We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Victorian Inn, Ultra Clean, and Wonderful Hosts”
Review of The Munroe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Munroe Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Victorian Inn, Ultra Clean, and Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife & I stayed one night in late June 2013. Hosts are very welcoming and very interesting people. The house is a newly renovated Victorian full of antiques and woodwork. Spotlessly clean! Pressed sheets! Large rooms. Great mattresses. Bed was so high, my feet couldn't reach the floor! We had A/C in our room which worked great. Off-street parking. Quiet. Breakfast was "over the top". Reasonably priced. If you like antiques & Victorians, you have to stay at the Munroe!

Room Tip: If you like stained glass, let your hosts know. The room we stayed in had a great stained glass win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenandJanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
25
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The beds at the Munroe Inn are exceptional with crisp, clean linens and beautiful coverings. The breakfast prepared personally by the owners, Dave and Melanie, is tailored to meet the needs of their guests and is delicious. The plus is the event preparation and execution done by the owners. They will host weddings, breakfasts, dinners, and parties for a variety of occasions with the same level of excellence they put into the day to day operations of this beautiful property. We just completed our third visit to this lovely B & B and we loved it as much on visit 3 as we did on the first two. No matter the season, we've been there in October, August, and March, there are always exciting day trips to take from this central point in the state and you just can't beat the hospitality offered by the owners or the meticulously maintained historical beauty of this home. The Maria suite with personal verandah and beautiful stained glass window bathroom is our favorite, very large and accommodating for a long or short stay, but all the suites are gorgeous with their own unique personalities.

Room Tip: Maria suite is our favorite, large bedroom / sitting area, personal verandah, and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLSadieMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York PA
Level Contributor
348 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at a lovely Victorian Bed and Breakfast. Dave and Melanie were fabulous hosts. The house is as close to going back in time as you can get. Breakfasts were delicious and Melanie actually gave my husband a couple of the receipes. We stayed in the Maria Suite the bed was extremely comfortable with a canopy that gave us a view of a beautiful Summer sky.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

This was my first stay at a Bed and Breakfast and I wasn't quite sure what to expect. What I got was a lovingly restored, historic home owned by a family who welcome visitors to their home. Melanie and Dave are wonderful hosts! The house is beautiful! Dinner and breakfast were delicious and elegant! I went home an took out the good china to use every day!!! The atmosphere was very relaxed, oh and did I mention how comfortable the bed was? I can't remember the last time I slept that well! The next time I need a quick break from the every day, I'll be back to The Munroe Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoMaineMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I can not say enough nice,good,great things about The Munroe Inn. I "LOVED" the house We didn't want to leave. The room was wonderful we loved the" Maria Suite". Melanie & Dave were the best,friendlist, nicest people you could have asked for Innkeepers. It was like we had known them forever. I didn't want to leave to come back to Georgia. I have told everyone that if they don't go anywhere but to The Munroe Inn they need to take a trip there some day!! We plan to come back and stay longer the next time. I wish them both all the best for many years to come. I would have loved to have moved the house to Georgia and lived in it myself. Melanie had the best breakfast for us each morning and her afternoon pumpkin bread was great also. Nothing bad at all about The Munroe Inn or Melanie or Dave!! ( More than a 5 star Inn)

Room Tip: All the rooms were nice & great , The Maria Suite had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs , it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Mark and Sharon made us feel right at home and loved sharing the history of their beautiful inn. The house has all the original woodwork and stained glass and is tastefully decorated with beautiful antiques that fit the period and architecture of the house.

Everybody in our party had a comfortable night's sleep and found the breakfast to be quite good. Mark made sure to fulfill my husband's requests for the carb-loaded breakfast he needed to set off for his bicycle ride from Auburn ME to Rockport ME.

Everybody in our party of four loved this B&B and would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Front rooms have beautiful stained glass and get cheery morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSpreitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebron maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This is a restored Inn with great wood work and a warm cozy fire. The food is very good and the Host could not have been more accommodating. I loved the stain glass in the suite. I will return when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosario1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Munroe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Munroe Inn

Property: The Munroe Inn
Address: 123 Pleasant Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Munroe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical Inn in Central Maine nestled in a quiet downtown neighborhood of Lewiston-Auburn twin cities. We offer first-class gourmet breakfast, comfortable beds, all amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Munroe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing