We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“American cuisine at its best”
Review of Bagel Mainea

Bagel Mainea
Ranked #7 of 96 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$12
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: We provide a neighborhood feeling, offering a sunroom with a gas stove in the winter, jazz on Sundays, and outdoor deck seating in the summer. We love seeing our returning neighbors and friends, and are delighted to introduce Bagel Mainea to new folks as well. We are known for made-from-scratch soups, made-to-order sandwiches, as well as providing business breakfast and lunch deliveries in the area.
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“American cuisine at its best”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a small place that epitomizes the best qualities of the american delis. I mean, the restaurant itself with its deco is just like you see in the movies, where the passers by stop from home to work or to hunting, fishing, or the moto riders in their way to anywhere, for having a bagel, cafe or a sandwich. They have a lot of kinds of bagels, from the plain or garlic to 8 grains; a lot of charcuterie, hams, bacons, etc. And the clerks are enjoying serving this tasty food, always smiling, saying nice words to the patrons. We tried the very much classic egg-bacon-cheese bagel and cafe. But want to get back to Augusta ASAP to try some of the many other bagels in other preparations, or some of the sandwiches, wraps or so that are on the menu, written with charcoal behind the counter in full color.
Be aware: some GPS (Hertz Always Lost i.e.) have the directions wrong. Best to google it and go where it really is.
Congratulations!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Start with bagels like you'd buy in Brooklyn. Add great staff, good music, and a nice sunroom. The best place for a snack or lunch with friends or just you're tablet...good WiFi too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patten2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
718 reviews
571 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“still the best bagel in maine”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

weekend treat ,wife and I love to go to bagel mainea on weekends . it's hard to find a good boiled bagel in Maine this place does it right . cream cheese flavors are out of this world . service is great even when they are full .stop in you'll love it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thedipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Bagel Run”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I try to time my trip south on Sunday to arrive in Augusta before Bagel Mainea closes. These are the best bagels in Augusta, probably all of Central Maine. I call ahead, have them fill a bag with a baker's dozen of fresh bagels (many varieties). My grandchildren love them.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sinfully Good”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great choice of bagels, fillings, and toppings. Excellent choice of Green Mountain Roast coffee (hazelnut is my favourite) and friendly service. A home run.

Helpful?
Thank qppstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne B, Owner at Bagel Mainea, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi qppstudio!
Thanks for the great review - we'll always try and earn your desire to stop by with the best food we can offer. We appreciate your shout out to the Tripadvisor community!
Best Wishes-
Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bagel Mainea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing