We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal”
Review of Sleepy Time Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepy Time Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Deal”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stay at Sleepy Time whenever we visit our daughter at Bates. The rooms are clean, comfortable and convenient. Unlike many expensive hotels, internet at Sleepy Time is free and fast! The location is very convenient, near the Auburn freeway exit and a very short drive to Bates. Mark and Lynne, the proprietors, go out of their way to meet your needs. For example, there is a bottle of cold water for each of us waiting in the fridge and they have been very cooperative when we needed to arrive late. To top it all off, the price is very reasonable. We have stayed at Sleepy Time several times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
41
21
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This motel far exceeded our expectations. We knew it had good reviews and that is why we chose it. It was immaculate. The best bed I have ever slept on and the towels were so soft. We stayed in room # 5 which had 2 beds and everything you could ever need. Microwave, fridge, table and chairs, recliner, coffee maker and flat screen TV. The bathroom was spotless. We have family in Auburn and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiecozmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bar harbor
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2012

i loved the early am danville train.was so nice to sit out in the am and enjoy the quiet.the rooms were very clean.the owners very nice.so all and all very nice stay.

Room Tip: there is an irvings not far from motel they have what ever you may need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My son lives in Auburn and I travel to the area 4-5 times a year. I find Sleepy Time, clean, quiet and 1/2 the price of the chain hotels. Lynn and Mark are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

As a senior woman, traveling alone, I felt comfortable with the location, room, and warm welcome. A small, dated motel right out of the past but unbelievably clean and comfortable. It should be on a historic register! I would take Sleepy Time Motel any day over the big, fancy-dancy chains.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtoME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I am a seasoned traveler, with business and leisure taking me to many places in the world - I am on the road about 25-35% of the time. When traveling for business, I usually stay at generic mid-range hotels, such as the Hilton Garden, Hampton Inn, or Holiday Inn. Instinct and other reviews motivated me to book 2 nights at the Sleepy Time Motel and I am so glad I did! It is excellent value for the money, plus some. Here's what is so great:
1) It is the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in - surprising for this older vintage lodging.
2) There are many personal touches, including a list of local events, hikes, etc. It mirrors my experience of hotels that have concierge service.
The owners are wonderful (I dealt with one by email, the other in person)
3) It has a certain charm
4) It was incredibly comfortable - the towels are large and fluffy (unheard of for this level of motel), the amenities are much like what one would expect at a more expensive place. In short, it is Motel Six prices with Hilton Garden Inn comfort.

The website represents the motel perfectly. The photos show a dark room - exactly what I experienced. There is not a lot of natural light, but electric light is more than ample. However, I just spent the previous 2 days at a very dark large-chain hotel for twice the amount. The High-speed Internet was better here than at the large-chain hotel I was at.

Only real negative is the quality of the linens was not 4-stars - however, perhaps it isn't fair to spend 2 star prices and expect 4 star quality on everything.

When the windows are open, there is traffic noise, but quiet when windows are closed (there is A/C, but I liked the fresh air). I walked in the surrounding woods (trails are well-marked) and it smelled like Xmas in May - the bird songs and piney scent engaged me beyond the sounds of cars of nearby traffic.

Bottom line, even if money is not an issue, consider the Sleepy Time. Very refreshing to be in a small motel with big value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPorterRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great Motel, very clean, quiet, modern, cozy and warm !!! You cant ask for a better place !!!
The outdoor nature trails on a large lot of land has nature at it's best for anytime of the year.
The Host, Lynn and Mark operate this place in full excellence with lots of care.
When we arrived Mark showed us our room, that truly was very nice for a welcome !
Price rates are reasonable .
Sleepy Time Motel is the best place I have ever stayed at, and the service is excellent !!!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Auburn
99 reviews
4.9 mi away
Center Street Value Inn
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lewiston-Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn Riverwatch
4.7 mi away
Ramada Lewiston Hotel & Conference Center
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford
Hampton Inn Oxford
#1 of 1 in Oxford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Time Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Time Motel

Property: Sleepy Time Motel
Address: 46 Danville Corner Rd, Auburn, ME 04210-8604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Auburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleepy Time Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family operated cozy New England motel of six rooms located within minutes of the Maine Turnpike. Sleepy Time offers a neighborhood location on acres of green lawns backed by 100 acres of woods laced with hiking trails. Nearby is golf at Fox Ridge, swimming at Range Pond State Park and cross country skiing at Pineland. Clean,large comfortable rooms,affordable rates and friendly hospitality are what you'll find. Downtown L/A is minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleepy Time Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleepy Time Hotel Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing