We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the road” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Civic Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Civic Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family of four stopped here for a night in August as part of a shop-a-palooza tour through Maine and New Hampshire. The hotel was a solid "o.k." for us. Nothing wrong or out of the ordinary, but they could use a little updating. The place had a feeling of being a tired and neglected. Not the usual polished feel that we've come to expect from Comfort/Choice line of hotels. We chose this hotel because we wanted to do some shopping in the area and in Freeport (which is only about half an hour down the interstate.) There is plenty of stores nearby for anyone wanting to shop or eat. A definite plus is the ease of getting to the hotel from the I-95. For the price, I would say we got our moneys worth since it includes a breakfast for four. Would we return? Maybe, but I'd probably look at a few other hotels first.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate any and all feedback, as we strive for complete guest satisfaction. We hope to have you as our guest agin in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    92
    41
    13
    11
See reviews for
110
74
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the comfort inn for two days. The hotel room was very nice the hotel in general was very nice. The pool area was extremely warm and was very strong with a chlorine smell. The gym was accessed through the pool area but inside was quite comfortable with air-conditioning. The machine are old but it does the trick. Freeport is very close if that is why you're heading that way. And there is a very good shopping two minutes away. Lots of great restaurants around and easily navigable. The only thing I did not like was that the person or maid who was cleaned the room put an envelope on the table and it said "please leave a tip". Breakfast was plentiful and enough tables to accommodate the amount of people that would come through Other than that it was great and I definitely would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our property is well located with ample restaurants and shopping close by. Come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Labor Day weekend, when the hotel was completely booked. While there have been some renovations (e.g., the lobby looked refreshed; there was granite in the bathrooms), overall the hotel just seems really old.

There is one elevator, which was completely inadequate for the fully-booked hotel. Wait times were long, especially in the morning. The pool is in the basement, and while clean, there is paint peeling from the bottom and the steps. The towels were tiny and threadbare.

Overall, the whole hotel just seemed dark. Brown carpets and orange walls don't help, and I think that the lighting in general (both in the rooms and in the public areas) really needs to be addressed as it was just depressing.

We stopped into the breakfast room, which is a retro-fitted conference room with no windows. Everything looked clean and acceptable, but there was no seating available (again, full house), so we decided to go out for breakfast.

The staff were all quite pleasant; however, at checkout there was a sign stating that the staff person had stepped away. After waiting more than 5 minutes, I just left my room keys on the desk.

On the plus side, I felt that everything was clean just not on par with other chain hotels in the area. I could see the Fairfield Marriott across the street and I was regretting my choice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank trinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you were pleased with the cleanliness of our hotel. We are planning some exciting updates we think you'll enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed one week nice room and comfy over all. How ever the rude manager darci was rude and short with customers. She actually end rolled her eyes to a old lady on front of me on a simple question. How ever the nice lady named Sara who works nights was very wonderful to talk to. She was pleasant to all and welcomed everyone I see come in contact with her. Sara should be the manager not darci. Darci is bad for business And I dunno how she has that job let alone any job where you deal with people. Thank god they got Sara and nice clean rooms. Overall awesome stay except for darci and I might take business else where across street so I don't have to deal with her again (darci)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny910703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
I would like to apologize for you not feeling service was anything but wonderful. We all work very hard to please each and every guest, everyday. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice during our trip. We found it to be clean and the staff was helpful and courteous. The breakfast was good and the attendants were efficient and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Good location, close to civic center and local eateries if you choose to travel the horrible streets of Augusta (very sorry condition for a state capitol).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Comfort Inn. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

we would like to thank Sara Long for her above and beyond helpfullness. My mother needs insulin every night but forgot her syringes at home. Sara called several pharmacy's and hospitals until she found a rite aid that would sell her a syringe. The pharmacy stayed open until we got there. we cannot express our gratitude enough for all that you have thanks again Sara..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you! Sara is wonderful and enjoys helping our guests as much as possible. All of our staff prides themselves on great customer service. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our room was a decent size with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and table with 2 chairs and an extra chair in the corner for sitting/reading. There was plenty of counter space in bathroom for make up, etc. The beds were very, very comfortable. We stayed 2 nights. In the morning the shower was luke warm. The next day it was fine, but our room was not made up or cleaned. The breakfast was not bad - waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, and the usual carbs. The hotel itself was basic but clean and in a good location for our purpose.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot, not a lot of choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erica H, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Civic Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am pleased to here you enjoyed our very comfy beds! Our location is great, with close by shopping and restauraunts and easy access to I-95. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
2.4 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#1 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
17.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Civic Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Civic Center

Property: Comfort Inn Civic Center
Address: 281 Civic Center Dr., Augusta, ME 04330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Augusta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#5 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Civic Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn(R) Civic Center is conveniently located adjacent to Interstate 95, less than a mile from the Augusta Civic Center & the Marketplace in Augusta. Summertime in Maine is the perfect time to enjoy the outdoors! Whether it's hiking, biking, rafting or just enjoying the outdoors you are sure to find it all in our area! Want to check out some Maine lakes? There are plenty of lakes and ponds nearby with opportunities for boating, fishing, swimming, or even charter fishing! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and it is alive with fun activities for all during the summer months. In the mood for some golf? Premier golf courses are just a short drive away including Belgrade Lakes Golf Club and the Augusta Country Club. In town to visit one of the local summer camps? Camp Laurel, Camp Androscoggin, Camp Cobbossee and more are all located closeby!Located just minutes from the University of Maine Augusta, Maine State Museum, the Children's Discovery Museum, the State Capitol and the Maine State House; this hotel is a convenient choice for all travelers. The University of Maine at Augusta has beautiful walking trails that make being active easy! Capitol Park is also located a few miles down the road as well as the Viles Arboretum which boasts nature trails and educational programs for children! Enjoy our FREE Hot Breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and a choice of hot waffle flavors! Visit our ONSITE restaurant, The Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub offering a wide variety of menu items for lunch and dinner!Our spacious guest rooms feature microwaves & fridges, LCD Flat Screen TV's, free local calls, free USA Today newspaper & free parking. Our indoor pool, hot tub & exercise room are the perfect way to start or end your day.Come visit our pet-friendly hotel today, enjoy our cozy rooms and let our friendly staff treat you in top-notch style when visiting the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Civic Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Civic Hotel Augusta
Comfort Inn Augusta
Augusta Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Civic Center Augusta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing