We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal spot next to the Civic Center & Malls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Easy off-on access from I-95. Staff here is welcoming and friendly. We had a free night at a Best Western of our choice after staying at five other BW while driving cross country. (Great promotion.) The room was fresh and well appointed with plenty of room to move around: flat screen television and free wi-fi, plus a free newspaper as an extra. The bathroom was clean and looked freshly redone. Decor was clean without a lot of frou-frou flowers everywhere. We had a quiet room facing the pool and garden area. Indoor hall access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

only stay at best western chain. haven't stayed here before so thought we'd try it. nice and clean hotel. staff is excellent. restaurant on site. really good food.. got a welcome bag at check in. contained water crackers candy and chocolate. for breakfast a take out bag with water muffin kashi bar and an apple. right off the highway and across the street from a mall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Marcia: Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor about the Best Western Plus Civic Center Inn. We hope you had a great stay and I hope the front desk staff answered alll your questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed here when I attended a convention at the Augusta Civic Center. Rooms are spacious, very nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. During my stay, a fire alarm sounded and they made sure everyone moved safely outside. It turned out a fire in a trash can outside set off the smoke alarm inside the hotel.

There is a nice restaurant attached to the hotel as well, and there are several other restaurants very close by. This hotel has the best location, because it is right next to the Civic Center, with restaurants and shopping very close by.

The only issue I had was internet access. I couldn't access the hotel Wifi, however, I was able to access the Civic Center Wifi from the room, so it wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: Rustlers restaurant is attached to the hotel, and it is nice, but Olive Garden, Longhorn, and Denny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Thank you for your respnse on Tripadvisor. I appologize for any internet issues you had I know there are a couple of choices to choose from once you log on to the internet and the one that we use is the BW Civic Center. The next time you stay if you have the same problem please call the front desk so that we can help to resolve it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

After comparing rates at similar properties in the area, I chose this place. When you book, be sure to ask if there are any promotional deals going on at the time. I wasn't told about a "3-night minimum" promotional rate until I asked if I was getting the best rate. This hotel is clean, has easy on-off highway access and is located right across the street from a very large shopping area that has many stores and restaurants. The front desk, manager, Marc, was helpful and friendly.
My only word of caution is, if possible, you may want to try to avoid a room facing the rear parking lot. During a couple of nights of my stay, there were tractor trailers that parked there overnight and they were loud when pulling in and out. Otherwise, the place is quiet enough. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My only word of caution is, if possible, you may want to try to avoid a room facing the rear parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meebo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I appologize for the truck parking and I have fixed that issue. Now every trucker rec. a letter stating that they can park accross the street in the lower parking lot. Thank you for reconizing me in your comment, I have learned a long time ago that if you treat others the way you want to be treated good things will come of it. My staff and myself treat all guests as if this was there home and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you,
Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This used to be a Holiday Inn.
We had to travel to Augusta for a banking compliance class for my wife's position with the local credit union.
The hotel was within walking distance from the Augusta Civic Center where the class was held. Also in close proximity to banking and restaurants.
The check in process was quick and efficient and the staff friendly and knowledgable. We requested and were granted first floor adjacent rooms which were clean and tidy.
The only down side was the outdoor pool was closed, but understandable given the season, and a tractor trailer (reefer) was in the parking lot with the refridge unit running all night.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the rear parking lot in case of overnight tractor trailer parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Fred: Thank you for your response. I am sorry that our pool is outdoors and closed when you were here, If you have the chance in the summer to come again and enjoy the pool it is lovely. We here at the Best Western Plus Civic Center Inn do our best to make all guests feel comfortable and at home. Again I thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stay in Augusta once a week, on average, and recently "found" the Civic Center Inn. I am so pleased. The front desk staff (particularly "Mark") are friendly, courteous and helpful. I always get the room I want; check-in is quick and efficient. The hotel is clean and well cared for; it always smells clean, it is quiet, the beds are comfortable, the TVs are updated. The restaurant is decent. The work out room is small but in good shape, with water, towels and TV. The hotel is a quick easy on/easy off the highway. I recommend this hotel, especially for the price! Now I'm looking forward to the opening of the outdoor pool! Please hurry!

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor, nearer the back entrance. It is always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Kim:

Thank you for your Review here. We do our best to meet all requests from our guests and I am glad that you like the fitness room for it was remolded a year ago. I look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I've stayed here many times in the last 11 years. In 2001 this was a Holiday Inn in relatively good shape, but over the 8 or 9 years subsequent to that nothing was ever done and it deteriorated to the point that Holiday Inn came in and pulled the franchise. From what I understand an investment company came along and bought the property (along with their sister property, the Best Western in Waterville that used to be a Holiday Inn as well). They have done a pretty decent job renovating this place in the last year or so, changing out carpets, wallcoverings, light fixtures, mattresses, replacing the old tube TV's with 32" LCD's, and so forth. The staff is pleasant at the rooms are clean. Aside from the ridiculously overpriced Fairfield Inn down the road, this is probably the best option in Augusta.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor away from the stairs and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattBart3975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc M, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for your review. The owners did do a major renovation a year ago to become a Best Western Plus. all the rooms now have microwaves/refridge, our internet speed is much faster, we built a business center that is not in the lobby over all it is a better hotel and our staff is great. We look forward to you staying again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
2 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
819 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
17.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn

Address: 110 Community Dr, Augusta, ME 04330-8009 (Formerly Augusta Civic Center Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Augusta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#3 Green Hotel in Augusta
Price Range: £65 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located adjacent to the Augusta Civic Center, 1/2 mile from I-95 and within three miles of the Augusta State Airport and the State of Maine Capital. If you're looking to get away from it all, this pet friendly hotel's location in the heart of Central Maine makes us an affordable and convenient starting point for hiking, biking, or ATVing adventures. In addition, our location offers ample camping or fishing outings and a myriad of other spring and summertime activities! Want to check out some Maine lakes? There are plenty of lakes and ponds nearby ripe with opportunities for boating, fishing, swimming, or even charter fishing! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and it is alive with fun activities for all during the spring and summer months. For a top of the line golfing experience check out the Belgrade Lakes Country Club or the Augusta Country Club! Maine's largest open-air shopping center, The Marketplace at Augusta, is located just across the street! There are antiquing opportunities in nearby Hallowell, and the Freeport outlets are just 40 minutes away. Old Fort Western and the Maine State Museum are sure to provide hours of enjoyment. Leading health care providers such as the new Maine General Alfond Center for Health, the Togus VA, and the Harold Alfond Center for Cancer Care are just a short drive from the hotel. Enjoy our free hot continental breakfast as well as in room refrigerators and microwaves! Need to distress after a long day? Burn up some calories in our onsite fitness center or take a swim in our outdoor pool! We are located in close proximity with many major summer camps including Camp Laurel, Camp Androscoggin, Camp Cobbossee and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Civic Hotel Augusta
Holiday Inn Augusta
Augusta Holiday Inn
Best Western Plus Augusta Civic Center Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing