We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Customer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have stayed at the Fireside Inn and Suites in Auburn many many times over the past few years, and we have always been very happy with our stay. Prices are very reasonable, the rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. It is a comfortable hotel, clean and has a nice outdoor pool. It is easily accessible to 95/Maine Tpk and close to both Portland and Auburn/Lewiston and many of the recreational areas. It has a gas station and a dunkin donuts near by- perfect for a hit the road morning. They also have a restaurant on site with a bar, the food is great. We have never seen any trouble there at all. I would recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Debbie C.,

Thank you for your return visits to our facility!! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with the tripadvisor community. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to our staff. We realize the numerous options you have for lodging while visiting the L/A area, so we thank you for being one of our repeat customers! We look forward to your future visits!

Hospitably yours,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed here to attend a family reunion in the area. It was a comfortable hotel, clean and had a nice outdoor pool. The staff were very friendly. We had booked two standard rooms (because we were bringing our dog and pets are allowed in the standard rooms) but we got an upgrade to a Deluxe room at no charge (we had to keep one standard room for the dog, though). It is easily accessible to 95/Maine Tpk and close to both Portland and Auburn/Lewiston and many of the recreational areas.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edjroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Edjroberts,

We hope you enjoyed your family reunion while you were in town! Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your stay with us. We love the fact that we are still able to offer pet friendly rooms for our guests! We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future and hope you enjoyed your trip to Maine.

Thanks again,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Second time I've stayed at the Fireside Inn and Suites in Auburn, and I am very happy with my stay. Prices are very reasonable, and although the hotel is a little dated, the rooms are clean and the staff is wonderful. The internet is fast enough, but I do with the continental breakfast was a little more inclusive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Dear Adamwild,

We love hearing from our repeat guests! Thank you for staying with us again on your recent visit to Lewiston/Auburn. We appreciate your comments and we will certainly look into some additional options to include with our continental breakfast. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to see you again soon!

Hospitably yours,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

How many hotels call you to tell you- you left stuff in the room and make arrangements for you to get it? The pool here is clean - it's cold but hey it's outdoors but it's very clean for a motel. The people at the front desk were delightful.

Couple of hick-ups-
1) something was delivered to the desk for me but I was never notified until check out.
2) there was only 1 key to my room - ask when you check in if having 2 keys is important to you.
3) if you have kids and plan to eat with them-note that the restaurant has a real "bar" feel to it. Ask about delivery to your room or another area of the hotel- or there is a pizza place that says it delivers.. we didn't try it but it is an option.

There are a few things they could do simply to really improve this hotel- like clean up the beer cans from the pool area each night -but it doesn't seem like the kind of place that see's many toddlers. I just went around and picked them up and put them in the trash can. But it's obvious they take good care of their pool- perhaps the guy that cleans it or replaces the towels could do it.

So what would I recommend hotel for? It is an awesome next to highway hotel option if you are headed north or south and are tired of driving. It's really far from stuff but it has a gas station and a dunkin donuts near by- perfect for a hit the road morning.

My room was quiet...

It's quite far from town so if you are attending something in downtown auburn or lewiston you'd be better to choose something closer.

I went to the bar at night (had a babysitter) and the bartender was delightful.

You have to be comfortable with truckers to go there really and enjoy the hotel. We had a lot of fun but I wouldn't have been too comfortable with my gorgeous teen-ager and toddler walking around the area alone. It's not that any one was bad or rude- it is just what it is.. It's a travelers hotel.. A really nice one-compared to the many we've seen.

We stayed there for two nights because my 20th h.s reunion was there. And the function and the facility was great for the reunion! No other night-life around so people all stayed there and we had a chance to really catch up. We had an awesome time and the hotel was perfect for our needs. If I'm just passing through in the future- it's a definite on my list if I'm looking for a quiet, comfortable environment with all the necessities for passing though (and then some).

Room Tip: ask about keys if you are going to need more than one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qualtyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Dear Qualtyk9,

We were pleased to have your group at our facility to celebrate your 20th year class reunion! We apologize for our error in failing to notify you of the pass that was dropped off at the desk for you. It was our understanding that you were aware it was dropped off and that you would be picking it up at your convenience. We will make sure this miscommunication does not happen again! Thank you for your suggestions in regards to the cleanliness around the pool. We make every effort to ensure our property is free of trash, cigarette butts and bottles. We ask that our guests make the same effort in helping keep the property clean, however it is not your responsbility to clean up after our guests! We would like to thank you for picking up the bottles you found and for notifying us of this issue. We are happy to hear that you found your room to be quiet and clean and we hope to see you all again soon!

Sincerely,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

When we booked the hotel we already knew it wasn't going to be the Ritz, but what I found even more shocking was how they grossly misrepresent the hotel online. When you look online you see a fairly new building that looks OK but that building is probably not where you will stay. This place is very proud of the fact that Muhammed Ali stayed here in 1961 and in fact it hasn't been renovated or updated sine the Champ checked out. When we showed up we were shocked when they showed us our room, in one of the "other" buildings on the property, typical "roach motel" . When I asked the girl at the front desk why I couldn't get a room in the newer building she said "well you booked online at a discount so we put you in one of the older buildings" . . . What???

The rooms in the old building don't even have A/C and in the middle of July that is just not acceptable. They compensate for this by bringing in roll away portable A/C units - are they serious?!?

Do yourself a favor and stay in Portland or bring camping gear. One of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in, and I have stayed in some pretty dumpy places in the past . . . Joe Sloboda

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

Mr. Slaboda,

I'd like to personally thank you for the criticism you have provided us with. As with all hotel properties, we are unable to correct an issue if it is not brought to our attention. We thank you for notifying us that the air conditioning unit in your specific room was not working properly. We hope you found your upgraded suite to be more comfortable than your original room. We will search all third party sites and view all pictures of our property that are posted to ensure both the motel-style and the hotel-style sections are represented well. Again, thank you for helping us improve our facility for all future travelers.

Hospitably yours,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Fine room, a little outdated but staff very nice and although the pub looked a little run down the food was amazing so don;t be put off by decor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenCharlotte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

Dear QueenCharlotte05,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pub/restaurant. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our executive chef and his team as well as our dining room servers. They will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon (and we will continue to work on the decor in the pub!).

Hospitably yours,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Super nice staff, good continental breakfast. Do not get booked into the backside motel where the truckers park. (no offense to truckers). Halls are not air conditioned, but there is a pool open 9-9. They opened it early so I could swim, which I thought was nice.

Room Tip: 2nd floor doubles are quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksBack05101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiresideAuburn, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2011

Dear JacksBack05101,

We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy the pool during your recent stay with us (the humidity was unbelievable!). Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and your room to be quiet and clean! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Jessica Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
170 reviews
5.5 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
15.4 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites

Address: 1777 Washington Street, Auburn, ME 04210
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £58 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story hotel featuring an array of room types. Fireside Inn & Suites offers large two-room suites with kitchenettes, deluxe hotel style rooms, and economically priced motel-style accommodations. Fireside Inn & Suites is conveniently located at exit 75 off the Maine Turnpike, 4 miles from downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn And Suites
Fireside Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing