We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the worst Chinese food I've ever had!”
Review of China King

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China King
Ranked #73 of 97 Restaurants in Augusta
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Some of the worst Chinese food I've ever had!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stopped at China King for dinner a couple of nights ago. My family and I had been in Maine for almost two weeks visiting family in the Augusta area and we were craving Chinese. I'm not sure if there just aren't any good Chinese restaurants in Maine or what I was expecting, but this is some of the worst Chinese food that I've ever had. I've lived in Hawaii, California and Texas and there's no comparison. Panda Express was better that this. The buffet looked horrible but my 10 year old decided to eat it anyways. He only ate half a plate. The rest of us ordered off the menu. I ordered the shrimp special and trust me, there was nothing special about it. We took the leftovers home, but ended up tossing it in the trash. On a good note, the service our waitress provided was excellent! Go somewhere else for Chinese in Augusta!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Buffet with fresh food made in small batches-- really trying !”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I enjoyed this restaurant and its small friendly staff. What I enjoyed most was that they cooked the buffet items fresh in small batches rather than leave it in steam tables like other

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so good!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I went for buffet on Saturday night. But there were not too many people. Food was not looking fresh and was not presentable. There were lots of things in buffet but very few of them were tasty. However, service was good. Most likely will not go again for buffet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, ME
Level Contributor
117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We used to love this place. I believe that it changed hands and ever since has gone way down hill. The food just isn't good at all. The taste is off on what we usually get. Bland and tasteless.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tishlangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bought a gift certificate that they wouldn't let me use!”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I bought a gift certificate through Resturants.com for this resturant and went to use it yesterday...only to find out that I couldn't use it for the buffet and I had to present the certificate before ordering (which I did). The waitress was rather rude about it and said that it could only be used for menu items (althought the certificate said nothing about this). Apparently they would have changed my meal size I suppose had I used the certificate. I did order the buffet, which had a good selection of items, but the food was marginal and some was not hot.
As for the certificate...I threw it out. Not worth going back even for a discount.
I'll stick with Lucky Garden in Hallowell, ME from now on...it's always delicious, has a warm atmosphere and the staff are always professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to China King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing