We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened to this restaurant?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of China King

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China King
Ranked #74 of 97 Restaurants in Augusta
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Central Maine
Level Contributor
173 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What has happened to this restaurant?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We used to enjoy this restaurant and would go here often. Last time we went, it was terrible. We figured we would give it a few months (almost 8) and try it again. Tonight's visit was just as disappointing as the last time. As I sit here and write this, my stomach is literally hurting, I am as thirsty as I could possibly be and just feel all around unwell from it. The restaurant was empty around 6:00 - given it is a weeknight - but still. The buffet was barely filled and what was there was only a couple of each thing. Would rather have it overloaded with items sitting in "steam tables" as at least the chance to "dig down" to some moist selections rather than what was presented (or not for that matter). Maybe the hostess informing the kitchen they had customers and to bring out some more items to fill the pans would be have been helpful. The food was either dry, overcooked or just warm. Chicken chop suey was as pale as white paper - green vegetables were white. . Egg rolls were dried inside and what is usually cabbage was a strip of unknown inside. Horrible. While we hate to even think of going to the super Chinese buffets, head to the next exit and go there. Or, head to the airport for Thai or to Hallowell for Thai or Chinese. Do not waste your time, money ($10.50 per person for dinner) or the chance to have an "I just ate a great meal" feeling on this place. Heck, just head up the avenue to KFC for the same feeling in your stomach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momof2inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Some of the worst Chinese food I've ever had!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stopped at China King for dinner a couple of nights ago. My family and I had been in Maine for almost two weeks visiting family in the Augusta area and we were craving Chinese. I'm not sure if there just aren't any good Chinese restaurants in Maine or what I was expecting, but this is some of the worst Chinese food that I've ever had. I've lived in Hawaii, California and Texas and there's no comparison. Panda Express was better that this. The buffet looked horrible but my 10 year old decided to eat it anyways. He only ate half a plate. The rest of us ordered off the menu. I ordered the shrimp special and trust me, there was nothing special about it. We took the leftovers home, but ended up tossing it in the trash. On a good note, the service our waitress provided was excellent! Go somewhere else for Chinese in Augusta!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
114 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Buffet with fresh food made in small batches-- really trying !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I enjoyed this restaurant and its small friendly staff. What I enjoyed most was that they cooked the buffet items fresh in small batches rather than leave it in steam tables like other

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so good!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I went for buffet on Saturday night. But there were not too many people. Food was not looking fresh and was not presentable. There were lots of things in buffet but very few of them were tasty. However, service was good. Most likely will not go again for buffet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, ME
Level Contributor
113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We used to love this place. I believe that it changed hands and ever since has gone way down hill. The food just isn't good at all. The taste is off on what we usually get. Bland and tasteless.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tishlangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China King also viewed

 

Been to China King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing