We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife & I enjoyed our third stay at this hotel in November and have never been disappointed. We typically travel for the shopping and sightseeing through New England and this place has become like a second home for us. The location is excellent for us Canadians as it is just off Hwy 95, nestled in a little grove of trees, has a great pool and very close to shopping and some great restaurants. The courtesy and helpfulness of the staff here is just wonderful starting with the reception desk and ending with the helpers in the breakfast room. The rooms are clean and bright, well appointed with TV, radio, hair dryers, etc. and the beds are very comfortable. This hotel is usually listed in various coupon books and their rates are very competitive. They have one of the best equipped breakfast rooms that we have found with all sorts of hot and cold foods available and it is kept very clean and tidy at all times.

Room Tip: Either of the three floors is good as there is elevator down to the reception lobby. Plan on arrivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    157
    55
    10
    5
See reviews for
201
229
56
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Best mattress we've ever had at a hotel. The room was large, very clean, and modern. The staff were wonderful. We arrived late and they must have had some extra rooms so they offered us a complimentary upgrade, which we really appreciated. The hotel was lovely and the complimentary breakfast was fantastic - made to order waffles! This hotel was half the price of the Marriott Courtyard down the street and I'm sure it was twice as nice!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salandsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when arriving here, as we had an absolute horrible experience the night prior at a Quality in Thornburg, VA. I was greeted by a fantastic member of staff, Patrick who was both very friendly, but also took his time to explain everything about the hotel, and more than once invited to help us with anything we needed. Beautiful room, clean, updated and pride taken in this property. Comfortable, quiet, secure and very private rooms. We were advised that there was a free hot breakfast, which was absolutely delicious! We definitely will be back on our next shopping trip, as even though our time here was just a short stopover, it was very enjoyable!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
228 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at this location a few years ago before the renovation and it was just plain awful...I thought this time it would be much better since I thought it had been a tear down and rebuild...not so. Apparently they kept the shell of the building and renovated from there. The rooms are accessed from outside walk ways, and for a woman traveling alone, that is not terribly comforting. I heard every word of a conversation between three people outside my door. Speaking of hearing everything...I heard all the sounds from the bathroom next door to me, which was just disgusting. At one point in the evening I was standing at the sink (which is outside the bathroom) and heard a huge bang behind me....turned to find the whole cover of the heating/air conditioner had fallen off the unit onto the floor! The only positive thing I can say is the decor in the room wasn't too bad...part of the renovation I'm sure. And the breakfast provided was satisfactory. This will not be a location I consider again, as there are other alternatives in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBRECED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline W, Guest Services Coordinator at Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our breakfast but very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay in one of our standard rooms.

Our recent renovations have updated our 1st and 2nd floor standard rooms; however, our most significant upgrade was the addition of our Executive Level third floor in the summer of 2007, which features an interior corridor and large Executive Rooms as well as a variety of very spacious, finely appointed Evergreen Suites. We would love for you to have a "five-circle" experience in one of our newly constructed third floor rooms the next time you are in need of lodging in Augusta.

Please kindly contact me or any member of our management team directly at the hotel so that we may discuss your stay further and address each of your concerns to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new boston
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place was tucked in a little down behind a Hampton Inn where I have stayed at almost twice the price. The room was a little smaller but had all the amenities with still plenty of room to move around. It was also exceptionally clean, which usually lower priced rooms are not. The beds were comfortable and all the staff we encountered were very pleasant. Breakfast also included, was as good or better than other stays. I'm glad I stumbled on to this hotel. My wife and I think it is great. This will be our stay for future trips to the Augusta area.

Room Tip: Rooms are quietest on main entrance side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? I checked in late so did not much time to explore the hotel. The staff that checked me in was very friendly and helpful. The room was a very nice size for the price I paid. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was nice. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank daniel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This place is marginal, bordering on terrible. As others had noted, the first 2 floors are an old style motel, with exposed outdoor walkways and all rooms opening on the exterior. I wanted to avoid that, so I paid extra to book a "suite". The "suite" turned out to be a normal size motel room, with its window on that outdoor walkway (creepy), an interior door, and a mini fridge (from the 50's) and whirlpool tub. Dreadful lighting, and not at all what I expected.

The front desk moved me to an "Executive Room" on the third floor for the same price. Other than having inside access, it wasn't much of an improvement. Dirty carpeting, a filthy, wobbly desk chair that looked like it was purchased from a used office furniture store when Bush the Elder was in office, and an easy chair with probably the filthiest upholstery I've ever seen. It looked like a previous guest had done an engine swap in the parking lot, then come inside and wiped his greasy hands on the upholstery. "Yuck" isn't a strong enough word.

There were floodlights from the parking lot shining directly into the room. The heavy drapes blocked these out... until the heat come on. The HVAC unit blew the drapes upward, flooding the room with light over, and over, and over again.

The room did have a flat screen TV, but it was a bottom-of-the-line Philips, with no HD channels, a very dim picture, and one of those dreadful systems that gives you 2 seconds of blank screen every time you try to change the channel. If you are passing through and don't know the Augusta channel line up, channel surfing is an excruciating exercise.

The girl at the front desk was friendly, the bed was okay, and the internet was acceptable, but there have got to be better options in Augusta.

Room Tip: Don't even consider a room on the first or second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quackbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alec R, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We sincerely thank you for your feedback and regret and apologize for the substandard experience that you had with us. We are happy to hear of your positive guest service experience and your satisfaction with the internet, however the issues you encountered, particularly concerning cleanliness, are absolutely unacceptable as you rightly indicate. In brief, we wish to assure you that the concerns you mentioned are already being addressed, beginning with the deep cleaning of all fabric surfaces which is conducted periodically throughout the year, but especially on the heels of the very busy tourist season. Thank you again for bringing the matters to our attention.

To touch on just one other item, we do offer HD programming via Time Warner Cable to all of our rooms. We will look into the connections in the Executive Room in question to ensure that there is no technical impingement on the HD signal.

If you are open to giving us another try, we would truly appreciate and take great pride in the opportunity to serve you again. Please contact myself or a member of our management team to make appropriate arrangements if you are interested. Again we thank you for your feedback and are sorry your recent stay was below par.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Augusta hotels
0.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel
Address: 65 Whitten Rd, Augusta, ME 04330-6018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#2 Family Hotel in Augusta
#2 Green Hotel in Augusta
#4 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Maine's beautiful Kennebec River Valley, the Platinum Award winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Maine Evergreen Hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95, at the gateway to Maine's capital city. This Augusta, ME hotel is close to several points of interest, including the Augusta Civic Center, the Augusta State Airport and the University of Maine at Augusta. Be sure to visit the nearby Maine State Museum, Pine Tree State Arboretum and Old Fort Western, a 1754 National Historic Landmark fort, store and house located on the Kennebec River. The hotel is the perfect home base for touring Freeport, Maine's mid-coast and Bar Harbor. The surrounding area offers all kinds of outdoor recreational opportunities, including biking, boating, fishing, downhill and cross-country skiing, golfing and horseback riding. Those who prefer to stay inside, the nearby bowling alley, ice skating rink, movie theatres and shopping centers are sure to please. Hotel guests can enjoy fantastic food, great drinks and a fun, friendly atmosphere just across the street from one of today's most popular national restaurants, the Texas Roadhouse. At this Augusta, ME hotel, guests will enjoy a wonderful free Full Hot Breakfast. Additional hotel features and amenities include:- Free wireless high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas- Seasonal outdoor heated pool- 24-hour Evergreen Fitness center- Free 24-hour Douwe Egbert's coffee- Afternoon tea service. Meeting facilities are available to fulfill conference needs. The business traveler will also appreciate having access to copy and fax machines. This eco-friendly hotel features health-conscious evergreen rooms and luxurious whirlpool suites. All elegantly appointed guest rooms are equipped with coffee makers, spacious work areas, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Upgraded amenities like microwaves and refrigerators come in some rooms. This is a smoke-free hotel. Public laundry facilities and a gift shop are located on the property for added convenience. Try the Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel once and we're certain you'll want to stay with us every time you visit. Our professional, courteous staff will do all they can to help make your stay memorable. Come let us be your host on your next trip to the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel
Quality Inn Augusta
Augusta Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Maine Evergreen Hotel Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing