We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable!”
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here during a business trip. It is by far the best hotel experience we have had in a long time and we have traveled for business for the past 14 years! It isn't the newest place in town, but the character and charm of this hotel shows through any imperfections. We stayed in a spa suite which has a separate sitting area from the bedroom - gives it a small apt feel. However, the staff was the best part of our stay. Anything we wanted - they did their best to accommodate. If you are planning a trip to Augusta, the Senator Inn is the best place to stay! Also, if you want something different from all the chain restaurants, the Cloud 9 Restaurant (at the Senator Inn) gives you the very best dining experience! This place greatly exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Stay in a spa suite if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justwannasleepwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear justwannasleepwell,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Our staff strive to create a special environment that cannot be found anywhere else in Maine. Customer service is our top priority so it makes us very happy to read your post. We wish you the best of luck in your travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    214
    98
    53
    36
See reviews for
228
208
50
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not worth the money.
Overpriced substandard food. Wine awful including the selection.Rooms are old and shabby.

Room Tip: Go someplace else! (not much around Augusta anywa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisinMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our family thought that the staff was great, friendly and accommodating...I really believe that the staff has an attitude that they will go above and beyond to please the guests when they are able. This is an above average attitude that the best places have. The pool are was beautiful and enjoyable. I really liked our room in the Presidential wing and the bath jacuzzi. Compared to the other hotel options, it was worth it to pay a little more and have the special treatment - and breakfast buffet very good....I love the restaurant decor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegoodwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Thegoodwoman,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your review is encouraging for our staff who strive to provide the best service possible. We are very appreciative of positive comments like your own and wish to thank you. We wish you the best of luck in your travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenburn, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Every time I stay at the Senator Inn, I am treated like a queen. The staff is helpful, efficient and never fails to greet me with a smile. The food in the Cloud 9 Restaurant is excellent and made to order. I stay in Augusta often and always choose the Senator Inn for quality lodging and exceptional food.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessedtravelers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear blessedtravelers7,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We hope to see you in Augusta Maine again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caribou, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Decided to go away for a mini getawat or vacation. We havee both stayed at the hotel before and enjoyed it but this time wasn't as nice. We were in the part call "The Governor Wing" which is not connected to the main hotel. We were told these room were nicer and more enjoyable. They diffently were not as nice. The room was very small and not updated. The bathroom was very small and had no fan. We were very disappointed compared to our other stays. We would stay at this hotel again but not in this wing, we would request "The Presidential Wing" which is were we were last time and alot nicer. We can't complain much becasue we only paid $59.95 for the room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in The Governor Wing, stay in the Presidential Wing that is connected to the hotel. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountyPeople_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The senator Inn is a nice place and I want to come back and take full advantage of the spa menu. The restaraunt is great and the continental breakfast is above average. Clearly the restaraunt knows what they're doing. The beds on the other hand.... I've seen this new system of bed making in other hotels, or maybe it's what the chain now does and I've seen it in ohter Best Westerns. It looks like only flat sheets are used for the whole process. Maybe there's a way to get a flat sheet not to come undone when you lay on top of it but not every chambermaid can do it. then there's a flat sheet on top, some thin comfortor thing (and I mean Thin), then another flat sheet, then the whole business is all folded and pretty for the bed. The four pillows is great but the sheet system is too thin for a chilly night in Maine. It's disappointing and not condusive to a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: just ask for an extra blanket at the start
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear EileenK,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your suggestions pertaining the beds has been forwarded to our head housekeeper for further review. We often use comments like your own to help us make the necessary changes to better our business and the future guest experience. We hope to see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Inn was classic old inn, which was nice and the salt water pool and hot tub are in a beautiful setting. However, rooms appeared dirty and old due to carpets and paint/wallpaper aging.
The food at the Clould 9 Resturant/Pub was not very good. French onion soup was too salty to eat. I ordered my steak medium rare and it was pretty much raw. I also didn't realize that my steak would be drowned in some kind of goat cheese sauce.....my fault, as I didn't have my glasses but wished the bartender had pointed that out. I like my steak plain and medium rare.
The tone at the bar was a little "out there' especially with younger children around; the "F" word was common and loud. Bartender was also pouring "generous" liquor portions to his buddies and joking about using a "measured pour" so I'm sure you're loosing a lot of liquor money.
Would not come back again.

Room Tip: Pick a Marriott, you can never go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kportldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Front Office Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear kportldy,

Thank you for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor.com community. Your post has been forwarded to our management team so they we may use it to better the overall experience for our future guests. We hope to welcome you back to Augusta, Maine soon.

Tip: When booking your next reservation please inform the clerk that you were dissatisfied with the room type you had during your previous stay. We would be happy to upgrade your next reservation to a room that will better suit your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
443 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Inn And Spa
Senator Hotel Augusta
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing