We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Aberdeen - non-functional wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Courtyard Marriott and Residence Inn Marriott are in the same building, just opposite ends of the building. This is probably one of the best places to stay in town. Aberdeen is a small town, so you can get around to anything easily. It goes without saying, but you must have a car, no public transportation.
The hotel itself was pretty good. The beds are comfortable, hvac works fine, and the bathrooms are clean and spacious. My biggest complaint is the wifi DOES NOT work. We have a wireless internet device from Verizon, and had to use it constantly, because the hotel system was just not working. This is a major problem unless you rely on your cellular data plan.
There's no free breakfast, it's about $15 for breakfast, but good. Fresh fruit, cereal and milk, omlette bar, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BParkerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I spend around 75 nights a year in hotels and as a rule loath staying at Marriott properties because they are rarely well maintained and the staff is usually poorly trained. This property is an exception. It is clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

Watch outs:
The beds are less than comfortable (like most Courtyards)
The WiFi connection is awful.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTravelTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went to play in the Cal Ripken World Series in August and we stayed for the first 6 days and we stayed here. The rooms were large and suited our needs 2 adults to a room. There was plenty of space and the beds were good and comfy. The breakfast was the usual thing, eggs, fruit cereal etc., just what you would expect. Even being close to Ripken Stadium is a good thing because you can check out the Ironbirds games by just walking across the street. It doesn't matter which side of the hotel you stay on, one side has great views of Ripken Stadium the other views of the Ripken complex and Cal Snr's yard.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I can summerize my experience with "ehhh".I had to check-in on a Friday evening for about a week. I knew I was probably not going to be happy when they didn't offer the government per diem rate for the week-end, even though they are located right outside a military base. The building is huge and sits right next to the Ripken Stadium - it is divided with one half a Residence Inn and the other the Courtyard Marriott. Right away I knew this wasn't your typical Courtyard when the elevator buttons were a mess - they looked like something from inside a heavily used subway station. The door that faces the parking lot was often broken and unable to be opened from outside. I found out why in the morning, there are little league tournaments going on all summer long. The place was just overwhelmed with kids and parents from these tournaments. So if you’re participating in these, you can’t beat the location, but if you’re in the Aberdeen area for business, forgetaboutit. The staff is just overwhelmed; these kids are running around essentially in a carnival type atmosphere. There just isn’t enough staff to keep up with the work load created by the tournament guests. The pool is in continuous use - with no life guard. Then they let people who are not a guest use the one business computer connected to a printer – one woman comes every day to work on a book she is writing – and when she isn’t on there the kids are on surfing the web. The poor bar tender essentially works alone as a waitress and a bar tender – sometimes leaving the bar unattended for up to 20 minutes. Then there was the furniture in the rooms – the desk chair was so dilapidated and uncomfortable I was shocked this place calls itself a Marriott. If you’re not associated with a youth baseball team stay away.

Room Tip: go one exit in either direction and pike another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for a week long tournament at Cal Ripken and while the hotel is very clean I found the staff very rude and non accommodating. Not only did we pre pay for our room and stayed for 5 nights, they would not allow me an extra hour to check out. The weather was terrible outside and the woman at the front desk said that they were expecting more teams to check in that night for another tournament. My son also lost his iPod and we checked several times at the front desk to see if anyone had turned it in. I also found that they were not very helpful when it came to providing assistance as we asked almost every day. Later it was returned to us by the cook over at the adjoining hotel who had notified the staff that he had found it. If we ever return to Aberdeen we will not stay at this hotel again. I recommend they hire some new staff who have more experience in providing paying customers with service that matches the quality of this facility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here for one night when my son played in a Ripken tournmanet. Paid a little extra for the field view and it was worth it. Hotel is what I expected being a Marriott. The staff was professional and accommodating, rooms were spacious and clean. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom2cam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Courtyard has its advantages over the Residence in some ways. You can pay for field view, rather than waiting a ridiculous amount of time for it, the staircase is much nicer, and parking is more accessible. However, for the price you are paying/points you are losing, the Residence is much more worth it. Residence has free breakfast, while Courtyard does not. Rooms are very small. 5,000 more points per night (if staying 2 nights).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbg996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0 mi away
Residence Inn Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen - Chesapeake House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Aberdeen
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Aberdeen
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
Red Roof Inn - Aberdeen
#5 of 16 in Aberdeen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium

Address: 830 Long Dr, Aberdeen, MD 21001-1132
Region: United States > Maryland > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £91 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard Aberdeen at Ripken Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Aberdeen At Ripken Stadium Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Marriott
Aberdeen Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing