We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Senator Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Senator Inn & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brownfield, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Senator Hotel is beautiful! My room was lovely and clean. The pool is out of this world and the restaurant is outstanding! I stayed here on a business trip but plan on visiting again just for a fun get-away! Doo yourself a favor and try it out!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for recommending us Allison F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    209
    95
    52
    35
See reviews for
224
206
50
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The 2nd Floor King bed Suite is excellent. We celabrated an anniversary here and it was awesome. Loved the fireplace in the room and the cozy robes. The staff was very attentive and extremely friendly. I loved breakfast at Cloud 9. Very fresh and tasty food. Looking forward to returning here for other events. A great value for the price. I wish other hotel suites were that big and the staff were as friendly.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor Suites are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing Kristina D. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel in the SPA suite because we wanted to get the in room massages as a couple. ( you only can request those if you have a suite apparently)
The room was nice, very clean and tastefully decorated although perhaps starting to get a little dated. The fireplace in the room was awesome we really enjoyed it. We overall liked the layout of the room and the amenities. We used the spa and the hot tub which was amazing. The big surprise here is that the pool and the hot tub is saltwater which is much better than the usual stinky pools with bleach. That was a big hit and the pool area is very relaxing and the decor is very nice as well.
We stayed for two days and had both breakfast and dinner at the 'Cloud 9 restaurant'. It was to say the least disappointing. The staff is attentive but the food was bland, uninspiring and we were left with a feeling of 'we could have cooked something much better ourselves at home.'' The claim this being a 'fine dining' is nothing more than that...a claim. We are frequently dining out and we travel a lot both in the U.S. and overseas and believe that nothing in our dishes that we ordered warranted any skills to make. Was the chef sick? Who cooked our meals?....The dishwasher?

We had two appetizers, raw oysters(only two) and the crab dip with their version of the pita bread. The crab dip was very good with large chunks of crab however the pita was so incredibly salty it scratched our throats while swallowing.
I had a fish dish with stuffed sole. It was tasting like it had been previously frozen and then just thrown into a microwave to warm up.The stuffing inside the sole was shrimp and scallop but they were still raw inside and rather cold. On top of the sole was some sort of cream sauce with tiny bits of lobster. The sauce was tasting only of cream. The green beans were only steamed and so was the brown rice that came with the dish. The whole dish was flavorless.

My husband ordered the filet mignon and swordfish dish. Everything on the dish was grilled except for the asparagus that was steamed and the mash potatoes that he said tasted like they came out of a box instead of real mash potatoes. We were very unsatisfied but did not want to aggravate the server that was doing a great job. After all it was not her that had cooked the dishes. We know that this for sure is not fine dining or fine cuisine.

We ordered dessert from their beautiful dessert case. Again the desserts tasted like they were mass produced and not produced with love in house. If they are produced in house we suspect they use industrial cake mix instead of producing them from scratch with real ingredients. Again, what a disappointment especially seeing that our below average dinner costed us 110.00$ excluding tip. We don't mind spending money if the food is great but here it was not.

If they want to claim fine dining status they better step up the game at a serious level here at the restaurant Cloud nine. Thumbs down. :(

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I am so very sorry that you were unhappy with your meal. It is our policy that no guest leaves unhappy and had I known I would have done my very best to make this the dining experience that we are so well known for. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible food quality and guest service. Please allow us another chance to show you the "Senator Experience".

Regards,
Holly Gessner
Cloud 9 Restaurant Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

For the money, this was a nice place. Our room was small, but the nice complimentary breakfast more than made up for it. The room smelled a little funky, but the staff was nice and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing Christina S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently stayed at the Senator Inn and Spa in Augusta, Maine. We were very pleased by the quality and cleanliness of our room and the attentiveness of the staff. We stayed in one of the suites and particularly enjoyed the lovely and romantic fireplace. The biggest surprise was Cloud 9, the hotel restaurant. The food was supurb (I had a fabulous scallop dish and pumpkin cheesecake), and the service was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable about the menu. It was far better than I've had in almost any hotel and would recommend it as a restaurant even to people not staying at the Senator. All in all, it was a wonderful experience. My only regret was not having enough time to take advantage of the spa services.

Room Tip: This hotel has both rooms with interior halls and others with exterior doors, so that's somethin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Our room had a recycling bin and signs asking patrons to consider reusing towels and bedding to save water.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Lisa H,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed everything and hope to accommodate you again in the future. The spa is worth coming back for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I will list my impressions with the economy room we had. The not so good: Smelled of something off, brown colored walls not appealing, no bedspread, carpeting throughout was old, small bathroom, especially the toilet area, signage for parking lots and amenities could be improved, took a while to figure out the inn layout. The good : Convenient location off the turnpike, breakfast was very good (got up too late to get the free one) with both food and service quality, saw George Hamilton at breakfast, nice-sized fridge, coffee machine, ironing board, bathroom was clean, hair dryer.
This was our first layover in Augusta, will try something else next time.

Room Tip: I read a complaint about a first floor room with an outside door to the parking lot not being assign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomVMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDDWentworth, Manager at Senator Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for sharing TomVMaryland,
We have a variety of rooms here at the Senator Inn that range from an economy room with a single queen bed to a luxury suite with a Jacuzzi tub. Our economy rooms give us the ability to offer low rates while still being able to provide the full amenities of the spa and restaurant. We are constantly updating and renovating our property and apologize if the condition of your room was unsatisfactory. Our housekeepers use a technique in which the comforter is tucked between two sheets rather than the traditional bedspread. We always have extra blankets at the front desk that are ready to be delivered upon request. Thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I tagged along to Maine on my husband's work trip. He finished in Bangor early and we decided to head back south to get some miles under our belt. We booked a room last minute at the Senator and were very happy with the hotel. We stayed in a president level room and it was clean and had an updated tv/sheets. I had seen other negative reviews about the rooms so I was very happy with the cleanliness.

We took full advantage of the hotel amenities. We used the gym, pool, steam room and even got a massage ($69 for 45 mins!). Everything exceeded our expectations given we only paid $116 for the night. We also had dinner and breakfast at cloud 9. All of the staff was super friendly. We were big fans of $3 Allagash White drafts and the crab dip appetizer.

I think this will be my husband's go to hotel when he's back in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Deana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senator Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Inn & Spa

Property: Senator Inn & Spa
Address: 284 Western Ave, Route 202, Augusta, ME 04330-4934
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Augusta
#3 Business Hotel in Augusta
#4 Family Hotel in Augusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Senator Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Senator Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senator Hotel Augusta
Senator Inn And Spa
Best Western Senator Hotel
Best Western Augusta
Augusta Best Western
Senator Inn & Spa Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing