surprised to find the Munroe Inn in Auburn, just a 25-min drive from Portland. The Munroe Inn offered more of what we were looking for in every way: aesthetics, space to socialize, and collaboration with our other vendors. We were able to create the party to our specifications and it was fabulous. The details in the Inn made is feel like we were in the time period of the original home and set a warm and inviting mood. The dinner was terrific and the service was great. We will absolutely host more parties there in the future. Who imagined that such a gem could be found in Auburn, Maine? If you want to create a memory that your guests will talk about for years to come, host an event at the Munroe Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I am not generally a fan of B&Bs , but the Munroe Inn and it's lovely owners made me a believer. Everything was as good as it gets. Spotless, quiet -- and everything worked. Plenty of hot water, good coffee and a lovely host and hostess to make sure you have everything you need. In our case, they really put out 110%. During an unexpected business emergency, they printed our document, sent us to the right place to send it out and had breakfast waiting when we got back. The Inn has been beautifully restored to the period with attention to every detail. If you are anywhere in the area, make it a destination. It's worth a special stop!

Room Tip: The big room on the second floor. Glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Melanie and Dave have created a unique and beautiful bit of grandeur in Auburn, ME. They have filled the home with antiques and preserved the architectural features of the house. It feels warm and welcoming and they are the perfect hosts to reflect the beauty of the house. Whether you are staying for a quiet get away, to visit one of the colleges in the area, or to relax after a day of business, this is the most serene place around. A real jewel!
Susan and Tony Kossiakoff

Room Tip: I loved the stained glass windows with the sun streaming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at the Agora
Inn at the Agora
#1 of 3 in Lewiston
91 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wolf Cove Inn
Wolf Cove Inn
#1 of 2 in Poland
180 reviews
8.2 mi away
Poland Spring Resort
Poland Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Poland Springs
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Munroe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Munroe Inn

Address: 123 Pleasant Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: £94 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Munroe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical Inn in Central Maine nestled in a quiet downtown neighborhood of Lewiston-Auburn twin cities. We offer first-class gourmet breakfast, comfortable beds, all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Munroe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing