We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The halls of legislators and lobbyists”
Review of State House

Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Augusta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The seat of government in Augusta.
L/A, Maine
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The halls of legislators and lobbyists”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

lots of history in the making if you pay close attention and visit while the legislature is in session

Helpful?
Thank crzinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
863 reviews
579 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 843 helpful votes
“Great Guided Tour of Beautiful State House”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome at the Maine State House, and we were assigned to an interesting and informative tour guide who gave an excellent tour and took his time answering our questions. After the tour, we revisited a few areas to take more photos. We did not feel rushed, and we enjoyed the classic beauty of the building and the paintings. After leaving the state house, we walked across the parking lot to visit the state museum. Both the state house and the museum were definitely worth the time to visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
886 reviews
478 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Good statehouse”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Maine statehouse is a classic model. There are some guided tours, but a walk-around will suffice if you have been to a state capitol before. There is not too much artwork, but there are portraits of statesmen and a good display of flags. The view from the balcony is quite dramatic. Do not miss the dioramas in the tunnel connecting the state house with the offfice building across the way.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great State House!”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Called in advance for a guided tour. Parking is abundant.

The Sergeant-at-Arms actually gave us the tour. He was smart, witty and full of information and war-stories. We visited everything, including Senate and House.
We met the Governor and he gave us a signed business card.

The building is beautiful and well maintained. Visit the Maine State Museum across the parking lot...well worth the $2.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
659 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We found the State House to be very interesting. Being from a larger state we were amazed the access you have to the government in Maine and we were able to ask questions and everyone was very friendly. It seemed more like a lcoal government building than a normally stuffy capitol.

Helpful?
4 Thank Stevied888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed State House also viewed

 

Been to State House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing