We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Plus, Augusta, Maine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Western Plus, Augusta, Maine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is an average hotel for anyone on a tight budget. Rooms are generally clean however we found one room with very dirty carpets and had to move to another room. Bathrooms are very clean and bed is quite comfortable. Room size is average but great for a one-night stopover. Location is fantastic for shopping and dining with many stores and restaurants just across the street. Friendly, helpful staff is one of the main reasons for staying here. Staying at any Best Western hotel is always a bit of a gamble as some are very nice while others need updating, cleaning ne w carpets etc

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KeithM1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
We appreciate your recent review of our property. We are always looking at ways to improve our service, so thank you for your feedback. We hope you will choose us again when you are next in the Augusta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    192
    65
    21
    17
See reviews for
164
164
30
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

One of the better places to stay in Augusta. The staff were very friendly. Love that there was an inside restuarant. Breakfast in the morning was great and the staff there kept the breakfast fill up with the items. I liked that they were very helpful to the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks so much for your recent review of our property. We are so happy that you found it to your liking. I will pass on your compliments to the staff. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife and I went to Maine for the first time. We were here to attend the Lobster festival in Rockport. I found this hotel online and it being only a 45 minute ride we figured lets stay here. We are very glad we did. We met 3 wonderful employees Shelby(Front Desk),Kathy (Housekeeping),and Brenda(Breakfast Hostess). They were very informative, kind, sweet,
professional, and went out of their way for us. They made you feel at home and want to return here again. The rooms were very clean, a bit small but ok. The breakfast buffet was outstanding many choices and sufficient. The Rooster Restaurant is a nice place to have a drink and a late night snack.We only wish there was an indoor pool since the weather was overcast and raining.We were not able to use the outdoor pool. Good location close to a nice large mall for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your compliments to Kathy, Brenda, and Shelby. The Lobster Festival is a fun time for everyone who attends. We strive each day to make every guest feel welcome. Please join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I were on our road vacation trip going further north, and spent a night at Best Western Plus in Augusta. Because it was simply a stop to restore energy, we didn't expect much from the hotel at first. And we passed the night peacefully as the hotel was clean and quiet, which suited our need for a good night sleep before hitting the road again. It wasn't until the evening of the following day when we checked in at a hotel of our next destination did we find that we had left our iPad charger at the Best Western Plus in Augusta. At the time, my husband and I concluded it wouldn't be possible to get it back, and I started looking into the cost of buying a new one. It certainly is not cheap for simply a charger. On our way back from our vacation, we thought to stop by Best Western and see if they, by any chance, would have a lost and found. Kathy, a nice hotel front desk lady, greeted us. After hearing our request, she jumped to action: first looked through the lost and found register, and said nothing about an iPad charger was recorded recently. My husband and I were about to give up, after all, we weren't having high hopes for recovering it. Then Kathy said, "But wait, there's something more I can try." She then showed us the room where there's a drawer of chargers hotel guests left behind, which hotel staff over time just didn't bother to regiester anymore. In the drawer was all types of chargers, and my husband and I suddenly felt less guilty of losing ours since we were certainly not alone. Kathy let us dig in and find any one charger that work for us. To our surprise and delight, we found an iPad charger that looked exactly like ours, it might just have been ours. Kathy saved us the trouble and money to buy another one. We were so happy. Thank you, Kathy. Thank you, Best Western Plus in Augusta. I didn't give it a 5 star because there was a little mix-up with the room assignment at the beginning. When we checked in the evening, the room we were given had clothes in it and looks like someone's still not checked out. But the hotel staff switched us to a new room immediately. Maybe Best Western could keep closer track on the check-in/check-out status. Breakfast could also have better variety. But for the price, I guess it's acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellernj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are so pleased that Kathy was able to help you out with your lost charger. We strive every day to ensure that we meet our guests expectations. We welcome you back for another great night's rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is located in ideal location off I95 and surrounded by outstanding eateries and shopping. The service was extremely professional and the room condition was excellent except for the lack of information about operating the TV remote. The internet service was outstanding and parking was more than adequate. My wife and I would certainly return and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your review of our Augusta ME hotel. We are happy that we met your expectations for service. I will pass on your comments to our staff. You are welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. It began from the moment we walked in and were greeted by Wendy and Sondra and continued when we reached our clean and comfortable room. The only reason we didn't give an overall of 5 was the lack of an indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldwingedbandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are pleased that we met your expectations. I will ensure that Wendy and Sondra receive your compliments. Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Small dirty room that smelled like smoke and the toilet lid was broke,will not stay there again.Will try Fairfield Inn next time. They need a Hampton or Holiday Inn here like the old saying goes you get what you pay for. The people were nice, but the carpet was dirty.

Room Tip: Check your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizz2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are sorry that you did not find the accommodations to your standard. We aim each day to ensure our guests satisfaction. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the housekeeping and manager. We hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
2.1 mi away
Senator Inn & Spa
Senator Inn & Spa
#5 of 9 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Civic Center
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Augusta
Hampton Inn Augusta
#2 of 9 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Augusta
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Augusta
4.4 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn
Maple Hill Farm Inn
#1 of 1 in Hallowell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn
Address: 110 Community Dr, Augusta, ME 04330 (Formerly Augusta Civic Center Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Augusta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#3 Family Hotel in Augusta
#3 Green Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located adjacent to the Augusta Civic Center, 1/2 mile from I-95 and within three miles of the Augusta State Airport and the State of Maine Capital. If you're looking to get away from it all, this pet friendly hotel's location in the heart of Central Maine makes us an affordable and convenient starting point for hiking, biking, or ATVing adventures. In addition, our location offers ample camping or fishing outings and a myriad of other spring and summertime activities! Want to check out some Maine lakes? There are plenty of lakes and ponds nearby ripe with opportunities for boating, fishing, swimming, or even charter fishing! The Belgrade Lakes region is just a short drive away and it is alive with fun activities for all during the spring and summer months. For a top of the line golfing experience check out the Belgrade Lakes Country Club or the Augusta Country Club! Maine's largest open-air shopping center, The Marketplace at Augusta, is located just across the street! There are antiquing opportunities in nearby Hallowell, and the Freeport outlets are just 40 minutes away. Old Fort Western and the Maine State Museum are sure to provide hours of enjoyment. Leading health care providers such as the new Maine General Alfond Center for Health, the Togus VA, and the Harold Alfond Center for Cancer Care are just a short drive from the hotel. Enjoy our free hot continental breakfast as well as in room refrigerators and microwaves! Need to distress after a long day? Burn up some calories in our onsite fitness center or take a swim in our outdoor pool! We are located in close proximity with many major summer camps including Camp Laurel, Camp Androscoggin, Camp Cobbossee and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Civic Hotel Augusta
Holiday Inn Augusta
Augusta Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Augusta Civic Center Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing