We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at the Senator” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Senator”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I recently stayed at the Senator on Saturday night with a large group. I can not say enough good about it. First of all, these folks who are giving it bad reviews can't be staying in the spa rooms.There are spa rooms and economy rooms (jokingly referred to as the low rent district.). We stayed in a spa room, and it was very luxurious and spacious. It was actually 2 rooms, a sitting room and a bedroom, with 2 sinks and a jacuzzi tub. The beds were heavenly. So much so, I pulled it apart to see what brand it was. Actually is was a very padded mattress cover. My tub wouldn't turn on and 2 workers came to fix it quickly. There's even a TV in the bathroom. The staff all were very helpful, and willing to do whatever to make our stay pleasant. The Cloud 9 restaurant served a great meal, and an adequate complimentary continental breakfast. I would highly recommend the filet of beef and baked stuffed shrimp combo. I received a heavenly facial in the spa. Our group also used the gym and pool areas in the spa with great satisfaction. The spa rooms are a bit more pricey than your average hotel in central Maine, but well worth the expense. My only complaint would be that room 333 had only 1 chair in the sitting area, where every other room seemed to have 2. Minor, but would have been frustrating if I had had time to utilize that area.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the spa wing, or in that tower. I'm told the other wing's rooms are nearl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efrench2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear efrench2003,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your comments above will be used by our staff and management team to better the overall experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    209
    95
    52
    35
See reviews for
224
206
50
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here overnight during a business trip to Maine. It's a nice hotel, with a lot of amenities that I didn't really get to try out. I hear good things about the spa from people in the area. There was free, pretty stable wifi, and a nice breakfast buffet. The staff were all very nice. The room was slightly shabby/older, but clean and comfortable. And, it's very easy to find from the highway. Convenient for the business traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear MC_Bos

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your comments above will be used by our staff and management team to better the overall experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Spent 4 nights in the Senator Inn. First night woke up to 3 bites on my upper body. Found a live bug on the pillow when I turned on the light. Also found ants on the bathroom floor. Was relocated to another room on the third floor the next morning and woke up on my last morning there with another bite on my foot.
Restaurant was very good though.

Would eat there again, but would spend the night at another hotel.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor. Some rooms were in dire need of updating. Check the room before deciding t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Steve M,

First we’d like to thank you for choosing the Senator Inn & Spa. After hearing of your experience our General Manager requested that an extermination team do a full investigation of the hotel. While they found no evidence of bed bugs, they were able to eliminate the ants that were due to our unusually warm weather. Also, they have utilized several techniques to help prevent further insects from entering the building. We apologize for the situation that occurred and hope to have another chance to earn your business again in the future.


* IT IS IMPORTANT FOR US TO INFORM OUR CURRENT AND FUTURE GUESTS THAT THERE ARE ABSOLUTELY NO BEDBUGS HERE AT THE SENATOR INN & SPA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Do not expect a 5 star hotel room. Par only amenities in the room I stayed in. The breakfast, gym and pool are outstanding and definately tip the value table toward the guest. If you will use these amenities, you win.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the second floor of the spa and you will be out of the traffic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearsinMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear BearsinMass,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your comments above will be used by our staff and management team to better the overall experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I currently serve as a legislator and this will be the second year of my living at the Senator while I am away from home. They have gone out of their way to make us feel at home. The service is outstanding and the amenities can't be beat. I have used all of their services from the dining room to the spa and they are all excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear joyceMaine,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your comments above will be used by our staff and management team to better the overall experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

nice place to stay if you are visiting the greater Augusta area. Easy to get to, friendly service, clean, good deal to get breakfast as well. Didn't have a chance to check out the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Glandman,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your comments above will be used by our staff and management team to better the overall experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in one of the mid-priced rooms with king-sized bed with firm mattress and four pillows and a small pullout couch. The room was older, but freshly painted and very clean. The small bathroom was almost "retro" with yellow tile walls and a tile floor. Our room opened out to the parking lot and also had an interior door, so it actually made it convenient to walk across the parking lot to the spa or use the interior door to go to the lobby, bar and restaurant area. The spa includes a mineral swimming pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna and fitness center. All of these were included in the hotel price, plus in the past I have even joined in on a water aerobics class since there are ongoing classes offered throughout the week. The pool area is beautiful (see photos) with a blue sky ceiling, wonderful natural lighting and very appealing decor. The steam room is co-ed, but the saunas are located in each locker room and shower area. New age music wafts through the changing area and moisturizing lotion and shower gel is provided. The spa is also a health club, so during your stay you will be mingling with people from the area who have memberships. For dinner, we decided to go the pub and bar area where wonderful, gourmet brick oven pizzas are half price during happy hour from 4 to 6 pm. Draft beer was also $1 off during that time. After dinner, we headed back to the pool and enjoyed some more time there.
Breakfast includes a very comprehensive continental breakfast with two eggs made to order and is served from 6:30 to 9:30 am. Sunday Brunch starts at 11 am. Checkout time is 12 pm. We enjoyed another hour or so in the pool after breakfast. There were a number of families and couples in the pool and spa area, but still enough space to do lap swimming.

During our stay we indulged in the pool, steam room and sauna. There were numerous spa services available for an additional charge. The spa ran out of towels for the pool at one point - something you wouldn't expect from a premier spa.
We used our AAA membership card to get a discount on our room. If you plan to stay here, make sure that you request a room that suits your needs and hopefully the room will meet your expectations. Our room was somewhat dark because we kept the curtains mostly drawn since the window faced out to the parking lot. The only other less than perfect aspect was that the bed had a duvet (very nice feature), but the comforter or blanket inside the duvet was very thin, so it didn't have that luxurious feel that one expects from a duvet and it didn't keep me warm the entire night. Our room contained a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator and a wall-mounted flat screen TV. The room smelled fresh and the interior hallway was also very clean and elegant with reproductions of early American paintings and lovely carpeting.

This hotel is conveniently located right off the highway and also offers Cloud 9, a highly rated gourmet restaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure that you don't skimp if you will be disappointed with a small room with a queen bed, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Downfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Downfall,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your comments above will be used by our staff and management team to better the overall experience for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing