We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this location a few years ago before the renovation and it was just plain awful...I thought this time it would be much better since I thought it had been a tear down and rebuild...not so. Apparently they kept the shell of the building and renovated from there. The rooms are accessed from outside walk ways, and for a woman traveling alone, that is not terribly comforting. I heard every word of a conversation between three people outside my door. Speaking of hearing everything...I heard all the sounds from the bathroom next door to me, which was just disgusting. At one point in the evening I was standing at the sink (which is outside the bathroom) and heard a huge bang behind me....turned to find the whole cover of the heating/air conditioner had fallen off the unit onto the floor! The only positive thing I can say is the decor in the room wasn't too bad...part of the renovation I'm sure. And the breakfast provided was satisfactory. This will not be a location I consider again, as there are other alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBRECED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Guest Services Coordinator at Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our breakfast but very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay in one of our standard rooms.

Our recent renovations have updated our 1st and 2nd floor standard rooms; however, our most significant upgrade was the addition of our Executive Level third floor in the summer of 2007, which features an interior corridor and large Executive Rooms as well as a variety of very spacious, finely appointed Evergreen Suites. We would love for you to have a "five-circle" experience in one of our newly constructed third floor rooms the next time you are in need of lodging in Augusta.

Please kindly contact me or any member of our management team directly at the hotel so that we may discuss your stay further and address each of your concerns to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place was tucked in a little down behind a Hampton Inn where I have stayed at almost twice the price. The room was a little smaller but had all the amenities with still plenty of room to move around. It was also exceptionally clean, which usually lower priced rooms are not. The beds were comfortable and all the staff we encountered were very pleasant. Breakfast also included, was as good or better than other stays. I'm glad I stumbled on to this hotel. My wife and I think it is great. This will be our stay for future trips to the Augusta area.

Room Tip: Rooms are quietest on main entrance side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Where do I begin? I checked in late so did not much time to explore the hotel. The staff that checked me in was very friendly and helpful. The room was a very nice size for the price I paid. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was nice. I would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank daniel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place is marginal, bordering on terrible. As others had noted, the first 2 floors are an old style motel, with exposed outdoor walkways and all rooms opening on the exterior. I wanted to avoid that, so I paid extra to book a "suite". The "suite" turned out to be a normal size motel room, with its window on that outdoor walkway (creepy), an interior door, and a mini fridge (from the 50's) and whirlpool tub. Dreadful lighting, and not at all what I expected.

The front desk moved me to an "Executive Room" on the third floor for the same price. Other than having inside access, it wasn't much of an improvement. Dirty carpeting, a filthy, wobbly desk chair that looked like it was purchased from a used office furniture store when Bush the Elder was in office, and an easy chair with probably the filthiest upholstery I've ever seen. It looked like a previous guest had done an engine swap in the parking lot, then come inside and wiped his greasy hands on the upholstery. "Yuck" isn't a strong enough word.

There were floodlights from the parking lot shining directly into the room. The heavy drapes blocked these out... until the heat come on. The HVAC unit blew the drapes upward, flooding the room with light over, and over, and over again.

The room did have a flat screen TV, but it was a bottom-of-the-line Philips, with no HD channels, a very dim picture, and one of those dreadful systems that gives you 2 seconds of blank screen every time you try to change the channel. If you are passing through and don't know the Augusta channel line up, channel surfing is an excruciating exercise.

The girl at the front desk was friendly, the bed was okay, and the internet was acceptable, but there have got to be better options in Augusta.

Room Tip: Don't even consider a room on the first or second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quackbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alec R, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

We sincerely thank you for your feedback and regret and apologize for the substandard experience that you had with us. We are happy to hear of your positive guest service experience and your satisfaction with the internet, however the issues you encountered, particularly concerning cleanliness, are absolutely unacceptable as you rightly indicate. In brief, we wish to assure you that the concerns you mentioned are already being addressed, beginning with the deep cleaning of all fabric surfaces which is conducted periodically throughout the year, but especially on the heels of the very busy tourist season. Thank you again for bringing the matters to our attention.

To touch on just one other item, we do offer HD programming via Time Warner Cable to all of our rooms. We will look into the connections in the Executive Room in question to ensure that there is no technical impingement on the HD signal.

If you are open to giving us another try, we would truly appreciate and take great pride in the opportunity to serve you again. Please contact myself or a member of our management team to make appropriate arrangements if you are interested. Again we thank you for your feedback and are sorry your recent stay was below par.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The receptionist was wonderful and made me feel really welcome in the hotel. Recommendations for dinner were provided along with the map, so one didn't need to search for restaurants. The location is quite close to Augusta and near the highway, but it's quiet. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexeyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We we've stayed here a few times and it's always a good stay. Convenient and comfortable although the heating system is noisy .The Chinese take out Canton Express is a great option after a long drive....TJMax is across the street

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

very nice motel. great girl at the reception desk! very nice, clean and comfortable bed. many restaurants close by. I chose this from the reviews of trip advisor and it was the best motel of out 2 week vacation! would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augusta hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
0.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
489 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel

Address: 65 Whitten Rd, Augusta, ME 04330-6018
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#2 Green Hotel in Augusta
#4 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Maine's beautiful Kennebec River Valley, the Platinum Award winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Maine Evergreen Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95, at the gateway to Maine's capital city. This Augusta, ME hotel is close to several points of interest, including the Augusta Civic Center, the Augusta State Airport and the University of Maine at Augusta. Be sure to visit the nearby Maine State Museum, Pine Tree State Arboretum and Old Fort Western, a 1754 National Historic Landmark fort, store and house located on the Kennebec River. The hotel is the perfect home base for touring Freeport, Maine's mid-coast and Bar Harbor. The surrounding area offers all kinds of outdoor recreational opportunities, including biking, boating, fishing, downhill and cross-country skiing, golfing and horseback riding. Those who prefer to stay inside, the nearby bowling alley, ice skating rink, movie theatres and shopping centers are sure to please. Hotel guests can enjoy fantastic food, great drinks and a fun, friendly atmosphere just across the street from one of today's most popular national restaurants, the Texas Roadhouse. At this Augusta, ME hotel, guests will enjoy a wonderful free Full Hot Breakfast. Additional hotel features and amenities include:- Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas- Seasonal outdoor heated pool- 24-hour Evergreen Fitness center- Free 24-hour Douwe Egbert's coffee- Afternoon tea service. Meeting facilities are available to fulfill conference needs. The business traveler will also appreciate having access to copy and fax machines. This eco-friendly hotel features health-conscious evergreen rooms and luxurious whirlpool suites. All elegantly appointed guest rooms are equipped with coffee makers, spacious work areas, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Upgraded amenities like microwaves and refrigerators come in some rooms. This is a smoke-free hotel. Public laundry facilities and a gift shop are located on the property for added convenience. Try the Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel once and we're certain you'll want to stay with us every time you visit. Our professional, courteous staff will do all they can to help make your stay memorable. Come let us be your host on your next trip to the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Choice Hotels, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel
Quality Inn Augusta
Augusta Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing